Defense mechanism

12 35
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

We react differently on different situations either consciously or unconsciously. Some of us fight back others would chose to remain silent.

I just wanted to ask you, when is the time you choose to fight back? And when is the time you chose to remain silent?

Today I have learned that ants reacts differently from us human being. We fight back or remain silent dependent on the situation, the people and the emotion being triggered. While ants reacts only one reaction. This reaction is called defense mechanism. This is how they react based on the surrounding in order for them to survive. If you could observe they tend to bite when you go near them. It is because they defend themselves for the danger that comes to them.

Defense mechanism is also present to us -human beings but because we are the highest form of animals in the planet we tend to use our thinking before we react. Since ants doesn't have the same thinking like us they would only show monotonous reaction to every scenario that would trigger their fear.

Moreover, there is similarities shown partly to human being and ants. And this is the nature to react called defense mechanism. Even being silent is a defense mechanism.

According to Healthline there are 10 Defense Mechanisms that we tend to acts and reacts. This is medically reviewed by Timothy J. Legg, Ph.D., CRNP and written by Kimberly Holland on February 11, 2019.

In most cases, these psychological responses are not under a person’s conscious control. That means you don’t decide what you do when you do it. Here are a few common defense mechanisms:

1. Denial

Denial is one of the most common defense mechanisms. It occurs when you refuse to accept reality or facts. You block external events or circumstances from your mind so that you don’t have to deal with the emotional impact. In other words, you avoid the painful feelings or events.

Whenever I feel heartache, I always tend to deny the facts that he no longer wants or loves me instead he finds someone pretty and smart. So, I cut my hair and change myself.

2. Repression

Unsavory thoughts, painful memories, or irrational beliefs can upset you. Instead of facing them, you may unconsciously choose to hide them in hopes of forgetting about them entirely.

My dark past always comes knocking because I don't and never discuss it to them ever since it happen. I just hide and hope that one day I will forget it.

3. Projection

Some thoughts or feelings you have about another person may make you uncomfortable. If you project those feelings, you’re misattributing them to the other person.

When I don't like my classmate and my friends asked me why I don't be friend them, I told them they don't like me even though it is me who don't like them. Are you like that too?

4. Displacement

You direct strong emotions and frustrations toward a person or object that doesn’t feel threatening. This allows you to satisfy an impulse to react, but you don’t risk significant consequences.

Sometimes at work when the boss made me angry but I can't be angry to him, I tend to be angry at home to whoever talks to me. I place my anger to different people instead.

5. Regression

Some people who feel threatened or anxious may unconsciously “escape” to an earlier stage of development.

This type of defense mechanism is present to me sometimes. Whenever I feel anxious I tend to go back to my old or childhood habits of hugging my favorite stuff at night or sniffing my old favorite blanket.

6. Rationalization

Some people may attempt to explain undesirable behaviors with their own set of “facts.” This allows you to feel comfortable with the choice you made, even if you know on another level it’s not right.

Sometimes I feel angry to my nieces because they failed to do things that me personally failed to do as well. Which I see myself to them. Usually being late at school.

7. Sublimation

This type of defense mechanism is considered a positive strategy. That’s because people who rely on it choose to redirect strong emotions or feelings into an object or activity that is appropriate and safe.

This is a positive mechanism. I do it often times whenever I am frustrated at some things. I listen to music, read or write to avoid the frustration.

8. Reaction formation

People who use this defense mechanism recognize how they feel, but they choose to behave in the opposite manner of their instincts.

When problems comes over me sometimes I don't want to be frustrated that's why I think of it as a challenge that I openly accepted. That way I won't be thinking negatively but positively and would think things would come out good at the end.

9. Compartmentalization

Separating your life into independent sectors may feel like a way to protect many elements of it.

This is also called professionalism. At work, I never get personal things comes in my way because it might ruin the quality of my work. This is what compartmentalization do, separate things at hand.

10. Intellectualization

When you’re hit with a trying situation, you may choose to remove all emotion from your responses and instead focus on quantitative facts.

Some wise decision making I don't want to be hindered by emotions, I do intellectualization. Seeing the both sides of the situation without letting emotions role over to decision that I would be making.

How about you? Most of the times, how would you react to situation that would triggers your emotion? When your anxious or fearful?

Closing thought

Having different response to different situation is quite difficult to master. Sometimes it would be unconsciously out from your natural ways of acting and reacting to things but it's good to have this different reactions rather than being similar to ants who would react to only one reaction. Though there are people who like ants and sometimes we are one of them. Those times when we bite ,not literally though, to people who hurt us instantly without thinking. Especially when we are already triggered, I mean there are already emotion triggered and people around us are not sensitive enough on dealing us. Sometimes we are the ones who would be mindful to our responses "nalang" cause the response we will be making will would sometimes define us and would be the rubrics of some other people on defining us. Better think before we react.

Thanks for reading.

Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty

Shout out to my generous sponsors and friends here. God bless you all. I appreciate you all. I love you 🥰😘

4
$ 3.32
$ 3.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Winx1988
+ 3
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

Being silent is the best defence mechanism for me, under the interectual and smartest way indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Murag ari kos denial maigo mem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Urag kita man cguro tanan mem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Intellectualization

  • I always make sure to balance things before i make any actions or steps. I don't to be consume by my emotions as well.
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to know that. Happy for you sis. Kasi ako Ang hirap mag manage huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Learned something new. Keep writing dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will thank you so much for reading I appreciate it so much 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Denial ug regression man jud siguro ko maamsh mao ako rapoy magsuffer from time to time. Ja kung ma full na ahu emotion didto na haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ana sab ko sahay mamsh ja most times eadto sa lain butang Mao lageh imuha ingon matibo ra ja ug matriggered ayy ligid haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gajud

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe bisan naniguwang nata dli man gihapon ta hanas mo manage ug ing Ana uyy baw 😅😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ana rajud maamsh. Luom2 part nanas life

$ 0.00
2 years ago