Mind vs Heart: Decision Making

4 20
Avatar for Tamia
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Heart, Mind, Decision

Probably most of us had been in a situation where we need to choose only one. It makes it more difficult to make our final decision if our mind and heart have an opposite view over a certain thing.

I made a short interview from some of my classmates back when I was still a senior high student and this was my question I created for them.

"What would you rather choose to become your fate in your entire life, being with your partner and your childrens in one roof but you are poor and need to work hard each day in order to survive or you're insanely rich but you are alone?".

Based on my observations with my chosen respondent's behaviour in our class after being with them for almost 10 months. Some of them answered they would rather choose to become poor, because they said that the true happiness won't be found on material things, they doesn't matter if they're poor as long as they have a family by their sides and they are living happily. Those answers came from my classmates who I observed to be one of the most talkative in class, they have a lot of friends, they love socializing and easily cried or a soft hearted ones. On the other hand, those who chose to become insanely rich instead of having a family by their sides are those who I observed to be one of those who are always getting high scores at exams, who loves debating to teachers, loves math and science or in short they were the one who are really good in academics. In their own view, once they have a lot of money they can help their parents and will not suffer anymore in life when it comes to money which is very important for a living but I asked one of them, "Don't you want to have a family?", he responded, "I don't want my childrens to suffer just because I don't have the means to give the life they deserves, I don't want them to feel hungry each day."

This is my interpretation based on the answers I got from my respondents.

Intelligent people are the one who always putting their mind first over their heart. They are ready to set aside their feelings if they think that the outcome would have a greater result, not just on them but for the others too. Intelligent people is future oriented, they prefer being practical at every situation. As they are intelligent enough to know or analyze what would be the possible outcomes of a decision if they choses to follow it. But it doesn't mean that they never wanted to have a happy family because everybody wants to become happy, it's just that they are most likely to depend on the result of their actions rather than on what they feel only about it.

However, those people whom I frequently see with someone or in a group are the one who really value their time with others. People who sees that life will become happier if we have someone by our sides. These people uses their feelings over their thoughts, they will always choose to love or to be loved. It doesn't matter what would happen next, the important is the present. These people will always choose the decision where they believe they'll found their true happiness. Nothing to prove anymore as long as their hearts goes on it they will follow it ♡.

I'll give you some scenarios where they used their mind and heart on making a decisions.

Remember the iconic scene from one of the most heart touching movies in the Filipino Movies?

It is the, "Four Sisters and a Wedding".

The role of Bobbie (Bea Alonzo), where she chose her career over his boyfriend just to fullfill her family's needs. She set aside her feelings and uses her mind as she believes that this would have a better result for her and her family in the future even if it will hurt her.

However, on the role given to Alex (Angel Locsin), where she was characterized as the friendly and the most adventurous one, she choses the career where she believe she will become happy despite of their mother's high standards.

Also, in choosing what course we will going to take in college.

Did you took the course which you really wanted to become or you just took it just because your parents wants it for you?

You can share your answers at the comment section down there 😊.

Ever since, creating films, photography is what I really love the most but sadly, I didn't have the chance to take this course as I am too far from the school's who are offering this courses and we don't have enough money to rent a dorm or apartnet near it. So, I took the course which I think is really indemand nowadays since we are living in technology years. I took BSIT (Bachelor of Science in Information Technology), even though at first that Oh don't have any idea on this course that made me a bit struggle on learning to code yet, I still learned it and the most important is I enjoyed it after all. So at the end, I have no regrets about it.

♡♡♡

Making a decision is so hard especially if we are at the point where our brain says no but our heart says yes and vice versa. Both could have a better result on us, the most important is we are ready with the outcomes of it.

As for the conclusion, listening to what our mind says and following it can lead us to success but the consequences are we might feel the regrets at the end for not choosing our happiness. However, if we choose our feelings over our thoughts, it will lead us to happiness that we've been wanting for but the consequences of it is, it may also lead us to unsuccessful result.

But if this 2 connects, we could have the most happiest and successful decision ever in our life. Our heart and mind are the best combo 😁.

Thank you for reading! ♡

Images used:

You could also read some of my recent articles if you have some time 😊 ♡♡♡.

Thank you!

4
$ 3.06
$ 2.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @MissJo
$ 0.03 from @Willtravis
Sponsors of Tamia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tamia
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Heart, Mind, Decision

Comments

In decision making, follow the things that you really want to be. If what makes you happy. However, we need to think it first. I don’t know how to put my explanation because I am not good at this. But following our brain is more important than follow our own heart. Because heart will never be become a brain. Heart will just use to feel while the brain we use that to think. However, sometimes we couldn’t sure for the outcome of our decision if it is really for the good and bad so deciding is really a difficult thing to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely agree with that po, sa brain kasi we can use our critical thinking so we avoid mistakes at the end ♡.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Decision making has been the most difficult thing to do. It always between the heart and mind. I can't even say if I will be in the situation. But yes, if ever I will choose one and what may be the result I will accept it no matter what. As they said, "If it worked, it is not stupid. If not, it is experience." ☺️

And for a choice I have, I always wanted to take Accountancy. But the finances we have is not enough. So I took up BSED Math instead which is my second choice naman at the first place. ☺️ And I'm happy as well that I got to finish my course. You just need to love what you are doing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po the most important is ready tayo sa mga possible outcomes.

Btw tapos po pala kayo ng BSED Math 😯💕, congrats pooo! Mapapasana ol nalang ako sa magagaling sa math 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago