This Gift Is Not For You

14 75
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

A day before yesterday, I talked about scam calling and met with a similar condition today. But this time it was like a free gift to me.

In the morning while checking through the messages I found out that I got a message about a one-month recharge add-on on free calls and daily data. I remember correctly I haven't recharged my phone so I asked my family and friends they also said they didn't.

I thought of it as a freebie as I am a regular customer of this operator service provider named 'Jio' which has already given me a free recharge of 3 months when I recharged for 1 year. I felt finally some of my bad luck is going away with time. I was happy to get such a free gift.

But it wasn't like that. It was for someone else.

A few hours later, I got busy with my morning chores then I saw my phone somebody called me three times straight, I thought who could it be? But seeing the number I refrained myself from calling as a lot of times it's some spammer trying to waste my time and lure in his/her foul play. But while using the device I got a call from the same number, and I picked it up.

It was a stranger telling me that he recharged accidentally in my phone, oh man what a bummer hearing this. I didn't believe his words straight away so I asked him for some details and a screenshot of his transaction and I found out that he was a Jio retailer means an official involved with the same telecom company I am using. And there I had to send OTP to cancel the extra recharge which he did by mistake. He just misplaced a number while recharging for someone.

There the doubt bug struck me, I asked him for his legal National ID as proof that he is really a true Jio Retailer capable of recharging and activating Sim-Cards. He hesitated a bit but later did a video call and showed me his ID instead of sending it as he also felt there's a risk in sending someone your national ID. I confirmed it and sent the OTP. As the message which I got for recharge cancellation was from the official Jio Service Provider. He thanked me a lot and said he saved his few bucks as many times people aren't that supportive of conditions like these and I won't side with any of them as both are somewhat right in their place.

Nobody wants to take a risk of being scammed.

So Why Did You Took The risk

  • First I got an official message of the wrong recharge from the network service provider I am using and the recharge won't be cancelled unless I tell the OTP to the retailer.

  • Only the official retailers have the power to cancel the recharge done by them if some normal person is saying that he/she can undo the recharge. They are scammers.

  • Rest I searched for help on YouTube and found proof and ways of how to deal with these situations and avoid being scammed.

  • I do have that attitude of listening to people first then speaking. I think his words did got me that he wasn't lying and by the way he gave me some solid proofs along with his face and National ID.

Final Thoughts

The recharge was 2.57$, not a high amount but he said that he had started this business this month only and is still new and this was his first mistake. I remember he thanked me more than 10 times. And I was like, just scam me bro and I have enough evidence to push your buttons, lol. The video call was the prime evidence.

A similar incident happened with me here in this platform when I accidentally sent huge BCH funds to Sir @Unity and he was generous enough to transfer back. Not that his post aren't that valuable to get funds like that, but for the huge funding I will rely on the green guy for now as long as he is here.

Through his words, I sensed a huge sense of relief after he got the funds back. I felt happy today. But I did said him, that next time if you do a mistake like this in my phone number you won't be getting the funds back, haha! At the same time I felt sad of not getting a free recharge, heh-e!

So have you been in situations like this?

Getting something for free and then giving it back. How would you feel?

If you aren't sure and don't feel right don't involve yourself in such generous work, lol.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Telegram

34
$ 2.78
$ 1.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Unity
$ 0.08 from @Ling01
+ 26
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

You're such a kindhearted hooman my friend. I mean, the thought that you returned it means you really care about the other person even it, he mistakenly sent it to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We haven't suffered from such a thing, we don't really make such mistakes at our place you go to the store you say the number. and. you load the option or the desired amount

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oh what a bad misfortune. but at least you didn't get scammed be glad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a good deed sir, you return what is not yours. May God repay your kindness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Connect me on LinkedIn/Twitter. It seems we may have to go for "peer-to-peer" networking. I am serious.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh yes sir, connecting! But in LinkedIn I am not able to pass verification page where I am asked to select an image going up?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In this world of new, technology there are many risks. Scammers all around. We can't even trust official ones too. So vigilant, is a prime factor to be followed in this world.

And I feel happy for that guy whom you help him with. Sometimes, things got in that way too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Still, does it really nees the otp I mean why not just use other mode of payment 🤔 just a thpught hmmm

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lmao, I was too busy with my chores that my brain cells didn't worked. That was an easy way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's fortunate, to receiver. I didn't have any history about an sending accident code or any funds.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course he is lucky enough that you cooperate. Not everyone are like that eh..

I remember one time I was sleepy and I upvoted one comment in my article..instead of 0.01 I clicked $1... haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Loyal plus generous peeps.

I'm really so conscious about this funding and matter of transaction. Gratefully i haven't done such mistake yet nor i want to happen something like this in future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can change fund option button here. Yeah you should thank to that generous man. Scammers are spreading in whole world but we should be able to trace who really made mistakes. Good job you have done man.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Some kinds of scams happen like this. They will send you a code and ask you to send them the code that you receive, only that the code might be for something else that they already have all your data and the only thing holding them back is the code from your phone number. It's quite common.

$ 0.01
1 year ago