Never again

3 20
Avatar for Sylvan
Written by
1 year ago

Fiction

As a little boy, everyone called me 'play play'. It was a perfect description for a ten year old me. I loved to play more than anything but not anymore. In case you are wondering, I'm still ten.

I developed hatred for playing around as a kid last week. Last Thursday was the worst day of my life.

A quick recap on my playful life

Mom always complained that I've worn more school uniforms than my elder sibblings even though they stated schooling long before I did. I go to school wearing a neat uniforms but comes back looking as dirty as a pig. I come back either barefooted or with cuts thorns. I'm the last kid to go home after every school day. I can't miss any football moment on my way back from school. I can't count how many slaps I've received from mum over my inability to say no to every spirit of playfulness. She would say that no amount of creams in the world can smoothen all the scars I got from playing in rough manners.

Last week Thursday

I came back from school looking my usual. I had no time for lunch because I had seen some of my stubborn friend playing football along the road. I just dropped my school bag and rushed out to play with them. After we were done playing football, I and two other kids decided to go pick wild fruits The other kids were too scared to go on this mission, so they went home.

We came back from our wild fruit picking when it was already dinner time. By that time, I was tired and hungry. My school uniform was already stained with juice from the various fruits I picked. It was the first time I stayed out till dinner time. Mum must have looked everywhere for me.

When I got to our compound, I was horrified to see dad's car. He was a soldier and so lived away from us. I dared not misbehave when he was around. I knew I was done for. Why would he come visiting on a day like this.

I watched my life flash by in my eyes when he came out of the house with my crying mum. She must have thought I got lost from wandering around.

Long story short, dad showed me a glimpse of what military training looked like that night.

I'm still recovering from the tussle with Dad that night. The good boy mode in me has been activated since then. I can't risk another experience with dad

Thanks for reading😍

Lead image from istock.com

3
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.01 from @Tife.
Avatar for Sylvan
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

You can never stop a playful little boy from not playing. We all have been there and we know how many beatings and punishment we received. πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That serves you right. You can as well stay out tonight. No problem πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

AhπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago