Free Food , what's not to like?

21 61
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Strange headline for a post about motivation, or is it?

The article you are hopefully about to read is the second in the series of writing prompts from @JonicaBradley , with this one being number 2. Motivation.

Please read her wonderful article here if you haven't done so already.

Now there is a random thought, I do seem to be inspired and motivated when I am having a number 2 haha. Well that came out of the blue, what about you? Does the toilet give you inspiration or motivation? Okay, enough of the toilet humour, now down to the task in hand.

Free Food and motivation, what is the connection, you ask.

Well patience grasshopper I will get there in a wee minute or three.

I have been reading a fair amount of articles here on this wonderful platform, and that is in itself motivating me to write. I have also seen many people posting about writers block or not knowing what to write about. That got me thinking about my novel which I started and let slide. So an initial motivation for me to be active here is to get my mojo back and get off my arse so to speak and finish this novel. My motivation for this novel was my great grandfather Sir Edward who had his memoirs published. I have gained my wanderlust from him, so we share many similarities and I want to put down some of my memoirs in a novel format. So to all the wonderful authors of read.cash I want to thank you for helping to inspire and motivate me back into the writers guild.

Stick to the subject Edward

So there we go, that is me displaying my wonderful ability to veer off on a tangent at any given second and end up who knows where. I blame that on my previous life as a Projects Manager in the Oil and Gas Industry where I would be juggling a 101 balls at a time, so thinking about something other than what I was actually currently talking about.

Motivation changes throughout your life, that is based on my experience anyway. When I was at school academically I passed without doing any work. My motivation was to get into the first teams for cricket, rugby or football. That was my motivation, so I would practice playing sports. Once I discovered girls, then, well you know what the motivation was, I don't need to spell it out and so I worked on my charm. Whilst at university, the only real motivation wasn't to pass and get my degree, but to get a degree to get a job. Oh yes life as an adult was kicking in and so my motivations were changing. A degree in Chemical Engineering I got, and a job I took in Newbury, England hundreds of miles away from Scotland my home. One thing I am fortunate to have or some call it unfortunate is I have no fear of fear or failing. So off I toddled with my backpack containing a couple of suits and hopped on a train and travelled down to the south of England. Now my motivation was money and exploring new cultures. The Southern Englanders were a funny breed, but I did like some of their beer and women. One day I got a call from Africa from a Scottish work colleague saying they needed a Process Engineer and he put a word in for me and the job is mine.

Africa alrighty boy, that sounds fun, a place called Gabon. So off I went to Africa (not listening to peer or family pressure, they thought I was nuts or 'aff ma heid' to put it in Scottish).

I had an absolute blast over there, and money coming out of my proverbial whatsit. So then that motivation changed and it wasn't money but seeing new places and exploring cultures. Of course different cultures means different women and different foods. An ideal scenario in my book.

Fast forward and I love to cook and I love to eat.

Food tastes so much better if someone else prepares it in my opinion (well most of the time anyway). Now then, we are getting to the actual headline. Free Food. I take you back a few days and I received an email about the Scottish TakeAway awards (if you are unfamiliar with the term takeaway, it is a food establishment that prepares food to go, or delivers it to you). This email was from a mystery shopper site ( I do these from time to time when they are to review a product I want, as I get paid to do the review and get to keep said product). The takeaway was actually in my local town. Okay I had last used it a couple of years ago and was not that impressed to be honest, so I thought I would give it a miss. However, I did a wee bit of googling and realised that they had opened a new shop on the high street and advertised that their meat was supplied by our local butchers. Now then, that made me sit up and take note. Our local butcher has won numerous national awards for his meat and especially his haggis. I looked at the menu and saw they had a Highland burger which was a burger with meat patties bacon and yes haggis. My mouth was watering. Food had kicked in and was motivating me to apply to do this. So I applied and had the burger yesterday. Boy oh boy it was heavenly and that is not giving it enough praise.

The Highland Burger with messy fries

So my current motivation is food and if it is free what's not to like!

If you would like to participate in these for fun prompts then:

  • Write about motivation

  • Write 100% original content

  • Write at least 600 words

  • Tag me @TengoLoTodo and the creator @JonicaBradley Β 

  • Have fun

Thank you for reading.

CopyrightΒ @TengoLoTodo Β Β 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images and words are from the author unless source mentioned.

Haste ye back.

8
$ 13.71
$ 13.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JonicaBradley
$ 0.05 from @emily2u
+ 3
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

We do have burger here in our place but not haggis. Free food only happen when it's an opening of a certain food place. I never experience a free food just like your concept. If ever there will be a chance it would be so nice and fun 😁. I must say food is so delicious when it's for free. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Food motivation, I know the feeling when I see food, I eat. Reminds me of mozzarella sticks. I still want those. But I still prefer your home cook meal. Chef Edward to the rescue.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes mozzarella sticks I know, and sarap they were! Yes home cooking is generally better I know says Chef Edward!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never had haggis. I'm have to come visit and get back to my ancestral roots (Scots/Irish/Choctaw). I already made an amazing Irish lamb stew with Guinness dark in the stew and in ma gob. I already made some delicious Choctaw food. I guess Haggis is up next, yeah?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh a good lamb stew is delicious especially with some dark Guiness in there. An interesting combination, Scots/Irish/Choctaw although many Scots did settle with different Native American clans.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my old world ancesters came over on the Nina, the Pinta, or the Santa Maria. Or so the story goes. More likely transported criminals or some such. The Choctaw is on my dad's side. Some great great married a Choctaw woman who, when the great great died, was able to pass as of European ancestry. So, let's see. My grandpa was 1/4 Choctaw and the rest Scot. Although, I've researched and Bradleigh (the original spelling - or so the story goes - of Bradley) is an English (gasp!) name. 23 and Me puts my dna more in Ireland and Asia (there are no Asians in my family - I'm assuming that's the Choctaw).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes!Yes!Yes! Food is life..hahaπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Food is all that matter. Anywhere I go, and whatever I do..πŸ˜…

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe it is all about Food , I agree that is what matters πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep... food is a motivation for me too ... and who doesn't love food? i doubt if there is someone who doesn't love food... buy the way, one day i'll visit scotland it's always included in my places to visit :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I think love food enough for two people haha. Oh you should visit Scotland if ever you get the chance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I completely agree that Food is a motivation. It's more delicious when it has been prepared by someone else. I'm not so sure. I have some examples nearby that prove otherwise. XD I enjoyed reading this, even your ability to veer off on a tangent. You caught my curiosity, and now I want to know more about your book. So I'll hang around here.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes I do know what you mean, it is not always better when prepared by someone else especially if they can't cook! Ah yes my book, I will maybe do some articles later on it when I am not veering off on a tangent!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So if you would prepare something for me, what would you cook, uncle Ed? hehee

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tricky , need to know your likes and dislikes, but defo something Scottish

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like anything spicy/savory/crispy πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are talking about food 🀣 i think scallops with black pudding to start, maybe some real haggis neeps and tatties and an atholl brose dessert to finish

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmn! Sounds good to me!!!πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

actually really awesome meal, now I want it haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

go make one, uncle ed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Food is the most delicious when it has been prepared by someone else, AND when it is also FREE. Totally agree on this. Lovely to read what motivates you, although you only shared short term motivation. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes it does taste the most delicious. Haha short term motivation, oh boy does long term motivation exist πŸ˜‚ Not so sure for me!

$ 0.00
2 years ago