Kicking Off The New Year

8 16
Avatar for Talon
Written by
2 years ago

It's a new year my friend, a new week and I've got to say congratulations for being alive to see it and in good health together with your loved ones, that's really a big deal. Even if you aren't seeing it with good health, but you're alive and to whom there's still life, there's hope, that's one of the least things this year should bring any one of us, HOPE.

I'm sure during the new year eve, you were at one place or the other waiting for the clock to hit 12:00PM, so you can go wild and celebrate till thy kingdom come. Everybody usually have their own place, which is usually a tradition for them to be at that time of the new year eve, and for most it's a religious place of fellowship, eg a Church.

I don't know where you had your crossing over, I certainly had mine in a church. For a guy who almost didn't attend church all year, I hope that counted for something. For others based on their understanding of the fact, that place could have been their room, a bar, a pr*stitute joint etc.

Now, we've made it to the new year and as such, we have probably, as is expected of us, made resolutions, set goals, objectives and the likes. This is really great as it is very important to hit the ground running. No time to waste eh?

However, I'm going to talk lightly on some few points. Before setting new resolutions, you must have had to take stock of the past year. Maybe it was great, you did well or maybe you did nothing. You should know this though, it's a new year and if the past year was successful, don't let it get to your head, because you will get cocky and that would be the first tone to be set for one's failure.

If it wasn't so successful, don't let it mess your head and make you feel like an underachiever, because it will not let you rise and focus on the resolutions. The point is, last year is now in the past, good or bad, you've had the best or worst of it, and with the new year, new resolutions, it's time to leave it in the past and forge ahead in the present into and towards the future.

Another thing is how easy everybody find it to scribble on a piece of paper things they will come to call their resolutions. I'm not against this, but I advise you, while it's great to dream big, it's logical and healthy (both for mind and body) to keep it measurable and achievable. We usually let the euphoria and feel-good atmosphere of the new year get to us, luring us into having unrestricted optimism and expectations of the new year, you should check that my friend.

You want to buy a plane (of course, I don't mean a literal plane, and no I'm not saying you are small minded not to be able to desire a plane. I'm just saying..... Ah, forget it), that's great as a long term goal which one might not be able to achieve in a year depending on your capacity.

But you could keep it measurable and attainable by setting a goal of saving or accumulating twenty five percent of the total cost. I know it's a bad analogy, but you get the point. You can aspire for big things, but keep your goals measurable and attainable with respect to timeframes. That's my little advise to you.

Interestingly, this was suppose to be my article for the first day of the year, been yesterday, but while others were kicking off the year with celebration and the likes, mine seem to have started with my phone (actually not mine,more like borrowed) getting faulty.

This is also why I was missing from all your articles yesterday, really sorry about that. It just went off and refused to come on. I almost fell sick without it. It made me realise how seemingly addicted I am to it and I'm thinking this is true for a lot of us. This phone addiction thing is actually a big problem, so try to check yourself and control it, just saying.

I also want to use this oppfortunity to appreciate you guys for all the support I got on and from this platform in the year just ended. Words would fail me to express my gratitude. I'm just really going to leave it at thank you.

To all my subscribers, sponsors, readers, upvoters and commmenters, I am grateful. To Marc De Mersel and the admin of this platform, thanks for giving me this opportunity to write, learn, develop myself while earning along the way, really thank you.

Happy New Year Guys. Wishing you all the best things this year has got in store.

7
$ 1.89
$ 1.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 5
Avatar for Talon
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

HOPE is one of the strongest words we need right now. Cheers to a better year, Talon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More than 80% of folks never uphold there new year resolution for most part of the year. And it circle continues the following year. Personally I don't think you have to choose a particular time to quit and habit or be motivated. If you are ready, then you are ready. If not, then you are not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same problem man. Apps from my phone are really disturbing and it distracts me to do the things that will benefit me. Hope we surpass this syndrome HAHAHA

$ 0.00
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

Hopefully we all do this year

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really didn’t need to apologize, you’ve been amazing and thank you for your support.. Happy new year..

I feel something different when I make new resolution, I don’t want it to control my very thought or make me desperate and eager to want something.. I believe it will work out well, and the year will be great.. lovely write up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the compliment.. I hope the year is just the way you seem to believe it will be; great

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am really addicted to my phone. I hope to cut it to the barest minimum though. Sorry about the faulty phone hope you get a better one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully... You should.. The long term effects are really bad. I once wrote about this, but I think it was Methion

$ 0.00
2 years ago