Look After Yourself While You Can!

9 46
Avatar for TeacherLynlyn
1 year ago

I recently found a post about a girl who put in much effort because she was the family's primary breadwinner. She neglects to take breaks since she is focused on working hard and doing everything she can to support her family.

She neglects to visit the church to seek God's protection for her well-being and safety. She fully dedicates herself to her family. 

She neglects to eat healthy meals and has a coffee addiction. The worst part about her is that she enjoys eating instant noodles and can go for two days without sleeping. She was self-sufficient and never sought out assistance.

Then,  she received a cancer diagnosis a year later. Despite being depressed, she continued to work. Despite her circumstances, she continues to work since she needs to save money for her medication. Unfortunately, she was also a victim of an "investment fraud," and the con artists who took advantage of her converted all of her money into ashes.

Days went by, and she got worse. She had to sell some of her investments and properties because she lost a lot of money and underwent surgery.


I cried and worried about myself as I read her story. During my annual checkup last year, I recall that the doctor found tiny particles (kidney stones) in my left and right kidneys. I was required to take my prescriptions for three months, but after a few months, I stopped taking them when my mother developed kidney infections due to her diabetes. I decided to cease my mother's medicine because I was the only one in the family to work.

Because I don't have time to prepare meals and am addicted to coffee, I also enjoy some instant foods. I work hard every day and occasionally don't get enough sleep since I only want to take care of my family.

I immediately start crying, and then I understand everything. I have been thinking about several things. Does God want me to learn everything through this? Is this God's way of capturing my attention so I can see what I stand to lose if I neglect my need for rest?

I'm currently taking things carefully myself.

I was led to believe that the "title" I required was productivity. I had to make the massive acts "worthy" to be loved, and over time, I grew weary. I worked diligently on each duty and finished them, but I should be doing better. It had an empty feeling.

That's when I realized the power of the term "relax"; although it didn't make my tasks go away, I had more time to boost myself. At first, it seemed odd to put my own needs ahead of other people's expectations of me. I felt anxious. But I also thought about the advantages of taking some time off. I'm glad I went with myself now.

Everyone who sacrifices everything about herself for the benefit of others should take note of this. This serves as a reminder always to remember God, to take time to relax, and to take care of yourself while you can!


Good evening to all! What's up?

Work hard, but remember to take breaks!

9
$ 0.61
$ 0.50 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
+ 3
Avatar for TeacherLynlyn
1 year ago

Comments

Ito yung nag trending sa social media sis. Nakakaawa. Yung work lagi nasa isip niya napabayaan niya yung health niya. Naawa talaga ako sa kanya sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This means something to you Lyn. For sure, napaisip ka rin about it. Wag i compromise ang health please. It's for your own good.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes po Ate! huhuhuhu Bigla ko talaga naisip yung sarili ko habang binabasa yung story niya. Ang sakit isipin pero minsan kailangan din talaga alagaan ang sarili kasi mas malaki ang mawawala mapag napabayaan natin. Thanks Ate! Ingat ka din po lagi and wishing you good health po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Somehow and someways I feel like I fall into this category. I myself has taken time away virtually because I can't keep up with everything. I have thought about switching to green tea instead of coffee but that thought always happens after I finish my coffee. I think those of us who look after others before ourselves have to eventually help ourselves. It's a hard habit to break .

$ 0.05
1 year ago

i know you're quite busy right now friend, but tha k you for trying your best to stay manage to give ♥️ Ofcourse, it's so hard go look after yourselves sometimes but upon reading her story, you need to rest and have a healthy lifestyle too while surviving. Take care friend! ♥️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

C jelyn dablo ba yan langga? She's all over the TikTok at nakakasad sa taong nagsumikap para sa pamilya pero sya pa Ang nagsakripisyo kaya alagaan mo self mo. Wag abusado langga ksi health is wealth. Kya Ako pg di ko kayang mgsulat at mg isip di ko pinipilit langga.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes Ate Langga. Thanks for the reminder ate, yes po. Need din natin magrest talaga, kapag di kaya, wag pilitin po. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We almost forget to care for ourself as we try to focus on those people that is important to us. It is a sad thing that we just want to make good deeds but we need to learn to put limits on it. It is not bad to give ourself an importance and priority too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree with you. I've learned that being selfish is not bad sometimes, especially when it's all about choosing yourself; your health and your inner peace. I am hoping that everyone here should know the importance of prioritizing yourself too. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago