The ADHD Mind: Rosemary for Focus

0 285
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
3 years ago
Topics: Tea, Rosemary, Mental, Health, ADHD, ...
Sponsors of Thefightwithinher
empty
empty
empty

I'll be very honest, it really bothers me that so many people who follow a religion, believe that using herbs for medicinal purposes is satanic, sorcery, witchery and so forth. Yet herbs are provided on our earth for a reason. 

We as humans would rather run straight to the doctor and get a prescription medication that contains man-made chemicals, which can cause severe allergic reactions, dangerous side effects and can become addictive in small doses! We are even willing to spend thousands of dollars for it! 

Now I'm not saying throw out your prescription medication because I do understand it can help certain health problems, but I also don't believe those who choose to use herbs to help aid in a healthy lifestyle should be accused of witchcraft, evil and so forth. I mean, come on, don't tell me you don't users in cooking! 

Now let's make peace, move on and for those who do want to know about the use of herbs, talk about Rosemary.

Most of us know and use Rosemary as an ingredient in many of our favorite recipes, but did you know that the plant can also be beneficial in mental focus and concentration. That's a huge plus for those of us with ADHD! 

For me, there are days when I feel blah and just downright sluggish. I will find myself having trouble focusing on my job and even find myself forgetting the simplest things more often than I really should. It's definitely not fun, not on purpose or an excuse as some people will blatantly point out. 

It's called brain fog, which is oftentimes associated with ADHD and it's very real. It can also be very frustrating for those of us who experience it. For those who don't? Count your blessings because you are very lucky not to experience it.  I would love, to be in your shoes or maybe I should say brain!  

Thankfully, Rosemary is an herb that has been known for its potential health benefits to improve memory and focus! Rosemary is a member of the mint family interestingly enough, and is an excellent source of vitamin B-6, iron, copper, magnesium and calcium. It is commonly used in many Mediterranean dishes. 

The herb can be purchased fresh or dried in its purest form, which in my opinion is best! There are however a lot of places who also provide Rosemary as an already made tea and essential oil, but don't be fooled! Most companies will dilute the herb for a bigger profit and they will often combine it with chemicals we don't need. So please beware if you choose to purchase Rosemary in any way other than its natural form. 

I also want you to be aware that Rosemary just as anything we indulge in isn't always safe, although rare. In extremely high doses Rosemary may cause vomiting, spasms, coma and fluid in the lungs. It may also cause miscarriage, so if you are pregnant, it's best to not take the herb. If you are diabetic or taking blood thinners, it's best to talk to a herbal doctor just to make sure it will not interfere with your prescription medication. 

While most of us already know that Rosemary can be used in cooking, did you know it can also be made into a delicious tea? It's also, by the way my favorite way to use the herb for my ADHD

You can make the tea using fresh or dried rosemary, but I have always believed when possible, fresh is best! You simply need one sprig of Rosemary for one pot of tea. Be sure to steep the herb for 10 minutes for maximum benefits. If you are unable to find fresh rosemary, you can also use it dried at about one teaspoon per a cup of tea. If you do use it dried, you will want to strain your tea using a tea ball or strainer. 

For myself I tend to consume about 3 cups of Rosemary tea per a day without adding any creamer or sweetener. One cup of Rosemary tea in the morning, one cup in the afternoon and one cup in the evening. Mmm mmm mmm. Delicious. 


2
$ 1.59
$ 1.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Thefightwithinher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
3 years ago
Topics: Tea, Rosemary, Mental, Health, ADHD, ...

Comments