Do the dead walk among us?

7 24
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Hello readlanders. It has been three days and I really miss being active here. Perhaps after my exams I will be more active. I heard ASUU and federal government are in a meeting negotiating the future of our academic activities. I hope it goes well so I can write my exams and put that phase behind me.

This afternoon, my roommate and I were bored from reading and so decided to have some story time. She was more into the afterlife stories. Trust me, they are not that scary. I just couldn't resist the urge to share her story with you all.

We were talking about the afterlife and how true it is that the dead live among us, so she decided to tell me this real life story of what happened in her birth community that strongly convinced her of the existence of the dead among the living. Here it goes.

There lived a poor widow in the community who had an only child. She did all she could to send him to school. She became known as an okpa seller (okpa is a local Nigeria delicacy). She hawked okpa around the town just to provide for herself and pay for her son's school fees. She was able to see him through university education.

When her son went for his Nation Youth Service, she was very happy and hoped he would turn their lives around. But then came the sad news that he had died in a road accident during one of his trips to go see him mum. The woman was devastated but she had to keep living. Each time she thought about her son, she would always question why he wasn't there to take care of her. Every hardship she went through reminded he of her son

Two or three years after her son's death, a young man came knocking at her door. He was looking for a place to stay. According to him, he was a student with accommodation issues and was willing to pay her monthly if she made him a tenant.

The woman cleared her late son's room so that the student could stay there. Soon. They began living like family. The student would give her money for almost everything. He would go out in the morning only to come back in the evening and give her money. He never wanted anything in return for the help he rendered the woman. He would always tell the woman, "as long as I am under you roof, I'll treat you like my mother".

Each time he does something for the woman, she would always remember her dead son. One day she decided to talk about her feelings with the student. She told him, "each time you do something for me, I remember my son and sometimes when I look deeply at you, I see him in you".

After she had said this, the student just said "mother" and vanished like a phantom. This put the woman in shock. She watched her son disappear with a smile on his face. When she had recovered from the schock(after about three days) she entered the boy's room only to discover that his property had disappeared along with him.

The story got me wondering about a lot of things. Does it mean that the dead walk among us and we just never notice? There truly is more to this life than meets the eye.

Why do you think about the story? Do you think such things happen?

Lead image from unsplash

Thanks for reading

6
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.01 from @SuperJulalaine
+ 2
Avatar for Sylv_Sylv
1 year ago

Comments

It could be true to help the mother move on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To me, spirits exist among the yoruba land and I have heard stories of reincarnation which are real.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In as much as most of the stories look superstitious, I strongly believe that spirits exist. But I really want to meet one though,,I have a lot of questions to ask about the spirit world

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had goose bumps from this. But beautiful story!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm….it’s had for me to still believe that such things happens in life. Even after witnessing this,the woman was still in a state of shock and if she had told others what she had seen, I’m sure that they will think she’s losing her sense because she said she saw her son in someone’s body😧

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's actually creepy me readin this at 3am 😂. Seriously I believe that we are alive as believers even after life here on earth so yeah a spirit can be seen by us.

Be prudent for sometimes bad spirits deceive us and pretend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear friend I pray Assu and Federal Govt. act well concerning our educational systems. Sometimes the dead comes in form of another human, so people said but I have experience it

$ 0.00
1 year ago