How I Managed To Live A Thrifty Life

39 80
Avatar for Sydney2
1 year ago

They said life is too short not to buy the things we want. Yes, I really know that and I agree with that. However, I am always the person who identifies needs over my wants. I only buy my desires when there is a special opportunity for me to get them while saving a lot of money. My family can really tell that I am the person who doesn't spend too much or who doesn't even spend anything at all.

Do not be fooled by monthly sales

While others may think it is the best time to buy because of the discounted prices but for me, it is not an enough reason for myself to buy also. This is what I always put inside my head "do not buy anything if you don't even need it."

Do not be driven by the hype

I always hear people getting influenced to buy something from what they have watched on TikTok and other trending videos online. It only makes me frown because I know those famous people are only paid to promote something and the public are easy to fool about those fake reviews. I am always amazed by how a certain individual can drive everyone to join in the hype. There are so many reviews from YouTube that drive people to buy, and I will only pause at the corner thinking why people are so easy to be fooled by the clickbait. Another thing to add are the trending post from Facebook where people like to spread the link and everyone is dying to buy the products online just because of what they have read. It's so sad but people nowadays are easily corrupted by the hype of modern marketing strategies.

Have a self discipline

This is the most important thing. If you really want to practice spending less then you must disciplined yourself first. Sometimes bad habits are hard to beat if you do not know how to put a discipline to yourself but if you start to practice this attitude, you will be just amazed that you do not spend too much anymore compared before. No matter how many budgeting list we have created if we have no discipline towards ourselves then it will be difficult for us to live a thrifty life.

Analyze every marketing strategy

A lot of marketing strategies right now are so convincing. Their discounts, their freebies and other promotions seems so amusing but in reality do these promotions even matter? Would you really buy something just because there's a freebie on it? It doesn't sound wise. Are you familiar with the price tags of 299, 399, 199? Well, it's an illusion to make you think that they're affordable but in reality they are 300, 400 and 200. This is so crazy but true. The power of tricking your vision.

Give yourself some time to think

I usually do this when I feel that I am so desperate to buy something immediately. I give myself some days to think if do I really want to buy that thing and it turns out that my decisions have changed and I do not want it anymore. This is just one of the simplest trick that you can do it you really want to lessen the impulsive traits of spending too much.

I know for other people, being thrifty has negative connotation. For me, it's a good habit when you know what to spend. You don't easily do impulsive shopping. You are less likely to be controlled by the market. You are not emotionally susceptible to the bait. I didn't write this article to tell you that you should also be thrifty. It is always your decision, and you have the free will to buy anything you want. No one has the right to stop you. It is also not good to be very thrifty where you already have neglected your essentials. It should always be in balance and it's not bad to spend some money sometimes, especially if it's making you happy. As long as it is your own money, you do not have to feel guilty about buying the things that you want. Do not feel bad about it. The most important thing to remember is that before you buy your wants, make sure you have bought your needs and the rest will follow.

June 11, 2022

Like. Comment. Subscribe.

23
$ 12.21
$ 11.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @SuperJulalaine
$ 0.05 from @Talecharm
+ 12
Avatar for Sydney2
1 year ago

Comments

We have similarities! Ganyan din ako kaya thrifty ang lifestyle haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yang "link in bio" talaga na message sa tiktok ang pasimuno ng lahat! Hahaha dami na ang nabudol dyan kahit si FB mapa kibot ka lang ng search maya maya may pa ads na.

Pero tama naman yung naishare mo, if di naman needed talaga wag muna bilhin. Think multiple times.

Great job here Sydney2

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oftentimes we thought we saved money from sales but the truth is, we spend more especially kung hindi naman natin kailangan yung product.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, totoo yan. Minsan binibili natin yung mga bagay na di naman natin kailangan tas magsasawa lang tayo. Okay lang yan sa mga mayayaman hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree! I cannot deny na may pagka materialistic ako but mas nangunguna yung self-discipline ko kasi mas alam ko na ngayon kung gaano kahirap kumita and it's better na unahin yung needs kaysa sa wants na panandaliang saya lang naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Walang masama kung bilhin natin yung nakakapagpasaya satin pero kung nasa sitwasyon tayo na mahirap yung budget, diyan na dapat tayo magtipid tipid.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Need vs want talaga. Pero reward yourself sometimes din hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Yes, Yen. Mas dapat talaga unahin yung mga pangangailangan at walang masama if we treat ourselves sometimes. Pero sa mga mayayaman, okay lang ata kung puro wants bibilhin nila hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganito rin madalas yung ginagawa ko, unless kailangan ko talagang maglabas ng pera at bumili ng mga necessities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kuripot ka din ba cherry? Ako din, di ako basta bastang naglalabas ng pera kung di ko pa talaga kailangan bilhin eh. Dapat talaga priorities over wants.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing I like about myself is that, no matter the hype and discounted price, If I'm not buying I'm not buying. That's how it works for me. I've seen people that keep buying what they don't need at that particular period because the price is attractive or the hype is high

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I am also that kind of person. I do not buy just because it's trending. I do not let the people around me influence me on buying stuffs that aren't even important. It is what we call being a wise consumer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These days, people need to tighten their belts... Mahal na ang lahat

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree po. Yung sweldo di tumataas, Yung presyo lang yung tumataas saka yung tax sa bansa nadagdagan. Napakahirap pero laban.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is an interesting post, Sydney. Many people do not know what they want from what they need because they are always driven by the hype in society. One skill we must have to be able to control ourselves from spending unnecessarily is "Self Discipline". We have to have this skill and keep practising it so we would be saved from buying what isnĀ“t necessary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, that's exactly the content of this article. I do not care if all the peers around my age have bought that thing and I am the only who doesn't, if I do not need it then there's no reason for me to buy it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As for me ate, i have parents (specifically my dad) extremely matipid and at times, kuripot na talaga HAHAHA we can afford things pero matipid talaga sila.

and so i adapted that mindset from them, na think twice bago bumili, ect. how to manage money and everything and I'm kinda thankful to that kase I'm able to save/spend money wisely

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang same kami ng parents mo. Yung mga magulang ko di masyadong kuripot parang ako lang talaga sa pamilya yung medyo super kuripot. Mabuti talaga na pinag-iisipan natin lahat ng binibili natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always get mad if I see a sale on any brand and later regret buying and wasting my money on things I don't even want I badly want to change this habit

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In mistakes of buying or selling we learn haha. To balance and practice our discernment why not?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have also been there. There's nothing really bad from buying the things that you really want but what's bad is when you buy them and later on you just throw them because you don't find any purpose from those things. I think that's what we call a waste of money already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi Sydney! How's your read and noise going? That's what I also feel sometimes. If stuffs add to your good intention and feeling and it's your money don't let that guiltiness rob you of the blessings you are about to enjoy or share.

Minsan mafefeel mo din na it's because of guilt from greed na sa sobrang tipid e naubos na pala lahat ng yaman o ipon natin, either because we want to portray and impress others over ourselves or naiinggit tayo sa iba. Discerning our intentions and desires is always a pro. When you feel it and its not harming, go enjoy mo lang yang binili mo hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa nanonotice ko Julalaine, may pagbaba talaga sa rewards/tips sa noise at read. I don't know if bug lang ba pero ako iniisip ko na parang ganun.

Kuripot talaga akong taong Julalaine pero di yung sobra sobra. Masama din na pinipigilan natin yung sarili natin na sumaya sa mga gusto natin bilhin online.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is brilliant, Sydney. A lot of people are driven by the hype which allows them fall into unnecessary problems that could have been avoided. Everything in life calls for discipline and a disciplined life can achieve way much more than they can ever imagine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, exactly Olasquare. It is always the discipline that puts you into a proper decision. You can read a lot of quotes about being thrifty anywhere but it is not enough for you if you won't learn to discipline yourself from what you have read.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely, my dear friend... being disciplined plays a huge part in whatever we want to achieve.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I am doing that to myself now. I am putting discipline within myself because I want to be balance in everything that I do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love that determination my friend. Well done.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much Olasquare! It is something I am willing to apply everyday.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad. Well done, dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are kinda same, i do prefer needs and control my wants like i don't have my own mobile since you know what happened but I'm not buying it coz it's my want not my need ATM.

I also don't believe or go crazy for monthly discounted on brands etc they just make money

I literally never spent money buying something because of hype and influenced by anyone, don't even have tiktok.

Our thoughts are same in this matter like i can relate with the whole point of view.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, seems like we think at the same point. Well, it's nice to know friend. We should always be brilliant because we are the consumer. By the way, do you have future plans to buy another new phone?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totally agree, yea I've planned but managing expenses and need is difficult so will buy later before end of year. Starting saving money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh that's good to hear. I thought you are planning to buy when the bull run comes haha I cannot honestly wait for that as they said it will happen on 2024. Well I don't know if it's really true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan rin yung mindset ko pero may times na need mo talaga bilhin yung mga desires mo. Yung kapatid ko nga lang, one day millionaire kasi gastos ng gastos. Nakareceive lang ng 600, akala kung sino na mayaman. Kapag tinatamad ako maggrind, bumibili ako ng mga gamit para sipagin ako haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Delay gratification ano king? Reward system mo din para kay self mo yan, wag naman over tipid na nirob mo na ang sarili mong effort.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala naman talagang masama sa pagbili ng mga gusto natin lalo na kung nakakapagpapasaya satin. Hayaan mo na yung kapatid mo na gumastos ng gumastos siguro hobby niya na yan hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not materialistic when it comes to self-clothes and even what I wear. But honestly, I am fond of buying tools when it was sales. Well, I also compute things when I believe and compare the original price and the picture price. Sometimes 50% difference makes me doubt. But yeah, look closely and not be part of the hype. Wait, the following year, the price show showed a lower difference, hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's accurate Eunoia and that is also why we should be a wise buyer all the time. Nothing is bad from buying during sales in fact you will save a lot from it but if you buy just for the sake of trend, I hope you'll think twice. As I can see, you are a wise buyer Eunoia.

$ 0.00
1 year ago