5G Network Testing Started, Is It Necessary

13 59
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Are you satisfied with your 4G Network connection provided by the network service providers? Is the internet fast enough to be called 4G? In my place, no. The only time tries 4G speed is achieved here is at night time when everyone is sleeping and that is for 1-2 hours.

Recently in India, the government has approved 5G Spectrum auctions. The auction is said to be held on 26th July 2022. And most leading Telecom companies have already set their ground in 5G in some selected states already like Reliance Jio and Airtel. It's said that this 5G service will be 10 times faster than 4G.

But, I am not against it in fact I am very happy to hear this news. But the fact that the 4G service currently running is very slow for a 4G network, I feel like this time also true 5G speed of 10Gbps will be for name sake only. But at the same time, I think it is necessary to adopt this technology for future, haha confused.

But first keep in mind these technical terms which I will be using further on in the post to calculate data.

1 MB ( Megabytes ) = 8 Mb ( Megabits )

Usually, Internet connection speeds are measured by Mbps (Megabits per Second).

And so if you have 1Mbps connection then you will need 8 seconds to download a 1MB file while if you have 8Mbps connection , 1MB file can be downloaded in 1 sec.

The true 4G speed is around 100mbps ( megabits per second ) and the advanced 4G can give up to 350mbs. I'm calculating it with download speed. But mostly in downloading, I get around 10-20mbps of constant speed. So the efficiency is basically 10-20% of what it should be. Instead of moving on to 5G, I wished the 4G connection should have been improved even if 50% efficiency is acceptable and as 5G is advanced and fast it will be costly also.

And this is the true efficiency of 4G speed I get mostly. It's night time and the networks are loaded mostly this time.

Do you know it took us almost 40 years to go from 1G-5G while Japan already is doing a 6G trial, pretty commendable feat.

History Of Network

1G:- Around the 80s decade voice call feature was started among inter-state, roaming or international call was not supported.

2G:- In the 90s decade, the analog signals were converted into digital signals and the feature of MMS Multimedia Messaging Service started.

3G:- In the 20s decade, 3G came and changed the internet world as the speed was 5 times faster than 2G, along with E-mail, Maps and Video Call features. Possibly connecting the whole world.

4G:- This came in the year 2010 and brought the internet revolution to many countries like India. The fast data, the quality of calls everything improved greatly.

5G:- Don't know the exact year but some countries like USA and China already have this super-fast Network connectivity which is supposed to give a speed of around 10-20 Gbps ( Gigabits per second ).

6G:- It's estimated that in this network the data transmission will be 100k times faster than 5G. That would be way too fast. Japan has already started its testing.

Clearly, if 5G comes it will change the whole environment of working. Everything will be faster. Even, to me, a constant 100mbps of speed feels very fast which I rarely get, lol. And the 5G claims internet speed greater than 1Gbps.

I am happy to see my country developing at a great rate in the data transmission sector. But as I said earlier we should finish our first dish first then go for the next one. As 5G will be very costly and faster data means more fast consumption of data. I think if I get a true 4G claimed speed of constant 100-150mbps. I will be satisfied with this speed. As earlier in 3G it was taking a week to finish 1GB of data but now even 3-5GB of 4G data isn't enough for me. It's just that the data rates are high. Even a whole day of surfing can easily eat 1GB of data in a mobile phone, which I have personally tested a lot of times. While 3G maybe be slow but it ate around 300-400MB of data only.

So I guess faster data, will have a higher data rate.

Final Thoughts

Sadly only 13 Indian cities were selected for 5G testing named Ahmedabad, Gandhinagar, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chandigarh, Gurugram, Hyderabad, Jamnagar, Kolkata, Chennai, Lucknow, Pune And Delhi. And my city Ranchi ain't registered. I would have loved to test this costly Network and put insane views to their testing, lol. We should focus more on the efficiency of what we have first then shift to new tech. As even for Algebra we need to learn ABCD, heh-e!

So, let me know how much speed you are getting in your 3G & 4G connection in your place?

And regarding raiditions in 5G it's not harmful for us but can't say about the birds, because humans are greedy and will prove anything which will profit or give growth to them in certain sector.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Telegram

21
$ 2.57
$ 1.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 15
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Still now don't get 3G speed so I don't think it will get chance to see 5G speed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's bad, I hope Network facility improves at your place.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are still 4G in my city, but there are 5G networks existing in some cities of the Philippines particularly in NCR. Anyways, 5G is really fast and will be spread soon in your whole country.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, Phillipines is developing at a great rate. Here, the testings haven't been started.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very good network development, maybe in my country will also soon follow switching to 5G network because now 5G network-based phones have started circulating.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a good start.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I shall say it revolution brother. With time passage we should move towards modern technology because it is need of the day. Congrats for 5G network and I am hopeful 4G network in your area will also improve a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The internet service in our area is worse than anywhere else. And we are just bearing it but but not enjoying it.. Another condemn able thing is when power supply gets turned off the signal 📶 lost issue occurs after 15 minutes of power supply interruption.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's very bad. Have bad Network connection is worse than a connection as many times it just frustrates us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We didn't get full coverage and speed of 4G still but I think for more then 90% internet users are happy with even full strength 3G . Then 4G is bonus but 5G is something supersonic. I can't imagine!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, based on previous Network experiences is good but they shouldn't claim what they can't provide.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh this doesn't just happen in my country! Well, my friend, the same thing here. You pay for a high-speed internet service and it does not reach the real speed, only they raise it by name without effectiveness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

in my point of view, I think so it's necessary because due to the advancement in the world now I think so we need 5g.. hope so this technology comes to our country

$ 0.00
1 year ago