When In Manila

7 19
Avatar for Tamia
Written by
2 years ago

Yesterday is my rest day, me and my high school friends went to Manila to have fun, take pictures and bond with each other after 3 years of being busy with our different lives. The last time we get together was 2018, during the birthday celebration of one of us. I'm inactive here the whole day yesterday, and now, I'm back on my track. Back to reality again.

In this article, I want to share here the places we've visited yesterday in Manila. These places are well known spots in Manila. Most of the visitors or tourists visits these places even before. The first place we visited was the Intramuros.

It took us 1 hour and 30 minutes to arrive in Intramuros from our city. It is just my first time visiting this place that's why I can't hide the excitement I feel yesterday when I finally entered this arc of Intramuros.

What made me feel excited about this place is that, I love history. Even before, I love reading old and ancient stories, I love seeing old filipino houses and things, that is why Intramuros is really for me. Old and big houses welcomed us. Since it is just our first time visiting it and Intramuros is too big, we've decided to ride a pedicab so that we don't need to walk anymore, plus the pedicab drivers is also a tour guide so while riding, we could also learn something new about the past of Intramuros from our tour guide too.

The first spot we visited inside the Intramuros was the Baluarte De San Diego. Along our way to that spot, we were listening to kuya. He said that the wall we were seeing beside us was built by spaniards. He let us see the small spots and damages on that big and thick wall, he said those were caused by the bullets from the war happened on that exact place many many years ago. He let us see the canyons used before too, until we reached the gate of Baluarte, we paid 50 Php as our entrance fee. The first thing we saw upon entering this place was this thing.

There is a lot of trees and plants around. And before you see the view from the top of Baluarte, you need to climb from the spiral, cemented and old stairs. When we reached the top of it, this is how it looks like.

According to google, this was built on 1586 to protect Manila from the enemies during the time of spaniards here in the Philippines. I never expected that these walls is actually too high, it was thick that made feel a bit nervous while walking above it because of my phobia in heights. Then beside this, a wide bermuda grass space welcomed us too. It so wide that we could play tag or any physical games on it.

You could see the high-rise buildings from this spot too. We were so glad that the weather yesterday wasn't sunny. It didn't rain too which makes is really good too so we can enjoy our short trip here in Manila.

The next spot we visit was the Fort Santiago.

Inside the Intramuros, took this when we were on our way to Fort Santiago.

However, we have decided to not enter Fort because the line of people from the gate of Fort is so long and it was already 12 noon, our tummy were growling that time so we need to eat first. But before we eat, we visited the Manila Cathedral. The one thing I noticed from visiting Intramuros is that, even the guards who are looking and guiding the people who would like to cross the road are wearing old style of clothes too.

This is the Manila Cathedral.

Seeing chariots is normal here too.

However, I felt sad when I see a horse along our way where its tounge is already out while it is carrying a family behind him. I don't know if it just normal for a horse to do it but all I know was if animals do that, they might be thirsty or tired. I hope that the horse is still good and his owner is not over working him huhu.

Since all of us were looking for a unli rice. We have decided to go outside the Intramuros to look for any fast food chain, until we reached the Mang Inasal branch near the Luneta Park which will be our next destination after eating our lunch.

That's all for today, there will be part 2 for my gala in Manila where I will share the other spots we've visited yesterday 😊.

Thank you for reading!

My sponsors 🌸

Sponsors of Tamia
empty
empty
empty

Have a great day wonderful people ♡.

5
$ 1.30
$ 1.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
+ 2
Sponsors of Tamia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tamia
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Intramuros is one of the places that I want to visit someday. Yung Tita at Papa ko nagkukwento about sa pagvisit nila dito, and I also want to experience it in personal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last time I visited intramuros was year 2016. I get a chance to visit that place because my agency is near. Anyway maganda talagang pasyalan ang intramuros.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Must visit talaga siya pag nasa manila ka, maganda kaso nga lang masakit sa paa 😅, lawak kasi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

13 years nakong di nakakabalik ng manila, sana if ever na makauwi ako makagala ako diro. Nakakaexcite takaga bumalik sa pinanggalingan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay laking manila po pala kayo. Tagal na na rin pala huling punta nyo sa manila, sana makauwi na kayo. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Manila looks like a beautiful place. Where exactly is Manila?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In Bonifacio Dr & Padre Burgos St. in Manila. It's one of the historic places in Manila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago