Treating Your ADHD Naturally 

1 43
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
2 years ago
Topics: ADHD, Natural, Treatment, Health, Mental, ...

As a child, I was self-aware that I was different from the other kids when it came to learning and school. I would often become distracted by my surroundings and found schoolwork to be tedious. I was barely passing my classes because I chose to write stories instead of doing the lessons required for class. 

🥊 The Fight Within Her as a Child

But it wasn't until my early 40's that I decided to confirm what I had suspected since childhood. I was diagnosed with a mental health condition known as Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD).  

My diagnosis as an adult confirmed my behavior as a child in school and life in general.

I had all of the common ADHD symptoms: 

  • I was easily distracted 

  • I refused to follow the teacher's directions 

  • I interrupted others

  • I procrastinated 


After my mental health diagnosis, I attempted to treat my symptoms with prescription medication for ADHD. Unfortunately, I learned that prescription drugs were not for me after experiencing several rare and potentially deadly side effects from every medication that had been prescribed to me. 

So I chose to treat my ADHD naturally with nutritional supplements that help relieve my most common symptoms.


Zinc 

Zinc is a mineral found in foods such as oysters, beans, and whole grains. The supplement plays an important role in brain function and health. A deficiency of the mineral is often linked to those who have been diagnosed with ADHD and its symptoms. If you have a short attention span and lack focus, a zinc deficiency may be to blame.  

Magnesium

Another essential mineral that is often missing in those with  ADHD is magnesium. 

A magnesium deficiency can cause mood swings, a short attention span, and confusion, all symptoms of ADHD. 

The good news is, even if you aren't getting enough of this important mineral, it can easily be incorporated into your diet with magnesium-rich foods such as leafy greens, beans, and whole grains. 

If you choose to take a magnesium supplement instead, talk with your doctor first since a high dose of the mineral can cause unwanted health issues like severe stomach pain and diarrhea. 

Omega-3 fatty acids

Omega-3 fatty acids aren't just necessary for those who want to increase their heart health. The supplement can be beneficial for those with ADHD. 

Omega-3 fatty acids can increase your body's dopamine level which is responsible for your mood and memory.  

Foods that are rich in Omega-3 fatty acids include mackerel, salmon, halibut, and tuna.  

Iron 

An Iron deficiency has been linked to those who have ADHD. Iron plays an important role in the production of dopamine, which helps keep your emotions in check and stress levels under control. 

Be sure to talk to your doctor before adding an iron supplement to your health regimen, since consuming too much can be toxic. 

Melatonin

 Insomnia can sometimes be a common symptom for those of us with ADHD. Melatonin may help those who are affected by insomnia and other sleep problems. 

When taking Melatonin, allow for 8 to 10 hours of rest time as the supplement can make some users a little groggy when waking up. Melatonin also works best when taken 30 minutes before bedtime. 

Because there are some prescription and over-the-counter medications that can counteract with the natural supplements listed above, always check with your doctor before trying any new supplement or health regimen. 

Nutritional Supplements for ADHD

One final thought that I discovered:

Even after adding the supplements above to my health regimen, I still felt I wasn't in full control of my ADHD. I started researching some of the processed foods I was eating and discovered they were a big no-no for ADHD. Artificial flavoring and food dyes, gone! I don't buy soda or those fun cereals that don't even keep you full! Since then, I've noticed a difference in how much easier it is to focus naturally. 

🥊 The Fight Within Her Today 🥊







 

  


2
$ 2.22
$ 2.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Thefightwithinher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
2 years ago
Topics: ADHD, Natural, Treatment, Health, Mental, ...

Comments

I also sufferers from ADHD but not adverse. I would keep in mind your suggestions. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago