You are a chemist and you don't even know it

15 56
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

If you have read any of my previous articles, you may well be thinking what on earth is the numpty upto now ! Well there is method in my madness I promise you.

Okay why the Headline, well I was in the kitchen and about to cook dinner and then I had an Eureka moment. I suddenly knew what to write about similarities.

This article is the third in writing prompt series by @JonicaBradley and the theme for this one is 3. Similarities

Please read her wonderful article here if you haven't done so already.

If you haven't joined it, I urge you to do so, it has been really great reading so many different articles with the same prompts.

I was almost tempted to write this article about two sets of football fans from Glasgow in Scotland. Rangers my team and the other team Celtic. The only thing they have in similar is they play football in Scotland. However, that will be a subject for another day. In the meantime let's go back to my Eureka moment.

I don't know anything about Chemistry you might be thinking.

Well I do, I have a degree in Chemical Engineering. However let's jump on our Time Machine and go back a few years.

Dr Who Tardis - Time Machine https://pixabay.com/photos/tardis-dr-who-doctor-who-1816598/

When I was 11 my father took a job in the Orkney Islands (which are situated off the North of Scotland. This meant my parents and my other siblings would live up there for a year and I would stay at school in Edinburgh but become a boarder. Fair enough I thought, only for a year and had just started Secondary School so I knew lots of people. The school year came and I got in a little plane and flew down to Edinburgh and spent the next three months at boarding school.

Guess what ! I loved it.

In fact I loved it so much it gave me a taste of Freedom. Well Freedom from my family anyway, and a chance to find me. It actually could have been a topic for an article for the writing prompt 2. Freedom (if you missed mine, here it is). I loved the fact I could play cricket or football after school.

But, there is always a but isn't there!

The food was rotten, and I mean leave it on your plate rotten. At school we were used to having rotten school lunches, but now we had rotten school dinners as well. Double nightmare, I was not happy. My school work was starting to suffer and even in my favourite subject Chemistry, my grades started to slide in this subject.

I loved Chemistry and even got given a home Chemistry set as a Christmas present one year. Now I am male, so what does that mean? Yes, by default we don't read instructions, so there I was in my bedroom with this magical Chemistry set, full of all kinds of test tubes and beakers and liquids and elements. Well what did I do, I started to throw things in beakers and pour things in to test-tubes. What amazing results I got, smells pleasant and some not so pleasant, and the colours were awesome. I was hooked, I was making my own chemical recipes without even knowing it. Although at school, I did listen to the teacher and followed the directions. Still got cool results though.

https://pixabay.com/illustrations/professions-chemist-experiments-2065191/

Meanwhile at the school boarding house, we had a housekeeper called Mr Evans and his wife called Ma Evans. Ma Evans really was a sweetie and would fret about her boys not eating properly as many of us kids eased their hunger by eating sweets and candy and crisps galore. One day in the shop, I saw a special offer and so decided to buy a little loaf of bread and a small block of orange Cheddar cheese. I then started to make toast and cheese every night for myself. It was awesome and I was no longer hungry. One day I got some eggs and boiled them. Ya beauty I know had eggs and toast in my repertoire. Before long Ma Evans caught me cooking one night. I thought I was for the high jump but after explaining what I was doing and what I was doing it, she then showed me how to make omelets. Oh, now I was cooking by gas! I was hooked and making cheese omelets, mushroom omelets any kind of omelets I could find an ingredient for. Quickly my cooking progressed and I ended making things for other kids, macaroni cheese, mince and tatties even. I was making all sorts of things and making a tidy little profit as well.

Life was good. I was fed well and my grades went back up. I soon learnt that my best cooking was yes throwing things together. The other kids loved it and I often spent a Sunday cooking preordered meals and having a blast listening to music whilst doing it. I made variations of all sorts of things. I am a speed reader and would read a recipe and then do my own variation of it. It was just like Chemistry all over again, except I could eat well now, no more rotten meals.

So my recipes were ingredients and I was making a chemical formula, I was being a Chemist and I didn't even know it.

Now my wonderful reader, first of all many thanks for reading this and secondly have you ever cooked something? Yes I hear you answer, of course I have. Well in that case you are a Chemist too, and you didn't even know it.

So there we have it in a nutshell. In my opinion chemistry and cooking are very similar and this is my article on the writing prompt Similarities.

A chicken and chorizo throw it all concoction from last night on Sticky rice.

If you would like to participate in these for fun prompts then:

  • Write about motivation

  • Write 100% original content

  • Write at least 600 words

  • Tag me @TengoLoTodo and the creator @JonicaBradley

  • Have fun

Thank you for reading.

Copyright @TengoLoTodo   2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images and words are from the author unless source mentioned.

Haste ye back.

6
$ 7.22
$ 6.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JonicaBradley
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 3
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

I always think of my cooking as painting with flavors. My pallet is my, um, well, my pallet. And the ingredients my paints.

My baby brother, also a chemical engineer, btw, is married to a woman who has a bunch of food issues. So, he cooks. Replacing gluten filled recipes with non gluten flours, and even taking the time to explain to me, who cared not a whit, why he had to add whatever to the whatever to make the thing do the appropriate thing because he replaced the whozits with the whatsit. Then followed lots of math.

You should know, despite having been a math instructor ( for adults and only to the 7th grade level - anything more than fractions and decimals and needing a fancy calculator and I'm lost), math tends to get in the way of my paintbrush. I will cede you the point, that, yes, food is chemistry.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

ohhh😯 I love cooking too, but cooking doesn't..lol😅But, trying so hard to do it eventually.

Experimenting is not bad, it will really give you much experience of exploring new things..☺️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe keep trying and you will be a cook cook soon. Yes it is always fun to explore new things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoping for that.😌 Especially if I became a wife someday, I want to cook for my future husband.. lol😅 I need to be a good cook for him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe why not have a husband who cooks for you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hihi😅 Maybe soon..😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Speaking of Chemistry as a subject, I hated it lol. When it comes to cooking, I can be your bestie :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

A cook bestie is fine with me Mrs P, enjoy your weekend and I hope you are feeling better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're so right. Chemistry and cooking are quite similar. Only that I don't like chemistry too much, but I like cooking. Especially when I don't do it out of duty.
And I like it better if I don't follow any recipe, that's how I enjoy it the most.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly , what recipe 😂, just throw it all together and make a masterpiece

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Throw everything and make your own masterpiece. I'm not good at cooking viands but I like baking better. BTW I like science did a pretty good job at my chemistry and physics subject. Don't know why I end up being a CPA hahaha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You are a baker and I see you being an experimental scientist trying out things 😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate science and I don't know how to cook.😑

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh no, don't worry you will cook soon , it is easy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only know how to fry eggs.😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago