Tomorrow is my sister's wedding. Hurray!

16 55
Avatar for Success.1
2 years ago

22-10-2021. Today is a very happy day for me. It is a special day, everything was going on as expected. It's the engagement day for my kin sister. I have many sisters, either by the same blood or from long distance relationship. I have sisters from family friends too.

Today is the day of joy for my sister, Barrister Esther and her husband Samuel. I hope you know what marriage betrothal is all about. This usually takes place after wedding proposal, when the wife has agreed to give her hand to the husband in marriage. That means the two of them have agreed to be couple as a wife and husband.

Wedding proposal is a well known thing, it can take place in anywhere, it could be in the store, it could be in a private place or a public space. The response of the wife will determine whether there wil be engagement or not. If the response of the propsal is yes, then they can go further from there and perform the engagement, but if the response is no, a shattered mind is borne.

These two has agreed to be a husband and a wife. Though I was not there when they proposed to each other. I would have taken a shot, and I don't know how long the two of them have been together. I didn't know who introduced them together but I am able to witness today's engagement.

This engagement is to publicly announce there love. This is the tradition of a tribe in Nigeria, though there are different tribes in Nigeria with different traditions, both the husband and the wife are from Yoruba. During engagement the family (father, mother and fictive kin) and the friends of the husband-to-be will come together and visit the family (father, mother, and other close relatives) of the wife to be.

I have heard about an adage Which says (ōlówó sòré ōlówó) that means that the wealthy wealthy befriends the wealthy. Well in this case, a man of God befriended a man of God. The parentbof the bride-to-be is a venerable while that of the groom-to-be is an evangelist. Smiles. Though, the adage is not totally accepted by me. I just choose to use the clause to say what is going on here. Better say, birds of feather flocks together.

These are few of ghe gifts that were brought by the groom's family, a basket of fruits and some drinks. These are part of the lists for the bride price. The list contains a few more things that are not in the picture. That is the custom over here, you have to submit everything in the list to the family of the bride.

Those little kids won't leave, so I took the shot.

This is the decoration that was put in place, the fiancé and the fiancée are to sit on the white sofa. The two of them will sit together side by side after introducing themselves to each others parent. I hope to do engagement soon too. Don't feel like I said something you should be concerned about, because I am not ready for any serious relationship yet. Not until my age is more than the number of my present suscribers, haha! Check it out by yourself.

I was unable to snap any pictures during the session, I was very busy with some other duties. I couldn't even take any pictures of myself. Look at the cake andthe decoration. I hope you are happy for me. Tomorrow is the wedding day, I might not be available on here soon but I will update you about the wedding tomorrow. The engagement went well, no rain, no hazard and no disasters.

The engagement started by 2:00PM today, and this is the invitation card foe tomorrow morning event. If you are close by, you can show up.

All images touched and edited by my brother, unless specified.

Lead image credit: unsplash

12
$ 6.62
$ 6.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 3
Sponsors of Success.1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Success.1
2 years ago

Comments

Congratulations to your sister, wedding are one of the best things that could happen into a girl. Again 🎉 congratulation to both of them. Best wishes By the way I am new To this platform I'm gladly appreciate if you support my journey here. Thanks in advance❤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're welcome to these platform dear @mommySwag. Just have to do the needful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the heartwarming acknowledgment. Although I'm not good but ill do my best to do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey i am so happy for you dear. Congratulations to you and your sister also. My best wishes to your sister.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Congratulations to your sister and brother in law , best wishes to them ,God bless them as a husband and wife.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amen. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love weddings😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish her a successful wedding today. I'm happy for you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow congratulations to your sister newly married. I'm smiling reading this, I imagined myself walking in the church Hays so warm

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you dear friend. I'm happy to know your wish about wedding. You can actually go for it anytime you're ready

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow!! Advance happy wedding to your sister my friend. Best wishes for the newly weds.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for the warm wish dear friend. I'm grateful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So happy to hear that. Best wishes for them. May they have a happy & blessed life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you sir, I'm really grateful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love weddings, I would love to attend and enjoy the wedding and its culture.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha! But obviously, it's a far journey from where you are. But I will surely inform you about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago