Travel log: Trip to Bohol

12 28
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

I have read a lot of travel articles lately. Some give me the hint as to which places are best to visit, others bring me back to the travel memories that I had in the past. Since I can't travel yet, I want to reminisce and bring you with me to one of my previous travels.

I became part of a missionary leader in one of the religious communities in the church. I had my very first travel far from home for mission as a leader. I was very excited to meet different people and befriend them.

Bohol is one of the famous place to visit in the Philippines. It is an island located in Visayas, in the middle of the wide ocean. It is famous for its wonderful view of chocolate hills. Every year the YFC-ICon (Youth for Christ -International Conference) take different places in the country. For the reason that Visayas was the host of the International Conference that year, they decided it to be held in the beautiful place of Bohol.

We are enjoying the view as the bus passed so many places we never been to but we never forget to capture the moment

We rode a bus for the trip and it took as almost 3 hours land travel before reaching the ocean to crossed. We travel from our origin to Ormoc City to ride the ferry to Cebu going to Tubigon. Before reaching the vast ocean we are enjoying the view of the land as it unfolds us with different places we have never been to. Yes, I travel to Cebu long years via Hilongos. I wasn't enjoying the view that time because I am sad and anxious that moment. But this time I enjoyed it so much. The butterflies in my stomach were flying around as I bare the excitement to the place of our destination.

Ate Nisa and Me, with a wide smile because of so much anticipation

When we finally reach the ocean we rode a boat to Tubigon Bohol. Bohol is an island that is located in the middle of the sea. So, we need to ride the ferry. But our destination in Bohol is not in Tubigon but in Tagbilaran. We need to ride the bus again from Tubigon to Tagbilaran. Before reaching our final destination, we stop different tourist spot in Bohol.

At my back is the beautiful view of chocolate hills

Day 1

It was year 2015, when I touch down the place. It was so fun that I can't contained my happiness that time. At my back is the beautiful view of chocolate hills. The small mountains that color brown makes the view breath taking. It is our first stop to visit in our first day, that made our long tiresome ride vanish. I can't take off my smile in my face as I was roaming around. The beautiful scenery take my breath away.

Visiting the huge statue of different movie characters

I can't remember what was the name of the place because that's not what matters for me that time, memories do. Amazed with the hugeness of the different statue, I really enjoyed it and brings out the child in me. Everyone of us has the child in us, and it brought me with so much joy.

Ignoring the heat of the sun
My first day got me toasted lol

The heat was totally ignored, I don't care if it got me toasted. I loved how it made me for it reminds of the happiness and joy that it gave me even when I came back home after the conference.

Continuing the trip to our final destination, Tagbilaran. We made it there on time. The activity on the first day started on the evening, so, we have time to unpack things and learned our accommodation area. The first night was incredible, the mass was held and so as the first session. I met new friends on my first night together with my co-leaders. The night ended with a smile on my face. I still couldn't believe that I was there and I had the most amazing sleep ever.

Day 2

We started the day early because there are I guess thousands of participants to take a bath. At 5:00 am we took bath outside our accommodation area. It was so cold and freezing but because we took a bath together, we just ignored it. After we had ourselves ready, we went to the venue and sipped coffee at the same time had our breakfast which Chowking sponsored us. The day was well spent, the contest was held on different areas. Since I was not a sporty, singerist and dancerist type of person lol 🤣🤣, I just roamed around and watch the different contest. Me, and my friends loved to watch the dance contest so, we decided to go to the mall where the contest was held. Aside from the contest, we also enjoy the different view we could see in the mall. We took our time and enjoyed it.

Weird it may seem whenever I look back to this photo, I smiled. I don't know what's with me this time 🤣🤣

We just had a great time. The mall was so big that we found ourselves lost. Whenever we realize it wasn't the way, we laugh our heart out and find our way back. We are really lost that time, lost with so much happiness and joy. The night came and we heard few sessions, inspiring stories and sharings of how they met Jesus in their lives. I know I already did met him in my life too. Someday I can also share my journey with Jesus to others and inspired them too. I realized so many things that night, especially my fate and my relationship with God. I wasn't able to sleep tight that night. Thinking and reflecting, plus the next day will be our last day.

Day 3

Our last day was a blast, kinda sad that we will be leaving the place, at the same time excited to tell others how the trip a life changing one, and inspired them. That day was a never ending worship 'til noon. We shout, dance and cried our heart out. I fell in love with the worship songs, that the band played. It warmed me as my heart dance with me with so much joy and peace.

We met this wonderful baby in the middle of worhip as she raise her hands and dance to worship too

I was moved and amazed about this little girl as she dance and raise her hands while closing her eyes. At her young age she has a huge and inspiring fate that can move any person could seen her. I was a bit shy to the Lord how much of a fate I had that time. Still, I was motivated and promised myself to be just like this wonderful girl. An inspiration and an instrument that could move others to journey with the Lord.

We took photos before we go home.

Photos are reminders of our journey, it served as a remembrance of the things that we experience. We took a lot photos together with our new and old friends that time. I only had only few of them in my phone but I had it deep inside my heart, I had compilation of it here 😊. It is safe here, no worries of memory full or memory format. It will not be lost unless otherwise I will decide to forget them.

We are waiting our bus to pick us in the venue to travel back home

It was so an amazing journey. I had so much fun and I learned a lot of things, that I will be carrying for the rest of my life. Memories that I will never forget. I don't know when I could come back but I know for sure that I will someday, because the place had a special place in my heart. I will forever treasure the memories that I had in the beautiful place of Bohol.


Thank you so much for reading. I really appreciate it.

Special mention to @gertu13 @Musso @SenyoritaWriter @JonicaBradley @MesesMylen @Eunoia @Zhyne06 @zolabundance2 for the upvotes and visit, even dropping to say kinds and heart warming messages on my previous articles. Thank you so much. You are inspiring me to continue writing.

And also to @Jane for her inspiring travel articles

I love you all 😘

7
$ 0.36
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Musso
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
+ 1
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

I loved your walk and the pictures you took. I love the bengal tiger and you were very happy with that big bite. You are a very beautiful girl. May god continue to fill you with blessings. By the way thanks for the mention. I will stop by later because I ran out of tips to give you. I promise that next post I will give you double.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am more than happy to know that you love it. Thank you so much. You have no idea how much this means to me. God bless you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seeing your smile, beside that gigantic dinosaur and the Bengal tiger that's sum up the journey. Ha ha I loved that. Journey is all about enjoying every moments despite the heat or something like that and you've enjoyed your Bohol journey every little bit of it.

I'd love to see the photos of Bohol Island as you have said this is isolated from the main land. And one thing I must say, you've a very bright smile that tells us how much interesting the journey was.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As much as I love to capture every moment of my journey sometimes though we tend to forget when we are amazed and stunned to it's beauty. There are also moments that didn't captured by devices but captured by my heart. I forget to include picture of the entire island, my apology. Well I guess you have to visit it yourself and i'm sure you will love the place. Thank you so much for the upvote and the time for reading my travel log. God bless

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well it's also true sometimes you got to enjoy the magnificent beauty instead of taking pictures. On the other side, photographs sometimes got deleted but the memories inside our heart last longer.

We don't have to go to our phones gallery than. We just need to close our eyes and look for the photos we've captured by our eyes. One day for sure, I'll be visiting yours. At least if I can accumulate my travel cost.😐

Till then let me enjoy the beauties from the photographs you've shared. Good vibes❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed it is and I would agree more. I guess for now you can't but I know someday you will if you want 😊. By the way may I know what country you're from? You don't have no idea how happy I am to know that you have enjoyed it and it bring good vibes to you. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a great pleasure that you are very much interested to know about my country. I'm from Bangladesh, a south asian country. You may have heard my country name before as we belong in the same continent.

If I'm not wrong Philippines is a south east asian country. Different by country but united by same continent ha ha.❤️😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I have heard your country many times and yes we have the same continent.. I am interested to know maybe by chance we have the same country. But then we aren't that's fine we still have same continent and same sun 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though we've different country but we've a lot of things in common. I've seen some pinoy dishes especially rice cooking which is almost same as us. Bangladesh and Philippines both are the major rice producing country in the world.

Filipino culture, geography and sometimes wether conditions are almost same as Bangladesh. You may glad to know that once I've tried to learn some Tagalog languages.

I know some pinoy greetings phrases like kumusta ka? Magandang Gabi, Salamat! Pardon my spelling mistakes ha ha.😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, good to know. You have learned my language. I am empress, 👏 . It's fine I don't care about spellings the thought of you learning it matters because it's not your language but you know it's basic. I am open to teach you more if you like 😁😁 anyways what language do you speak in your country?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the last couple of months I've made some really good Filipino friends in this platform. I've learned some basics from those friends ha ha. Really? It'll be great to learn a new language directly from a native speaker! I'm looking forward to learn more.

We speak in Bengali in my country. In Bengali you'll be my " Grace Apu". "Apu" means sister!😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? Good for you. I envy you for learning other language aside from English , it a good thing. "Apu" here in Philippines is grandchild or grandchildren 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago