Writing Prompt #3: Similarities

24 119
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

In this day and age, our world seems divided. Left vs right, dark vs light, nation vs nation, tribe vs tribe, everything vs everything else.

I have found, in my travels to other countries, in my conversations with people from other cultures, even in eating different types of ethnic food that there are far more similarities than differences.

MyNun and I are pictured here. This was my sleeping area in the temple in Laos. We did not speak the same language, but we found many similarities to each other. People said we were starting to look alike.

World leaders and media entertainment outlets, including social media platforms, strive to further the divide between peoples and opinions.

There's been a lot in the news and in financial circles about the differences, and the similarities, between Bitcoin and other digital tokens and currency.

The media has done much toward underlining the difference between traditional investing and crypto investing. And there are a lot of differences. But there are MORE similarities.

I could highlight the divides between religious communities and even within reach religion. But I don't want to do that.

Instead, I want to highlight our similarities.

We all bleed the same color. We all feel the same emotions. We all have the same intrinsic needs.

We all have families, whether birth families or found families, whom we love and hate and celebrate and fight with.

My friend, Sai, and her 125-year-old mother. Taken November 2018 in Savannakhet, Laos

We all need food and shelter, clean water, and something to keep us occupied whether for fun or for money.

For this week's writing prompt #3: similarities, I want you to think of all the things we have in common with each other.

Let's focus on the things we share rather than the things that separate us from each other.

The rules are as follows:

  1. Write anything about similarities

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun

These writing prompts are for YOU. They will be here forever. You may write them for however long you like. There is no time limit. You can even write about the same one more than once. It would be best not to have the same title, though.

I apologize for the lateness of this prompt. And for its brevity. It's what I've got for now.

Oh. One last thing. Feel free to write in your own language if you feel more comfortable doing so.

Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty

Lead image: Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Image 2 Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

28
$ 4.12
$ 2.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Glez
+ 13
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

The photo with her friend sitting on the floor, made me pause for a moment.

I thought it was a mirror, yes they look alike.

I like theme 3 of the initiative, look for simitides, we focus so much on being different and distinct that we get away from what unites us. Thanks for the writing idea.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Done reading one of your prompt series. I'll make one. Hope you'll read it. Thanks!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I try to read them all. This series has exploded quite a bit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup! Done my prompt. 😙

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sweet. I'll go read it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so so much! 😁😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll try this challenge asap. Hehe. Thanks for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this. I will join for sure and I hope you're feeling better 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am. A little better every day. Still a bit tired, but no more headaches. I'll be well for several months. And then the allergy monster will get me again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the idea of writing about similarities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember a video I watched before. It says, "We are one..."

I'll be joining this as well!

Thank you for the effort Prof! Lab yu!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lab you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeeeeey another writing prompt! I'm glad you're now able to publish an article. Can't wait to make my entry on this.

By the way, I think you're forgetting about the "Write 100% original content" in your rules. It's quite important :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you! I knew I was forgetting one. I'm just glad I was able to get that one out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm working on my entry now. I hope I finished it before I get sleepy hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to try this prompt this time.... Thank you for this prompt of yours it gives me ideas what to write

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seen one who accepted this prompt challenge. I will try to make my own entry before this week ends. Thanks a lot for the challenge, and I hope you are feeling better now. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will participate in this as this is a way to get us thinking and busy in this platform.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am thinking to participate on this..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice topic.. Let's see what I can write from here. Hey you didn't read my motivation article 😥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was too busy sleeping! I'm try to get to it today. O feel good now, but I don't know how I'll feel after I do some chores. It's so weird. I don't feel sick. I'm just super duper tired.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. At number 5, you forgot to tag some people... It happens to all of us. 😁. This is a nice prompt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the new prompt. It will make me appreciate things for it requires to see similarities instead of differences. I will try it soon. Again thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is another interesting topic to write although i tend to see differences in things and compare which is kind of bad in me sometimes.

And yes we all bleed the same color of blood so what makes any difference between a rich and a poor, black or white? pretty much similar.

I was already tag by @Viktor105 and I'm participating this challenge. Thanks.

$ 0.05
2 years ago