Life as a Boarder

4 28
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

January 15th, 2022.

A friend of mine visited me today, we had been friends ever since we attended the same boarding house. It brought back old memories.

Life in boarding school was so interesting because we had to learn a lot of things there. Every student should have good behaviour and show respect to every single person. We also keep to wake up early and go to sleep late. It was really hard for me because I lived in a home where I can wake up late.

But when I moved to the boarding school, my life changed completely. I had to get up early every day when the first bell rings. After the first bell, I went straightaway to my closet and picked up my uniform, normally a white shirt and black pants. I also put on my shoes so I can wear them without socks. After that, I went downstairs from my dormitory and headed directly to the dining hall.

The dining hall was where you eat your breakfast and lunch every day. You can meet new friends here too. After eating my breakfast or lunch, I trained with my team or I practised by myself.

Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty

When I was in boardng school, it was such a great life. I learnt how to be independent there. I never had to worry about calling for my parent's help because they are not so close by.

I also learnt how to be responsible for myself as I was a boarder from J.s.s.1 and I had to do some chores and take care of myself.

In boarding school, it was such a great life. I learnt how to be independent there. I learnt how to manage my time, respect other people and myself, how to lead a group, how to eat healthy, exercise, etc… It was all about the learning of what success is. This has taught me a lot.

Initially, I didn't want to go to boarding school, but now that I look back. I can see that it was a great decision for me to go there because,e in boarding school, I learnt a lot about how to survive with money and also how to stand on my own feet because at that time we stay with strangers.

My life at boarding school was awesome! I lived a good life. It was such a great time for me. I met so many good friends there. It was a place where one can learn to be independent too. It’s a place where you learn how to share everything with others because you have to share your food, room, clothes and even friends. Since you live in a dormitory, you have to look after your own mess and washing. I wasn’t so good at that but I learnt it as time went by.

Besides that, every day after school ended, we used to go to games, like football, volleyball and basketball. I wasn't too good with sports but had no choice. It's a time to link up with my friends.

Apart from that, our school used to have this annual event called the Sports Meet. The day before our Sports Meet began, everyone in the school looked so excited waiting for the next day. And when the D-day arrives, we get so excited and have great fun in our meet.

I didn’t understand why I was going to school in a different city, I was really sad and scared. I was only 10 years old and was coming from a family, where my parents and siblings were the only families I knew.

I was friends with a my friend that visited me today in school. We had our ups and downs, but we bonded together properly.

The boarding house is a place to learn. I wonder why today we hear news of students maltreatment their fellow students in school. In those days cultist was limited but it's a rampant phenomenon this day.

My wish is that we go back to the old ways of living, where parents can send their children to boarding houses to groom them and make them self-dependent.

11
$ 4.42
$ 4.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Greatwolfman
+ 5
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

when I entered college, I wet to a university far from home so I have no choice but to live in a boarding house. It's not that similar to you that we have a bell to wake us up or someone who will teach us chores. In my case I already knew house works since my parents taught me so it's easier for me to live apart from them in terms of household chores. But a lot of adjustments were made as I have to endure being alone and the feeling of just relying on myself, but I learned how to be independent and I gained real friends as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't experienced a border life until I got to high school. Ever since then, I was able to stand on my own, gather enough experience and all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My fellow Nigerian... I could tell when you used "has" lol... I also went to boarding school... A mixture of great and terrible...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always wanted to stay in the hostel by parents were too overprotective, it must have been a really nice experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago