Clearing the Clutter When You're Feeling Overwhelmed 

0 43
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
2 years ago

Clutter is a thing of the past for many of us who dream of a more minimal lifestyle. But if you have ADHD clearing the clutter from your life may still be on your to-do list because you feel overwhelmed every time you think about cleaning. Believe me, you are not alone. 

The struggle is real and chances are you've told yourself that it's too much to do, or there isn't enough time. And if you are like me, you've probably convinced yourself that the clutter isn't that much. My art studio can verify that one! 

Yet I've also learned that clutter isn't just overwhelming, it's downright stressful. That lingering mess is not just an eyesore, but a potential health concern!  When we feel overwhelmed with tons of stuff staring back at us, it's not very pretty or relaxing, to say the least. 

Those piles of clutter can also make us believe that we are hanging onto it, just in case we need it. We worry about getting rid of anything, so we don't until one day our home is so filled with clutter that we can barely find room to sit! Not to mention all of the upkeep and cleaning! I don't know about you, but I can find better things to do with my life than having to clean a ton of stuff! 

Still, there is that overwhelming sensation that grabs those of us with ADHD.  So how do you get past that feeling? Where do you begin?

It's a simple process. You only need about 10 minutes a day to clear through the clutter in your home. Tackling the mess in small bites helps to minimize those dreaded sensations that prevent us from our goal in the first place. 

If 10 minutes seems like too much, try clearing it 5 minutes, or start with one small section instead of focusing on a time frame. 


Not sure where to start? 


Your Clothes Closet -

Take a peek inside of your clothes closet and ask yourself what have you not worn in over a year? What about those pants you thought would look great on you, but don't? How about that shirt you adore, but can't stand wearing because the fabric is uncomfortable? Are you still hanging onto old favorites that have seen their day?

If your closet is too big of a project, start with your dresser drawers. Even if you can only manage one drawer a day, do it!!! 

Then while you are reducing the clutter, make note of anything that needs to be replaced. Keep in mind that replacing an article of clothing does not mean buying 4 new shirts to replace 1!

To keep clothing clutter to a minimum in the future, turn all of your hangers backward. Once you have worn that particular piece of clothing, turn the hanger forward. Anything that is still hanging on a backward hanger at the end of the year, donate, sell or toss. 


The Junk Drawer - 

You know the drawer. The one where all of the odds and ends that don't have a designated home go. Chances are you have one and chances are it's in the kitchen. Most junk drawers hold broken, leftover, or missing parts. If you haven't needed them in a year, toss it. You can always replace anything that is essential in your life, but honestly if it's been a year, do you even need to? 


Kitchen Stuff -

While you are in the kitchen, sort through all of those extra dishes you don't need and donate them to someone who does! Sell or donate any appliances you thought would be nice to have, but ended up being a hassle to use. Do the same with any kitchen utensils you rarely use. And anything that is broken? If you haven't replaced or repaired it, do you need it? 


The Bookcase - 

For book lovers like myself, this goal may be difficult! I understand. I love reading, so when I started paring down my books, I felt lost! But I did find that there were several books that I knew I would never read and those I read once but never opened again. I donated them! I also had a few books I had intended to read but found myself passing them over each time I chose a book from my bookshelf. Yep, those books were donated as well! I had no excuses because, in all honesty, I hate dusting and books love dust! 










5
$ 10.58
$ 10.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
$ 0.03 from @turuncu
Sponsors of Thefightwithinher
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Thefightwithinher
2 years ago

Comments