Remembering the long lost

10 22
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Today I went to the cemetery to visit my long lost family member. Since I wasn't able to come yesterday which is supposedly the day of the dead but then the police won't allow us to enter so I decided to came back today. The weather isn't that good. It rain and stop raining, giving a little sun and few moments later it would rain again. Still, we push through our visit. We decided to go there in the afternoon just to not have a lot of people coming to visit as well. Which I am afraid that the lock down that they implemented had no use anymore since they don't allow people to come that exact day of the dead, all people will be waiting the day to pass and then visit their beloved ones. Still, the cemetery is overcrowded. What a smart policy eh? Tsk tsk.

Anyways, so much about it, me and my friend ate Renalyn went together to visit our loveones. We buy candles and flowers for them. The flower is quite expensive but it's okay for us because it's just ones a year. We go to their tomb and say my regards to them all. Since my grandfather died when I was still young his tomb which is the only tomb I could remember visiting every year the day of the dead. I could never forget where it is located and how it looks like even though it will be covered with grass or many other tomb is place near it. How could I forget, he is my favorite grandparent. He has a special place in my heart.

I remember him when I was a kid. Whenever he is selling his copra from the mountain he would call all his grandchildren and cook a lot of delicious food. When we are done eating, he would let us dance in a disco and rewarded us with candies and coins. He is such a loving and very generous man. Even though he had been in his vices, which is drinking, since time I knew him, he never ever forget to care about us. He is the only grandparent that is close to me and had a special place in my heart because of how he give his love towards us. I couldn't remember anything bad he done towards us. He is always this funny guy and love to make jokes just to make us smile. But his vices took him away from us earlier than he could be. I know it's his fault as well because he did not take care of himself but at some point I knew we did not respond to his illness early as well. If I could have had the chance, maybe just maybe I could still see him up until now. But, I know I couldn't turn back time. That is why I do what I can do and that is to remember him every day of the dead.

I offer a prayer for him and asked that he would watch us wherever he is right now. I prayed for his rest in peace and he will be in God's loving arms. I asked him to be with us and remind us of things. I asked for forgiveness for visiting only during the day of dead. Saying I might not visit him there but he is always in my heart. That I never forget him. His love and memories will be forever kept.

On the other side I remember my grandmother on my mother side who is not layed in that same cemetery, I offer a candle and prayer for her in the big cross in the center of the cemetery. I also pray for her rest in peace and eternal peace in God's loving arms. I remember her of being a strick grandmother but a rewarding one if you do what is asked of you. She is kind at different ways. Though I remember her who don't like my Papa and that fact alone hurt me. But, life is short to spend with hatred and grudges. I forgive her and always remember her and thank her of her love and fondness towards me. She will never be forgotten as well. She will forever remains in my heart.

They might be dead and long gone but we must not forget them. They are a family members and a love ones. They are part of us and without them there will be no us. We must also look back and remember them, who are once become part of us, one who loved, and cared for us. We maybe can't remember any good memories from them but we must remember them because they are our roots and without the roots there will be no plants that grows. They are our ancestors who teach us, give us future and hone us. Being remembered during the day of the dead offer flowers, candles and especially prayers is the only thing we can do for them. Therefore, let's give them those simple things they needed.

As we could ponder from this, we remember a soul from our heart it must be that a person had done something good towards us therefore let us do good towards other people, towards our family members. For us to be cherish and remembered, because it is so sad if there will be no one who will remember you whenever you pass away in this world. Let's remember that life in this world is temporary. Nothing will stay forever. All of us will die. And it is sorrowful to know that no one will visited you in your tomb and even remember you when you're dead. Now that we are still living let us not forget to remember the long lost.

That would be all for today friends. Thank you so much for reading. I appreciate you all.

Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty

I appreciate as well my dearest sponsors. Who keep choosing to journey with me and believing in me. Thank you so much. It means a whole lot to me.

Keep safe and God bless everyone.

5
$ 4.77
$ 4.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 2
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

Buti pwede pumunta dyan senyo ng November 2. Dito Hindi pwede Kaya 28 palang nagtupos na ko ng kandila sa Lola at Lolo ko

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hindi sis Kasi lock down Nov. 3 na ako nakapunta.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The same goes with my grandparents they care for us when we're still a kid but now they have gone forever we only remembered their good deeds when they are alive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May they rest in peace. I believe they are now in God's loving arms. I am glad you have a beautiful memories with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to remember my mom as I keep cherishing the moment we were together before she left. This is what we all should always do to always remember them. You have done a kind thing to visit the dead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your such a strong woman. I can't imagine life without my mom. I always do visit the dead it's an important thing for us, Filipino and as Christian.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes even if one of our family member is gone, we should still cherished the memories they left. I miss my grandpa also 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Missing them is a sign that we cherish them. That's fine love it's normal to have missed them. I missed mine too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My late grandfather also sells copra before and he would give us coins 😁 he also likes telling funny stories. And he did it effortlessly.. I suddenly missed him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I missed mine too. That's fine sis they always watch us wherever they are right now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago