5G Trial Service Surprised Me

13 64
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: 5G, Internet, Network, WiFi, Technology, ...

I never thought it would be this early I will be able to use super fast internet speed. It's not even 5 years since I shifted from 2G, 3G, 4G, WIFI, and then at last 5G, it's just four years of me surfing internet, lol.

Nostalgia

If someone would have asked me what's the highest internet speed and data I need in a month 3 years before, I would have replied 100KB/s and 15Mb of data, haha because at that time it was like a rocket with enough fuel to me. I haven't forgotten the days of 2G in which to download a single song I have to put it in the download process at night and check it in the morning when I woke up and in some cases there was still a few hours left for it to get downloaded. Lol, that was some next-level patience I had.

Then times changed and 3G came and in that 1GB per month with the speed of 500KB/s was enough. Then came 4G which advertised superfast internet but failed to deliver as advertised and even 1GB/day wasn't enough here and the highest speed I expected was 1MB/s. And then came 5G out of nowhere.

I was aware that 5G testing has been happening in my country for a few months. But my state wasn't among metro cities so I thought it will take more than 6 months to reach here, but I was wrong. One day out of nowhere I saw that my device has a 5G network, and my reaction was. Is my phone drunk or did it fall heavily on the ground, lol! As soon as I switched on the internet it reversed back to 4G. I thought of it as a glitch. And then the same thing happened to me again.

And this time I searched a bit and saw that 5G testing has been started in our capital city of our state and my city is just at the corner of this city.

So after a bit of research and updating some settings, 5G was showing up on my phone and wasn't vanishing.

Then I realized, wait I haven't recharged nor do I have the budget to do so as the Wifi connection is already eating enough money, haha. So I checked my service provider app and was shocked to see this 5G testing is free with unlimited data, I was like are you kidding me? But my excitement went down as I realized these service providers were never true to their words and I thought max to max it will give 5MB/s of downloading speed.

My Testing Results

And so I tested it and was shocked to see the result, the speed was crazy which I never experienced before, even my WiFi has a maximum downloading speed of 6-7MB/s but here I got 30-40MB/s, and even a 10GB file downloaded in a minute. I tested it further on and was able to get the highest downloading speed of 92MB/s and uploading speed of 2MB/s which is very slow.

True 5G speed is supposed to give 500MB/s to 20Gbps of speed which is unreal to me. But even with 10% efficiency in this Trial service, this speed is crazy for me. The only issue is that 5G doesn't support a calling facility as of now and if someday calls in between it automatically gets switched into the 4G network and eats data, haha.

Final Thoughts

The future is getting shaped by high-speed internet data. Study and work are being more centered on the internet nowadays but we all know how addictive and costly internet is! I just hope our generation doesn't become internet freaks with these super fast internet generation upgrades. I forgot to mention 5G supports seamless watching of 2K videos on YouTube.

But eats data like crazy also, since it's free and unlimited I can use it freely. But this free testing by Reliance Jio in my point of view is to make us addicted to 5G so that next time we buy it ourselves and get used to it. As of now I am very satisfied with the Wi-Fi connection, it's enough for family use and I won't fall into this 5G trap, haha.

Author Links:-

Noise | Instagram

13
$ 0.87
$ 0.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.08 from @Porwest
+ 6
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: 5G, Internet, Network, WiFi, Technology, ...

Comments

4G connection is very perfect in my location, that's what I am using now. If I have any reason to move over to 5G, then I will. But for now, it's 4G

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My 4G has great call quality but the internet speed is slow since 5G is free in trial I am using it and I am also satisfied with my current 4G as the prices are not that high.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With 5G free, students will be more glued to social media.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Surely, free internet has more disadvantages than advantages.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow I wanted too. 😯 My phone is only 4G my friend. My partner looking some phone also that is 5G already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The data speed is fast but it gets dried up like crazy. Go for it if you actually need it otherwise 4G is still pretty good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah okay my friend. Yes 4G is good especially if you are living in the city.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even though in my country there is already a 5G network and cellphones that are supported by that network, I prefer the 4G network for now. because the 4G network is currently uneven for network stability. I had to experience some network loss for a while with the cheapest provider hahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same with me, whether it's 5G or 4G the occasional network loss is there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am using only 4G, and honestly, I have no idea with the differences between them. Glad you're here to explain things! 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The internet speed difference is the real deal between 5G and 4G.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am using 4G in my data connection but sometimes the connection is so frustrating. In the Philippines we have a very slow internet connection.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's the same for everyone unless one lives in the city I think.

$ 0.00
1 year ago