Saying "Good Morning" to a Stanger or Neighbor

11 110
Avatar for TheDINO
3 years ago

An observation from Gen X POV

I usually go for my morning workout at the park at 7am - a time when the sun is just coming up and people are jogging, walking dogs or just getting outside to get some fresh air.

I want to set the proper tone here - at this time in the morning there is less traffic of all types (cyclists, pedestrians, etc) - Therefore when you pass a person, you are likely to make eye contact or have some type of interaction vs a typical "busy" time when the park is packed.

I'm an 80's Kid (I get that we all grew up differently) - but I was TOTALLY in trouble if I did not "speak" to other humans or acknowledge their presence - Especially in the Morning. I was raised to say "Good Morning" or similar salutation when coming across another individual first thing in the morning.

Obviously as I write this post - this is a practice I still do to this day (pre- Covid breath, ha). It is nice to start my day off in a positive manner and I enjoy saying "hello" to my fellow humans.

I have 2 observations and would like to know your thoughts as well

First one is - people in certain demographic regions (think "NYC Manhattan vs. San Antonio TX ) have Totally different reactions to strangers addressing them.

I learned this the first time I drove from California to New York (United States). Seriously, just getting gas was vastly different as I drove from a West Coast City - Through the South - to an East Coast City.

I do think a certain level of general "friendly hospitality" does exist in smaller/rural areas, I mean - you PROBABLY know that person (or their Mom, cousin, etc) And in a Major City it's just not practical to yell "GOOD MORNING" to 1000 people on the street.

I usually say "Good Morning/Hi" when there is light traffic and I make eye contact with another human.

Is this an "Old School" Habit? (hmmm)

Second - I live in a populated city made up of various demographics -

Is "No Eye Contact" a new (younger adult) thing?

Most - again I know this changes depending on Where you are and Who you are dealing with - people I encounter in their 20s don't even make eye contact. Usually eyes are on a phone/device or "straight stare" with no peripheral interference .

Usually the park has everything from "hard core" athletes to "Moms with strollers" and everything in between so it's a decent case study environment

I get it - We ALL have crap on our minds and NOBODY Owes me a "Hello" LMAO

My personal thought though is - I'm not going to look RIGHT at a person and not acknowledge them - it seems so... Rude

Is my thinking typical Gen X?

I Love seeing the faces of my fellow neighbors and usually a quick "Good Morning" is met with the same or better yet - a BIG SMILE - #WORTHit

Either way, I hate that communication is so impersonal and I wish people would consider reinstating basic human manners - I don't communicate only via Emoji

Thanks for the look and I'll end with -

"Hi :) Have a Wonderful Day"

Thank you for the Photos

https://www.pexels.com/@fecundap6

https://www.pexels.com/@ece-ak-1635690

18
$ 0.20
$ 0.10 from @ambar3939
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.05 from @sam786
Avatar for TheDINO
3 years ago

Comments

very nice artcle

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very good article my dear friend. Back me please

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good morning. Have a beautiful day 🤗

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Please, Subscribe me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am raised with greeting, being polite too. Same with introducing yourself after you moved to the neighbors and inviting them. I saw the world change already in the 80s and 90s and not in big cities only. To be honest I think people over there are more open, easier chat with stranger. I noticed how people look at you if you greet as if you intend to rob or kill them. It will only get worse. The handshakes are gone, the kissing, tap on the shoulder... Although we can easily chat with help of WhatsApp we can't find the time and the other hand everyone is complaining (though no one invests) people change, have no time,aren't greeting.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Crazy how the seemingly "little things" change how we interact on this planet, SMH - too bad saying "hello" isn't cool anymore :-/

Anyway - "Good Morning" @wakeupkitty :) Have a Great Day!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good morning to you too. It's not only not cool but not safe either. Same with smiling at someone or singing outside when you walk or bicycle. I wish you a great day.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

truth

pick your times to say "hi" or "don't make eye contact" lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago