Why? Why? Why? It's 42 of course!

29 51
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

This article is the fifth in the writing prompt series by @JonicaBradley and the theme for this one is Writing Prompt #5: Questions

Please read her wonderful article here if you haven't done so already.

If you haven't joined it, I urge you to do so, it has been really great reading so many different articles with the same prompts.

So questions is our prompt, now that could well be a long list in my humble opinion, but I will do a twist to this prompt. Right then, let's go on a wee journey. Are you ready readers? Then let me get my cup of coffee and I shall begin.

My initial thoughts

The initial thoughts running through my wee pea brain are two fold. Firstly, why did I write and publish writing prompt #5 when I have not published writing prompt #4? Here we go questioning myself already, the answer though is because I can. My mother used to say Edward, you CAN do anything if you put your mind to it. Secondly, I think that the older I have become the less I question things in general.

Do you remember as a child you asked a gazillion questions?

Take me, for example:

Mother: Go tidy your room Edward

Me: Why?

Mother: Because I said so

Me: Why?

Mother: Wait until your father gets home

Me : Why?

Mother: He will give you six of the best

Me: I am going (stamps feet in a huff and vanishes)

https://pixabay.com/photos/beach-coast-child-silhouette-sea-1525755/

Or on the holiday car trips to visit my grandparents:

Me: Are we there yet?

Father: No

Me: Are we there yet?

Father: No

Me: I need a wee wee!

Father: Nearly there

Me: Are we there yet?

Father and Mother: Almost there

Me: I need a jobbie!

Mother: Watch your language

Me: Why?

I could go on and on and I am sure you are now recalling childhood questions that you asked!

So a huge part of our learning and growing is by questioning.

I have never been a fan of the What If.

The event has passed, so why dwell on it? I am sure most of us have done some things in life which upon reflection we might have done them differently given a second chance. But this is called life, mistakes are only mistakes if we don't learn from them.

I have been fortunate enough to have done many things in my life and overall I doubt I would change much of what I have done or seen.

Now I am rambling, time to have a sip of coffee. So enough of the veering off on a tangent and back to the question in hand (get it question on questions 😂)

Let me give you a round of applause for getting this far, writing here is fun, and it is awesome getting feedback from my wonderful readers.

Do you remember the title of this article?

Hmmm probably not!

No problem here it is again : Why? Why? Why? It's 42 of course!

Have you made a connection yet with 42? Yes, No, maybe?

One day Arthur Dent discovered that Earth is actually a giant supercomputer, created by another supercomputer called Deep Thought. You can see that I have given this writing prompt some Deep Thought 😁

Now then, Deep Thought was built by its creators to give the answer to the "Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything". After eons and eons of calculations the answer was found!

The answer to the "Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything" is 42.

That is awesome, but what is the question?

Deep Thought was then instructed to design the Earth supercomputer to determine what the Question actually is. However Earth was destroyed by the Vogons just before Deep Thought had finished its calculations. So we don't actually know the question, but we do know the answer is 42.

Of course, this is all from The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams written in 1979.

It does get you thinking though. I mean how often do you actually have something or a solution floating around your head and you don't know why!

Is 42 really the answer? Here are some bits of proof!

42 is the number of galactic years that the Sun-Earth system will survive before it’s destroyed.

Rainbows always emerge offset at an angle of 42° relative to the light source that creates them.

The world’s first printed book (The Gutenberg Bible) has 42 lines per page.

In Egyptian mythology, there are 42 questions asked of persons making their journey through Death.

But surely the biggest proof of all .....

https://pixabay.com/illustrations/harry-potter-harry-hogwarts-3670411/

On page 42 of Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone, Harry discovers he is a wizard.

I rest my case!

Whilst this might appear to be a flippant article in response to the writing prompt Questions, I believe we all need to smile every so often. I do not wish to belittle anyone who has writing deep soul searching articles.

I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it.

If you would like to participate in these for fun prompts then:

  • Write about Questions

  • Write 100% original content

  • Write at least 600 words

  • Tag me @TengoLoTodo and the creator @JonicaBradley

  • Have fun

Thank you for reading.

My previous Writing Prompt Articles:

#4 Not published yet .... see above for details.

#3 Similarities

#2 Motivation

#1 Freedom

Copyright @TengoLoTodo 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images and words are from the author unless source mentioned.

Haste ye back.

8
$ 2.52
$ 2.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @emily2u
+ 4
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Not sure I followed any of this, but well done for writing nonetheless Ed.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh dear sorry you didn't follow, seems my other non native English speakers did, well nevertheless thanks for visiting and commenting it is appreciated by me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Giggling is good for the soul and I hope you scratched your head 42 times

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nth time revisiting your writeup uncle ed.. and I'm still a mix of scratching my head and giggling.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I wrote my 2nd piece on Questions today... I never knew about the 42. Interesting. I'll look out for this 42-thingy next time!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh I need to go read it, yes it is quite a thing, mathematicians love to explore 42 now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I have to search for page 42 of Harry Potter's book. Why oh why? So. Many why's so many questions and some of those don't have to be validated by an answer. Like why you love somebody? There's no particular answer to that. You just feel the love and you yourself can't even explain it. As for the 42 the question about 42 can be found already on the answer so there's really no questions. The answer validates it already. Now I'm more confuse with my ramblings on this comment 😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Not to mention your ramblings have confused me too haha. What is 50 minus 8, see you know answer na!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm still finding my 42 LOL

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hehe but have you decided the question apart from Why

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm its more on how not why anymore 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aha the how ,hmmm so many how questions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep i find the how questions easier to deal with than the why 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know funnily enough in Scotland we often say How when meaning Why. How weird well I am happy you can answer how easier 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course not that easy... But its better than why lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why not easy haha, thank you again for your sponsorship and have a magical weekend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know not all how are easy just like why guess that's why I'm still looking for 42 😂... Don't mention it ... You did sponsor me too during the time that I still do not know what I'm writing lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha you will find your 42 and you knew how to write lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that's some boggling things to stir up the mind this early! So what's with the number 42? Would be interesting to know lol!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe the answer to everything , although Douglas Adams admitted there was no significance in choosing 42

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting! Could have been a random number but maybe not :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

So many people have theories about what it is

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tempts me to ask Google's assistance but I think there's no need :) Let it be lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha plenty of stuff in Google on 42 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can only imagine haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read the article a few minutes ago and went for a coffee before leaving you a comment. But I'm still looking for my 42 🤣🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Your 42 is there , but what is the question 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why? of course 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha very clever 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago