Food for the soul: Follower

6 17
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
1 year ago

June 26, 2022

To become a good leader you first need to become a good follower. For you, how to become a good follower?

Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty

Flexing my wonderful sponsors. They are very supportive people and I awe much from them. Thank you so much.

I hope you visit them if you haven't. Thank you.

Hello beautiful people. I hope your weekend is good and you were able to enjoy it. I hope you were able to attend the holy mass and hear the holy gospel for this Sunday cause it is very nice and full of wisdom from the Lord. But if you haven't allow me to share it with you through my every week food for the soul article. Today's article is entitled "follower". Let us all learn and understand how this word relate to our gospel today.

The Holy Gospel according to

Luke 9:51-62

Now it happened that as the time drew near for him to be taken up, he resolutely turned his face towards Jerusalem and sent messengers ahead of him. These set out, and they went into a Samaritan village to make preparations for him, but the people would not receive him because he was making for Jerusalem. Seeing this, the disciples James and John said, 'Lord, do you want us to call down fire from heaven to burn them up?' But he turned and rebuked them, and they went on to another village. As they travelled along they met a man on the road who said to him, 'I will follow you wherever you go.'

Jesus answered, 'Foxes have holes and the birds of the air have nests, but the Son of man has nowhere to lay his head.' Another to whom he said, 'Follow me,' replied, 'Let me go and bury my father first.'But he answered, 'Leave the dead to bury their dead; your duty is to go and spread the news of the kingdom of God.'Another said, 'I will follow you, sir, but first let me go and say good -- bye to my people at home.'Jesus said to him, 'Once the hand is laid on the plough, no one who looks back is fit for the kingdom of God.'

Source

Reflection

The gospel talks about few people who wants to follow Jesus but ask his permission to first go home and do the wordly things.

We are all follower of Jesus. We are one of that few people who follow but half hearted because of the wordly things. This gospel talks very personal to me. It reminded me of how I am as a follower of Christ. How I put wordly things first before him. How I forget most times to put him above all things since he is the one who gave all this things.

Today I was reminded why I was pending. How all my plans and goal listed never realize and become into reality. It is because I never ask his plans and I even consider his plans in my life. I realize that maybe the reason why I am pending is because the goal that I have been aiming is not letting me live the very purpose that I am here in this world. That the goal listed was not God centered. That the goal was very selfish not with the family but with the Lord. I know and realize now where and why those plan never been realize and won't be realize. I thanks God for reminding and making me realize that. I know I have been ranting and doubting and even asking his power and all because he never gave me my plans and goals. But now I know where I went wrong.

I should have followed Christ no ifs no buts. No hesitation. No questions. No bargaining. Most of us do. We bargain with Christ. I now realize that's where I gone wrong. Today I am grateful and happy to realize those things through the gospel. That the Lord speaks before me in a very personal way.

The lord told me "Follow me and everything will follow, plans, hopes and dreams."

Conclusion

To be a good follower is to follow Christ. To be Christ like and to live out the purpose that the Lord intended you to be that is why he made you in the first place.

Even with the pain and brokeness that I have been through. I believe it is essential and all those things for me to realize how and where I went wrong. I hope and pray that you too realize those things. Yet, I believe that everything has its purpose.

Let us be reminded always that we are a follower and we are bound to be and to do just like Him. Amidst the wordly challenges that we face everyday is we choose to follow Christ he will be happy and we will be worthy to be with him in heaven.

That would be all. Thank you so much for reading. God bless and stay safe everyone.

3
$ 0.82
$ 0.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Momshie-Joy
$ 0.01 from @Carmencita77
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
1 year ago

Comments

I will always find the bible the most trusted book since it doesn't fail to us. Yes I agree we have to understand first on how to be a good person. Through following the right individuals we have learn about them and become a good leader

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed. We should follow his ways and deeds.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awee. I also read the gospel yesterday and it is indeed about following Jesus. As what the priest said and ask, did you follow Jesus? Why are you following the trendy things in this temporary world like socmed, model, artist where in fact we should follow Jesus because he is our savior. It is all about how we follow our Lord Jesus Christ.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truly he is the one we should follow because his ways never fails.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We cannot please God is we focus more with ourselves and we're no willing to deny our own motives, and disregarding God's will. The world's standard of service is totally different with God's perspective.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True sis. Kaya nga pag we are out form his path we tend to fail on most things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago