Hypothetical: What if I asked you to do...

11 43
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Monday, 9th August

Good day everyone, how are y'all doing today? I trust that you're having a splendid day as am I. I'm going to do something different today so, instead of sharing an experience with y'all, I'm going to test out an experiment and I want you all to participate by leaving your comments down below. I really look forward to what y'all have to say. I'm so excited even.

Before I begin I would like to introduce you guys to my wonderful sponsors here on read.cash. @HappyBoy and @adereign

Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty

Lovely sponsors aren't they? I know right!! They are just the coolest, most wonderful sponsors ever and I'm so grateful for their sponsorship. I can't tell you enough how much that means to me.

Also, I want to say a big Thank you to my fervent readers and upvoters!! To mention but a few, in no particular order @tired_momma @HappyBoy @FarmGirl @King_Gozie @George_Dee I'm so grateful to you all and I can't thank you enough.

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

That being said, I'm sure y'all are curious to know about this experiment so let's get back to it, shall we?

Question 1: What if I asked you to do... one little thing? It's something that you're uniquely qualified to do. It's something that's meaningless to you, but it could profoundly affect someone else. Would you do it?

Photo Credit- unsplash.com

What's going through your minds right now?? I'm sure you must have questions, which is absolutely an adequate response and you must want more information, right?

Well, I got the idea to ask this question from a movie I watched yesterday, "The Commuter"

Photo Credit - google.com

I don't want to dwell too much on the movie so I'm just going to give a succinct summary to proffer better context.

"Michael MacCauley is abruptly laid off from his job, endangering his family's financial security. Waiting to reveal his dismissal to his wife and son, he instead confides in Murphy, his ex-partner still on the police force. On the train home, Michael meets a mysterious married woman, Joanna, who proposes a "hypothetical situation" - adapted from Wikipedia.

Photo Credit- google.com

Back to question 1, I'm sure the first thing that crosses your mind would be, "What kind of thing?" And I'll answer that question with this...

Question 2: Does it matter?

Hmm... now I don't know about you but this situation has my interest piqued. How would you react? Because I'm thinking that this request even if it's meaningless to you, still isn't a small feat. I reckon you must think that it actually does matter, right? Okay then, let me now reassure you, not with a question though and I tell you...

And you would never know the consequences of what you did.

Would that make you feel better? Would that help you make peace with the fact that you may or may not do something so meaningless to you but would profoundly affect someone else? Would it help you even consider doing it regardless? Or would it leave you with this nagging question, "Then, why would I do it?"

To answer your nagging question, I'll say...

Because there would be a $100,000 reward.

Photo Credit- google.com

Now! If that doesn't get your attention then I don't know what will. Like, that's the catch.

So, I ask again, would you do it?

For real, what's going through your mind right now? If you have thoughts on this situation and you'll like to share them, please drop your comments below. Thank you for indulging the hypothetical situation.

A/N: Well, this isn't usually my usual kind of writeup, not that I've written a lot on this platform to begin with. I just wanted to spice things up a bit. I hope that you participate in this "hypothetical situation" by dropping your comments below. I really enjoyed writing this piece and there'll be more like it soon to come.

>>Good day everyone, I'm glad to have the opportunity to share my writeup here as always. This is one of many amazing writeups I'm going to be sharing and I'm just so excitedly ecstatic. I'm Grateful literally and figuratively.

Looking forward to your comments. Please endeavour to subscribe and upvote. Also, I want to take this time to appreciate my sponsors again for the sponsorship. Thank you all so much and I trust you have a great day. I love you all.

The.Ada signing out!

10
$ 0.51
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.08 from @King_Gozie
+ 7
Sponsors of The.Ada
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for The.Ada
2 years ago

Comments

I love Liam Neeson films I only watch this recently. I will surely help as long as I can and as long as I know I'm not putting myself at risk. I don't wanna go prison lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If it is all about helping others without harming anyone in the process, then I'd go for it to the best of my ability.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah! That's really cool

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Even without reading the rest, I would answer YES to your first question. My old man somehow instilled in us to help in any way we can regardless of who was asking for it as long as it's legal😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah alright! As long as it is legal. I like that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe yes, you wouldn't want to be helping someone to do something that is against any law :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah alright! As long as it is legal. I like that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its reasonable to think first before acting, else one may regret taking some steps. Most importantly if the action may affect other people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I know right. Thanks for commenting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I need to know the consequences of the action I'm taking. Will it affect the other party positively or negatively. Though having money attached to it makes it tempting but i will still stand on getting to know the result or probable result.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right! I understand. Thanks for participating

$ 0.00
2 years ago