Didn't Feel Like Christmas

6 24
Avatar for Talon
Written by
2 years ago

Merry Christmas guys.. I know it's almost coming to an end, at least the day, or for my Filipino friends, it's been over for almost five hours now, is it? Nonetheless, hope you had fun and had a good time with your family, I mean that's one of the wonderful things Christmas reminds us to do.

For my family, Christmas is about tradition, everything has to follow an already laid down pattern that we've had for years now. For example, the bags of rice and the chickens do not come home until the night of 24th and it has been so through the years.

Also, contrary to what most family do when they wake up early, say 5AM-6AM, so they can quickly start on the food preparation, so as to have enough time to go out and the rest, my family never wakes up before 8AM on Christmas day, and this one was no different.

In my last article, I told you guys how I later changed my mind and went home afterall due to my deteriorating health. Well, it seems I went home to take care of everybody and not the other way around. I tried breaking tradition today, to start cooking early, but my mom wouldn't hear it. So, we started the cooking by 8AM.

You might wonder why I wanted to start early. The reason is, I wanted to finish on time, to be available when @Jane drops the last seed word for the $20 BCH wallet, as I was convinced I already had the other eleven seed words.

While I was cooking the rice on the outdoor fire, I was using the gas cooker to boil water which I'll need to remove the feather from the chickens. I did all that, did the cleaning, the butchering, cutting, and all that. I was quite amazed at the speed at which I did the butchering, even my mum and dad couldn't believe it. They were givimg me that look that say 'wow, a boy has become a man's. What they didn't know, is that an entire year of slaughtering catfishes will make anyone that proficient in anything butchering.

Just so you get that debate out of your head, yes I'm a guy, and yes I cook. As a matter of fact, during my cooking glory days, no one was permitted to cook whenever I'm around except me, but that was back then when I hadn't started to outgrow my senses ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚.

I did all the frying of the chicken, making the stew, preparing ghetto plates, all the while keeping my eyes on the time, so I wouldn't be late for the last seed word. At about 9:55AM which is 4:55PM in the Philippines, I ignored the good and kept refreshing my noise.cash notification bar. I wanted to be early to the second and by 10:02AM, @Jane posted the clue to the last one.

I rushed to the article and it took me less than twenty seconds to figure it out. I added it tp the already arranged eleven and imported with a flourish, hoping to see $20, only to have it return invalid. Oh boy, did I want to cry... I would later find out I missed it by one seed word, not because I didn't figure it out, but because @Jane clearly mislead me by saying it was to be a five letter word, when it was actually six. I had dwelled on that particular seed word for days and I knew it had to be the six letters, but I wasn't the one making the instructions nor giving the clue. Thanks @Jane for misleading me๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚.

As if that near miss wasn't enough to ruin the day, I had to leave my family and head back to school to deal with some urgent matter. This literally ended the whole Christmas vibe for me. If I'm been honest, today didn't really feel like Christmas for me, even the food seem so ordinary and normal to me. It's wasn't as I envisaged it, but it's all good and it's over now.

I'm still super happy though as I've got a lot to thank God for this Christmas. My entire family has been okay and protected from COVID and all, we have all we need and we are in good health. We are all alive to celebrate another Christmas and I thank God for that. I am also very grateful to God for my read family, you guys are the best.

Special thanks to the wonderful sponsor of this platform, as well as the admins working tirelessly to make it the best possible version of itself

Once again, Merry Christmas to you all

Thanks for paying attention to my rambles๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

6
$ 1.58
$ 1.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 7
Avatar for Talon
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Awee I missed that challenge by ms. Jane because I wasn't active almost a week due to typhoon hit us. Anyway, Merry Christmasโญ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas to you too... Hope Te damage wasn't much on your end?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I keep on answering those seed phrases not until I miss one and lost everything in fucos. I was sad as I also didn't make it, but it's fine. Anyway I hope you had a great day ahead, merry Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas. I actually missed two days, but on the eleventh day, I just went through it all again, stop didn't sleep it though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The 6letter words was misleading, but following clues are not,. Some got it right on the first day. And many answers were even 6 letters lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, your clue said 5-letter word.. I'm going to bite you in your dream for making me lose this one๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago