A lookback from the year 2016 in PH

2 27
Avatar for Tamia
Written by
2 years ago

First of all, the year 2016 was already 5 years ago. Time flies so fast right? I feel like 2016 is just 2 years ago because every happenings during that year are still fresh in my mind. I can still remember my first ever university experience during this year, it was fun and full of momerable moments. That's why I chose this year to become my topic for this article cause it became very memorable to me.

So let's go back to the year 2016 for a while, and start remembering the trends during this year. I hope you'll enjoy reading it!

Way back 2016, this man became viral for his song named PPAP (Pen-pineapple-apple-pen).

Do you still remember this song?

PPAP was sung by Pikotaro, I can still remember how this song went so viral in the internet, though I still don't know what's the purpose or the meaning of this song and I assume most of you didn't know it as well, it's just that this song is so catchy that made a lot of people sung it too. I remembered as well how this song made my classmates go crazy and sing it in our classroom over and over again LOL.

And of course, the dance craze during this year, the Fetty Wap Challenge.

Have you and your friends did this dance challenge too? For me, YES! me and my classmates did it to and it was fun.

I think it's July or August when this dance craze started here in the Philippines, I'm not sure by the way. It is mostly danced by a group of people. During this time, the song used in this challenge which is 'Nobody's better' by Suzi ft. Fetty Wap are literally everywhere. You can hear it in jeepneys, occassions, school events or just in your neighbors house.

The Dabbing pose

This pose were so used by millenials and Gen Z during this year. Doing a dub pose is just a gesture for being playful or just becoming youthful. Dub pose are in memes too that's why it became viral in internet in the whole world.

We often used this pose as well with my friends whenever we want that swag look in our group picture haha.

We're done with the dance and pose craze, so let's go as well to the most played song by everyone during this year. It's the song 'Closer' by Chainsmoker.

Like the song Nobody's Better, you can hear Closer being played everywhere too. I actually became addicted to this song too. I remember, I once used this song on my powerpoint presentation before and the moment I played this song, all my classmates sung it and all of a sudden our classroom became a bar because all of us know it. That's how popular this song is five years ago. This is also the year for Chainsmokers, they've other songs that went viral as well such as Roses and Don't let me Down.

The Snapchat's Flower Crown Craze

Have you once used this effect too? I bet most of the girls used this flower crown on their selfies before and I'm one of you. I really love this effect back then, I have a lot of selfies having this flower crown on my forehead too but I can't show it here since I'm too ugly LOL. But hey, this flower crown are one of 2016's trademark for me. Also, this is the year where snapchat became a well known camera app here in the Philippines.

Let's go naman to shoes! This what I've noticed that everyone has during this year, it's this white Adidas shoes.

Hey, everytime I see this kind of shoes it reminds me of 2016 πŸ˜…. What I liked about it is it's unisex, a lot of my girl classmated back then wore a shoes like this during our P.E and I actually wanted to have this kind of shoes too but I don't have money hehe.

The most watched videos back then are from this facebook page. Filipino Vines.

We often see funny videos from this page that sometimes made our day. However, the popularity of this page has come to an end maybe on 2017 I guess, I'm not sure. But let us be thankful to Filipino Vines because it once made us laugh and happy by just watching viral videos on the internet.

The Pokemon Go App

This application became viral and was used by a lot of people even celebrities. You just need to catch some pokemon once you see them on your screen. But this trend didn't affect me that much since I don't have a nice phone back then and it can't support applications like this so I can't relate on others who are using or once used this app.

The frog in memes

2016 isn't complete without memes and I'm sure that you are familiar with this frog, you can see him in different memes and those memes sometimes made you laugh.

I have a memory card here from my old phone that I'm using during this year and seeing the photos inside it made me realized how this frog made me happy back then because I have a album there full of memes and some of those memes have this crying/sad frog. Until now I still have an album for all my saved memes from the internet cause memes are my happiness LOL.

And these are the trends in the internet from the year 2016. Do you relate yourselves from these trends before? Also, if you know or have an additional idea for the 2016 trends you can share then at the comment section 😊.

Thank you for Reading!

Links of Images used in this article:

https://www.pinterest.ph/pin/362750944983041813/ (Lead Image)

https://www.google.com/search?q=pen+pineapple+apple+pen+meme&oq=pen+pinr&aqs=chrome.2.69i57j46i13j0i13l2.8147j0j7&client=ms-android-oppo&sourceid=chrome-mobile&ie=UTF-8#imgdii=0sTxxg5xKR8FbM&imgrc=8hAqgOnaagBaSM

https://www.google.com/search?q=fetty+wap+challenge&client=ms-android-oppo&hl=en&prmd=vnix&sxsrf=AOaemvL_bF3KFHg8_u3V6Lu6TkEFMqSG9g:1630994956491&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwj_44vYmezyAhUrQPUHHVbNBRwQ_AUIGSgD&biw=360&bih=566#imgrc=vpmr54JclnYAVM&imgdii=oOe3iKcAX6DuzM

https://www.google.com/search?client=ms-android-oppo&sxsrf=AOaemvKLfTdCBoukMSKCVSIxJM9dLbe9LQ:1630996181928&q=dab+pose&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjUxragnuzyAhXJA4gKHYTiDPEQ7xYoAHoECAEQAg&biw=360&bih=566&dpr=2#imgdii=l0p8N5crRqU78M&imgrc=M77SKzPPWqmJ8M

https://www.google.com/search?q=snapchat+flower+crown+filter&oq=snapchat+flowe&aqs=chrome.1.69i57j0i512l4.5430j0j9&client=ms-android-oppo&sourceid=chrome-mobile&ie=UTF-8#imgdii=uZNlxqQRWtgjnM&imgrc=ODi_A6BtfphYzM

https://www.google.com/search?q=white+shoes+with+black+stripe&oq=white+shoes+with+black+stripe&aqs=chrome..69i57.11343j0j4&client=ms-android-oppo&sourceid=chrome-mobile&ie=UTF-8#imgrc=qmlYr9xPQottAM

https://www.google.com/search?q=filipino+vines+original+cast&oq=filipino+vines&aqs=chrome.1.69i57j0i512l2j0i22i30l2.5693j0j9&client=ms-android-oppo&sourceid=chrome-mobile&ie=UTF-8#imgrc=hHX3oVnHenpRaM

https://www.pinterest.ph/pin/822962531886706044/

Have a great day wonderful people β™‘.

2
$ 1.38
$ 1.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.01 from @Yinye_xo
Sponsors of Tamia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tamia
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I always pondered on the meaning of that songπŸ˜‚...it was really really catchy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really a nice throwback. I remember my niblings doing that dabbing pose. Indeed, Closer is a popular one and can still be heard being played today. I remember that pokemon go and the news about that. I'm not sure about the Snapchat filter for I don't use that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago