Trying to analyze my sleeping pattern with Apple watch and Pillow!

4 36
Avatar for TheCryptoGambler
2 years ago

I did get a Apple watch from my wife in the beginning of December. Wasn't so sure if I would like it or experience the benefits from it. But I was wrong, I does make you more aware of your condition, health but also about your sleep!

There are plenty of app which does try to track your sleeping pattern and does try to analyse it. And I am amazed how well they do their job.

I decided to try out Pillow, and quickly purchased the full edition to get more metrics.

Their conclusion!

To be honest, I knew this already. I go late to bed and wake up pretty early. I also just can't sleep out. Even in the weekends when nothing is in the agenda I am awake early and just want to get out of bed!

If you do have a look at my optimal bed time, proposed by the Pillow app, one doesn't have to be a genius to connect the dots!

Daily Analysis

Each morning I do get an overview of my sleeping time, quality of sleep and other metrics!

The basic overview looks like this!

Great that I didn't have any awake time. Looks also like a regular night when I do look at the light and REM sleep, but a high amount of deep sleep. But this has been the case since I am monitoring my sleep pattern.

Not only it does measure my sleep but also does keep track of my heart rhythm.

While the average heart rate is okay for my age, the trend isn't exactly great. One does expect a decreasing heart rate until the lowest point and after that a slow increase so that it is around normal rate when you do wake up. This maybe is an indication that I don't sleep enough.

Also crazy that they do try to measure your blood oxygen level. This could be better, and I do expect an increase here when I do stop smoking on the second of January!

Trends!

What I do find more interesting is the trend based on longer periods. Due to the fact that I don't have the app and my watch so long, at the moment it does only cover a little bit more than 2 weeks.

It mostly does look consistent, which doesn't mean it is good or bad. I did know that I don't need a lot of sleep, but on average 5hrs 53 min is maybe too low. Surprised that my sleep quality is also pretty consistent. Still have to find a way to get it too 100% at least once.

Also good to know that it also does track naps. As you can see on the fifth!

Had to get used to wear a watch again and for sure during the nights, but I got quickly used to this again!

For a number cruncher like me this is a great app! I don't know scientifically proven all those metrics are, but they do give you some insight in your sleeping pattern, quality and duration. No regrets that I did install the app!

When you do have an apple watch, I can highly recommend Pillow! Just start with the free version, which will show you some basis metrics, good enough to start with. It is up to you if you do want to purchase the full version of the app.

Cheers,
Peter

5
$ 6.59
$ 6.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @anli
$ 0.02 from @Talon
Sponsors of TheCryptoGambler
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheCryptoGambler
2 years ago

Comments

Haha hilarious! We are very different sleepers. I sleep 8hrs38 on average and my average heart rate when I sleep is like 55bpm haha, I am comatose when I am asleep

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A little bit jealous on that! Do need a nap from time to time. Most of the time on Sunday :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha sometimes I wonder if I sleep too much...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

8 hrs is normal!

$ 0.00
2 years ago