Being a Godparent

41 37
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Yesterday I wasn't able to write because my phone is dead and my charger was left @Zhyne06 house. I was able to get it during night as I went home from the party that I am invited to attend to. Sorry for disturbing ate.

This story is not about the party but about the role I play in this party.

Meet Samantha Faith, my beautiful goddaughter.
Her collection of stuff toys joined the party.

Samantha turns two yesterday. She is my first goddaughter. A daughter of a close friend of mine that I got to know sometime on the past for their family offers me to stay in their house as a working student before. I never expected her to asked me to be her daughter's godmother because I am not the same age as her, nor her circle of friends way back high school or college days. I could still remember how it feels when she asked me that time because it was my first time to have a goddaughter in my life.

I am excited.

I am excited and jumping with joy that time as I heard the news. I couldn't believe she asked me. I am happy to learned that even with the new chapter of her life she still wanted me to be part of it.

I am confused.

Sam is my first goddaughter. I don't know if it suits me that time. I asked myself that time if I am suitable to become a godmother. I don't know how to become a godmother and what are my responsibilities. But still I accepted the offer and go with the flow. I am willing to give and take my part whatever it takes to become suitable to be called godmother.

I am blessed.

I am blessed that they chose me. It means they trusted me to act as a second parent for their daughter. I am blessed to be called a mother at a young age. Blessed to guide an angel from above.

With the joy and the gifts that is given their comes responsibility in between. Being a godparent in tells responsibility as well. Responsibility that is entrusted in your shoulder. There's a role you have to play. For you to be called a godparent.

To be a second parent.

This is the only role of a godparent but this would mean a lot of things. Like parents do, a godparent asked a responsibility to;

  • To care.

Care for your godchildren like they are your own child. Taking care doesn't only mean, feeding, bathing and dressing them but caring also means reaching out for them. Asking how are things going with them. To be available in times parents are not around.

  • To love.

Love can't only be seen by how much you give or how costly are the gifts you have given to them. It could be simply a moral support, a motivation, encouragement through words and a "good job" and "keep it up" would be a symbol of love. Even just sitting with them and hearing them out is a love that no gifts could be compared to.

  • To guide.

To be a godparent means you are to guide them to the right path and choices in life. Not to pressure them on things to achieve but let them choose what is best for them through letting them see both side of the decision. And to support them whatever they choose to be. To guide not just physically but also spiritually if parents are lacking in those aspects. As a godparent you are entitled to fill in those aspects in order to direct them the right ways of life.

  • To teach.

To teach doesn't simply means you are a teacher. But as a godparent you are entitled to teach your godchildren the good moral values in life. Never support wrong doings but teach them how to be upright individuals.

  • To be their second home.

As a godparent they must feel that you can be their second home. A feeling not just only opening your home for them to visit whenever they want to and letting them feel that it's their home too but also a feeling of security and comfort in you.

Closing thought

Being a godparent doesn't simply means you are a just a godparent. Remember that you will be a second parent to them and this means you have an important role to play. Don't just say YES, to an invitation to become a godparent because your friend asked you to be her "maring-maring" or her "Mars". Or don't also asked someone to become a godparent of your children because they are rich or because they asked you and you promised her before during school days. Remember that they should take part from the role they must play -and that is to be your child's godparent. Which means to be someone willing to do your task when you're not around. Or someone you can entrust to your child's welfare in the future. Someone who could guide your child and become a good influence in your child's life.

I may not know this before I said yes. For the reason that I don't know what and how to become a godparent. But later on I realized those things I have shared to you. I may not get to do all those things to my godchildren but I am very much willing and welcome to do so.

They maybe not my own child but I love them as my own. I am happy and blessed to have them. I am willing to be their second parent which means to care, love, guide, teach them and to be their second home.

Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty

Thank you so much for reading.

My endless gratitude to my sponsors and friends who supports my previous articles through upvoting and warm message.

I appreciate you all. As always, I love you πŸ₯°πŸ˜˜

13
$ 8.89
$ 8.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Panky
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of ThisisGrace21
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ThisisGrace21
2 years ago

Comments

I congratulate you on your new mission as a godparent. She is a beautiful little girl. You will do well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much gert. Indeed she is. Not just beautiful but a smart kid as well. πŸ₯° A proud godmother here. πŸ–οΈπŸ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be a godparent takes full sacrifice and attention for such children. Also, even if you are yet to have children, being a godparent would teach and train you on how to care for children and to guide them in the right way. It is just like preparing you ahead of becoming a mother to your own children.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed it is. πŸ₯° It quite a very nice feeling and it is such an honor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute nang baby hehe. Close pala kayo ni ate Zhyne in person.

Kaloka nga yung ibang parents maka demand sa mga godparents wagas hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo kumare ko hehe

Oo nga ehh kala mga ninang bangko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As in galing nman mga kumare nandito hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe ok siya Kasi nag invite sakin dito.. super thankful nga ako ehh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh ganon hihi. Oo nga noh ayos talaga ma invite dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes tinuod gyud na Maam, naa say ninang akong bata bisan kabalo ko nga naa silay stable job wala gyud misud sa ahung hunahuna nga mangayo ug amot gikan nila,kay ahung tumong is mka hatag ug gabay sa ahung bata,mka support sa iyang pagdako dili sa materyal nga butang kundi sa pagtudlo ug maayo nga mga buhat..πŸ₯°.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohm Jud Ana unta dapat Kay Mao Mana ilaha role sa mga anak ..dli man sila bangko..

Thanks for visiting diay ma'am πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao gyud maam,naa lng jud uban parents nga paghimuon nag bangko ang mga ninang, Pero mka proud lng ka kay bisan wala kay experience anang parenting you still choose to become a godmother..πŸ₯° Welcome and Godbless πŸ™β™₯️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

na mao na diha ms grace pangabilin nag charger hahaha ug naa mi anak puhon kuhaon pod ka namo na ninang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha nagdali man gud ko uli adtong last day nga nagbantay ko sa ako inaanak pud

Ayy puhon looking forward to it. πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so lesson learned: di mag dali2 kay magka bali2 hehe! owssss hahahapuhon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha pedi paunhon sa ko Kay mas gurs pajud tawn 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

unsa may dugajan 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, being a god mother is a privilege for me. First na naging inaanak ko is baby ng bestfriend kooo. And super saya talaga maging 2nd parent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is. Nagkaroon ka Ng opportunity to feel how to be a parent to your godchild.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday Samantha, wish all the best your God mother wishes you, and hope you be a good child to your parents and God parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for visiting πŸ₯° I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aygiiiee.. Untag ing.ana ahung ninang haha.. Bitaw sauna kadtong mag.ulian pa sila diri, sayang pandemia man pud lagi ron. Pero bitaw, di man sad jud lalim mahimong ninang/ninong uie.. Unja mauwaw pud ka na di mu.attend ug naay invitations hahah.. Nag.expect na ang mga anakon nga naay ihatag si ninang/ninong daan.πŸ˜…

God bless you mamsh..πŸ™β€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ohm pero it's okey man gud nga muattend bisan Wala it's responsibility of a parent to teach and educate their child nga Ang ninang dli bangko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabagay mamsh..hihiπŸ˜… Nakasabot ra man sila sa sitwasyon ron. Tas ahu lud ubang anakon lagyu.a tuas san ricardo ang usa, tua pud sa manila ang usa.. Matingob gajud ni inag magkita na'g balik hahah..πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahw maglahi naka daan run mams haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha.. kalisuron naman lagi mamsh uie, nagnihit man ta ron🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mano po ninang! Happy 2nd birthday, bebeloves! Ganyan din po ako minsan at sabi nila it's rude to decline an invitation/offer hehe. Morning sa inyo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If the situation wouldn't fit and you know you can't be responsible of the responsibility of a godmother it's fine Naman ata to decline. Rather than to be called godparent but you can't be like one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes naman sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diba Lalo na pag mataas expectation ni mare na Malaki bigay mong regalo o kaya pera para sa binyagan πŸ˜…πŸ˜πŸ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, sissy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alam mo lahat ng inaanak kon ninang lng ako aa papel 🀣 never ako umattend sa mga binyag nla..🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Harooy hahaha I hope you know at least their names πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ingon maamsh, its not good to turn down an offer to be a godparent kay something maka bad luck. Aw hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ingon sila bitaw pero know that if you said yes you must know your responsibility as a godparent. Hindi lng Kay "uyy nakahatag ko pagka pasko ug birthday Okie natu Wana koy utang " 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahahaha majo ug manghatag maamsh🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! Mao pod na ahong nadunggan sa kadtong naay seminar sa mo ninang o ninong nga dapata imong pilion kanang naa jod makita sa bata kay sila may ikaduhang ginikanan. Nag tagay2 man pod ka mamsh hahaha majo gani nakuha pag charger

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohm Mao Jud na Ang importante

Hahaha ohm mamsh dli pedi ug dli.. ma wasted ko pero Ang charger dli Jud pedi malimtan πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha aligri sie na mem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha labaw Kay Ang read cash jusko .. I feel bad gali nga wa ko ka publish gahapon πŸ˜” Pero oks lng bawi nlng ko πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako gani wapa pod. Gitapolan pako mamsh hangtod ron. Ambot ani

$ 0.00
2 years ago