Check Your Tyres Balance And Alignment

9 58
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Tyre, Wheel, Vehicle, Car, Check up, ...

The life of a Tyre is very interesting, it's round, strong and has the sole purpose to roll till its death, and in a vehicle, it's among one of the strongest things which take the pressure off the road and vehicle. Tyres are very strong they take hits from roads, bumps, pebbles, etc. The evolution of tires has also been interesting from wood to rubber, from the tyre with a tube to tubeless tyres. Rubber is a very strong object which can last for decades while still in use. A prime example is a rubber which we used as a child to correct our mistakes written with a pencil know as Eraser. If used properly, one small eraser could easily last for a year, haha.

But what about the vehicle's tyres, how long they can be usable?

I have been driving the car for 4 years, driven a variety of them from sedans, hatchbacks, SUVs, etc. Not much of a bike rider but those experiences are applicable to small vehicles like bikes, cars, and cycles.

It mostly depends on how frequently you drive, where you drive etc. If you just use it to travel 10-20kms daily on a normal plain road then all 4 tyres can last more than 5 years. But if it's mixed with off-roading daily then it may last for 2-3 years.

What About Mine?

I use it for mixed purposes, our Indian roads have the best cracks and holes, lol. And my village road is very bad filled with road stones. I didn't use it daily but whenever I do, the trip is long like above 100kms and there were some months where once I had to travel more than 500 km, though that route consisted of highways mostly.

Simply saying the more the wheels rotate the faster their life decreases. It's simple as that and also depends on how you drive, how you stop your car etc.

Previous Incidence Reference

Recently, I have shared here that I nearly dodged an accident as one of my front tyres blasted in the highway, luckily I was able to control it. That incident woke me to check my tyre condition. I never had any vehicle care experience so in this department I lack many things but with experience I am learning about them. I did check the tyre pressure but didn't bother to check the condition of the tyres.

So after the incident, I immediately went to change the old tires as most of the grip and rubber was damaged of the tyres. And to avoid further accidents. Realized they were a bit costly. The shop where I went had 3 types of tyres ranging from 32$-37$ per piece. The car is a small one so its tyres are cheap compared to other ones. I did check in the service center they shared the price was around 35-40$. Based on their extra charges I opted to replace them outside as it's not engine related and tyres are the same in everywhere. Earlier I had CEAT tyres but I was proposed with JK, GOODYEAR, and APOLLO tyres and I choose the costliest one Apollo as they were the top quality ones. Also, my old tyres were 4 years old, some had punctures some didn't.

I decided to change the front ones first and then in another month the other two as I have less money now and December and January months will eat a lot of money. My parents gave me 70% of the money. I didn't ask them but they insisted and the next two tyres cost have to come from my pocket, lol. As I am the only one driving it and using it whenever I need to so I feel like it's my responsibility to take care of it. Ah, such a liability.

I also choose to do a Wheel Balancing and Alignment check as many people don't do this while changing tyres, I must advise everyone it's a must it doesn't cost much 3$ for my car. It may cost higher depending on the car size. Upon checking it they found a big fault in the front tyre setup, the rod connected to the tyre rim was loose all thanks to the accident which I dodged several days ago. It gave a great toll on the tyre rims which losed the nuts in them. It was immediately solved.

Wheel Balancing - Its meant to check the weight imbalance and wheel assemblies of tyres.

Wheel Alignment - It's meant to align the angle of tyres so that they come in contact with the road the right way whenever you turn your steering wheel of drive.

I must say even if you aren't changing the tyres of a vehicle please do a wheel balancing and alignment check once a year and if possible before big trips to avoid accidents. Also, fill the air and maintain tyre pressure as mentioned. Filling too much or less will easily lessen the tyre's life.

Sponsor Of This Blog:-

Image by Unity, Follow NoiseOdyseeLinkedIn, and an article for more info.

Final Thoughts

I am just giving a heads-up to everyone with vehicles based on my experience. Take check-ups of your vehicle too. As they can't speak in pain or in problem, lol. The prices may differ based on the car and region. And now I feel like driving a new car even though I only changed the rear ones, I can imagine it will lovely to drive it with all new tyres.

Rest, be safe drive, ride carefully and responsibly. Also never travel without one extra spare tyres, you never what's in the road. That extra tyre can at least help you get to the nearest garage if your tyre gets damaged in the trip.

Author Links:-
Noise | Hive | Noise.app | Instagram

11
$ 2.79
$ 1.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @Unity
$ 0.10 from @rezoanulvibes
+ 11
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Tyre, Wheel, Vehicle, Car, Check up, ...

Comments

I have a vehicle that needs repaired. Will be my son's first ride. I hope it doesn't turn into a money pit

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If the engine's fine then it will survive and cost less as I myself love to have old cars in possession and running. I'm sure your son will love it. Vroom vroom, father and son ride coming, yay!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Engine sound, it's a Honda. Needs new battery, alternator, tires, fan motor, and oil leak fixed. Haha a laundry list of things

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That sounds a bit costly but if the engine is VTEC then that would be fun to ride. Honda's vtec engine cars are still wanted by many people here even now. Currently here India only has Honda City and Honda Civic with VTEC engine. The famous phrase with Honda cars is VTEC kicked in Yo!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes there good engines, this car has 150k miles. There are some that are out there with many more miles that are getting along fine without missing a beat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

not much different from the streets in Indonesia bro LoL. I've had punctured tires several times every time I go through bad roads. In addition, I have to immediately replace my motorcycle tires because the compound is very thin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah, the pain in developing countries. Extra money is wasted even though we pay taxes for those roads and services.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not only for change a wheel but repair of car is too much expensive 😬

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hah-a yes, sometimes it can take half or more money than what a normal average monthly wage is!

$ 0.00
1 year ago