How To Boost Your Immune System With Herbal Teas

2 44
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
1 year ago
Topics: Health, Self-improvement, Life, Herbs, Tea, ...

With seasonal allergies in full swing and the everchanging Covid virus still lurking around every corner, I started drinking herbal teas to help boost my immune system. So far, I haven’t even experienced a slight sniffle since the Covid began, even after being around others who became ill. So, why herbal teas and not the ever famous green tea that has been noted to have immune-boosting benefits? 


Green tea is a fabulous choice for those looking to improve their immune system, but it’s not for everyone. The tannic acid that is commonly found in black, white, and green tea can cause bleeding and pain in your bladder, especially when you have been diagnosed with IC (Interstitial cystitis) disease. Most herbal teas have little to no tannic acid and are caffeine-free, making them a safer alternative to their immune-supporting green tea counterpart. 

Herbal Tea and Your Immune System


A few of my favorite immune-boosting herbal tea flavors that I tend to sip throughout the day include turmeric, ginger, chamomile, and echinacea. Not only do the teas help support my immune system, but they also offer other health benefits as well. 

A quick note: Ginger and turmeric are spices and not herbs, they are caffeine-free however, and may contain herbs when purchased from a tea brand such as Yogi Teas. 

 Turmeric

Turmeric spice contains Curcumin, an active compound that is known for its anti-inflammatory and antioxidant health benefits. Turmeric is a double bonus for me since it has been known to help ease inflammation caused by arthritis and boost the immune system.

Turmeric tea can generally be found anywhere teas are sold with or without other natural flavors, or you can make your own if you're concerned about what goes into your cup of tea. I’m partial to the Yogi tea brand when it comes to turmeric because with my ADHD it’s just less time-consuming for me. 

But you can make your turmeric herbal tea by Adding ½ tsp of fresh or 1 tsp of ground turmeric to a tea ball and steeping in 1 cup of hot water for 5 minutes.  

Turmeric From Yogi Tea

Chamomile

Chamomile is a flower that is commonly used as a tea for its calming benefits. When my stress level is up, I tend to make a cup of Chamomile tea before bedtime, which tends to make me feel relaxed and sleepy. If I’m feeling fatigued due to stress and not getting enough rest, I don’t feel well enough to take on the day!  Having a good night’s sleep is essential for both my mental and physical health.

Again, I am partial to Yogi teas and their Comforting Chamomile tea brand, but you can make your own by adding 1 teaspoon of dried chamomile flowers to a tea ball and steeping in 1 cup of hot water for at least 5 minutes. 

Echinacea

Another favorite herbal tea I drink often is Echinacea, which is an herb that may be effective in building up our body’s immune system and reducing allergy symptoms. I tend to use Echinacea Immune Support from Yogi Tea, but again you can: Add 1 teaspoon of dried echinacea herbs to a tea ball and step for 5 minutes in 1 cup of hot water. 

Ginger

Ginger spice packs a lot of punch as a tea because it contains several health benefits that may provide relief from arthritis, help aid in digestion, and reduce infections caused by seasonal allergies. I try to drink at least one cup of ginger tea per day because of my arthritis and to keep allergies at a minimum.


Because ginger is a very common spice that's easy to find, I will use both fresh and Yogi Tea brands in Ginger. To brew fresh ginger, you will need to bring 1 and 1/2 cups of water in a medium saucepan to a boil. Slice about 1 teaspoon of the spice and add it to the boiling water, then reduce and simmer for about 5 minutes. Strain the tea before drinking.  

Ginger Yogi Brand Tea


Keep in mind, that any of the above teas can be made hot or iced. If you prefer iced tea, simply add the brewed tea to a glass filled with ice. I tend to drink both hot and iced tea, depending on my mood and the weather! 


One last thought I would like to leave you with! While a good cup of tea may be beneficial in strengthening your immune system and reducing seasonal allergy symptoms, including healthy foods and exercise in your life can greatly increase those immune-enhancing benefits!

🥊 The Fight Within Her 🥊







3
$ 1.48
$ 1.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Lawa1988
Sponsors of Thefightwithinher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
1 year ago
Topics: Health, Self-improvement, Life, Herbs, Tea, ...

Comments

I drink turmeric powder not a tea, it Co trains Coco sugar, every other day. It helps me also when I have acidity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always love to go with ginger one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago