Nigeria; Welcome back Twitter.

30 56
Avatar for Success.1
2 years ago

Lovely atmosphere over here and a wonderful day for me to achieve one or more important goal. Over some weeks ago I have not been able to access my Twitter account and this is simply because of the ban laid on Twitter by the federal government on Nigeria.

I have been wondering if the ban will end one day and finally it came to past, I have been avoiding to use VPN to open any website so far and because of that, I have not used Twitter for a long while. Trying to obey the rules of the federal government... Hehe…

I read a post @Abhay yesterday where he wrote about the Twitter ban being lifted, it is very interesting to read, you can check it out later. When I tried checking to confirm, oops, the page didn't load on my Browser (Chrome app). Well, I tried the Twitter app itself and yet, it's still the same outcome. It's until then that I decided to check my data balance. I have no data connection anymore and that's why I couldn't open that app. It appears to me as rumours. But finally, I confirmed it.

Not because I did not believe that I can use Twitter again but I was wondering what the tactics those big politicians were playing and why they lifted the ban, is it that they came to their right mind and repented or could it be that it has been affecting them in one way or the other way round?

Try to reason with me, as we all know that Twitter holds a lot of potential even as a social media and with such developed capacity, Twitter has been able to dazzle the attention of different users, such as when we talk about marketers who uses Twitter to promote what the goods that they have and services that they render to the general public, while a lot of researchers to can explore the platform as well as a life boost to the information that they get on internet, celebrities, politicians, business organizations and even the government officials and other public figures as we have them in Nigeria as well utilizes the platform, then why the ban that was laid?

Sponsors of Success.1
empty
empty
empty

Permit me to introduce my lovely sponsors before progressing. These are my loving sponsors. They have best writing skill.

Information technology has now advanced a lot that even an old man now uses social media, during the END SARS protest, the youth were able to spread the information using Twitter, in so much that people abroad were able to join and even demonstrated the protest outside the country, this has left the government with no other option than to agree with what the youths want from them. What an unexpected submission.

You know what it takes to get what is right from the government, even when it was against their will. It has never been an easy one. Many strategies were adopted by the government to stop the protest. I hope you ran through any post talking about the protest during 10th October, 2021.

Security personnel were ordered to open fire at people when it got to a certain point in time. Maybe this will scare the protesters away but it did not work out. Because the more lives that were taken the more people are ready to surrender their lives and if killing should continue like that Twitter will still have it as trending news. The first method adopted was wiping lives away but it didn't work.

Protest could only be so effective when people are gathered together and they have the same goals and reason for gathering together. So, because of this reason the youth gathered together in person and found a perfect location where their voices could be heard and that is Lagos Toll gate.

They were there for days and feeding is important, the government were so wise enough to comprehend that, hence, they went online (Twitter) and those that are involved in the protest against the so called SARS protest, their bank accounts were froze. That's a bit more technical and logical reasoning. If you are hungry and have no fund to sustain yourself , you will surely find your way home.

That's where the issue of Cryptocurrency ban came in. Thank God for the existence of Cryptocurrency, it saved a lot as people from backing out as many crypto holders started making donations alongside cash donations with payments were being made and food donations also. Because of these the protest took more time, it would have been terminated by the government.

Picture from

Long story short, the protest stopped and the aim of the protest was achieved, but I can tell you that if not for crypto currency donation the protest would have stopped half way and many people would have left due to hunger or sickness. The government also recognised that fact as well and that is why they had to ban crypto (immediate sustainance when fiat money is limited during the protest) as well as Twitter (spreading information during the protest)

Thank God that finally, the ban was lifted now that election is just in one year and a month time. Only few people will suspect that election is one of the reasons why the ban was lifted and now, they can use Twitter to campaign before the election.

Well, whatever it may be, youths of the nation should be wiser this time. The ban lift has a reason.

I appreciate the time you spent to read my article. Thank you.

14
$ 3.01
$ 2.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 8
Sponsors of Success.1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Success.1
2 years ago

Comments

Surprisingly, my sent a message to me with the words- "twitter is back". I had to open twitter immediately and discovered this to be true. I received a message from my service providers as well. That's some real good news. Next should be that "crypto-bank ban lifted".

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's going to happen sooner or later, I believe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The uplift of Twitter ban is definitely political There was no negotiations with Twitter and no conditions were met

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There were no terms met, no agreement reached but ban lift has happened. That's somehow strange

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is good news for all Nigerians, atlast Twitter can now work in your country.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes madam, I hope the freedom to use Twitter will not be taken away soon again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that the twitter ban is over,i hope crypto ban would be lifted soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that crypto ban will soon be lifted too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

let's hope so

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Election is coming soon, and so they won't want it to be a barrier

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you're right ......

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That decision by government really pissed me off, I'm glad that Twitter is back. I really miss that media.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I missed Twitter as well, no longer available for me to read live football news but I'm glad it's over now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read the news on online. The ban has been lifted. Welcome back to the blue bird.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes sir, the news is true. The ban is officially lifted now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After a long wait, we finally got freedom from our fraustrating leaders

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At last, we can use Twitter without vpn, that's really awesome but to be sincere we know the reason they unwanted it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We can not control, so we leave power to the authority

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can tell you that there is some political reasons behind that ban being lifted

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also a part of fans who are very happy for the unban claim on twitter. It made things relieved for me and also i have checked out the @Abay post you were talking and i was able to take one or two thing. Thanks. And once again i am relieved for #twitter unban

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Would you like to lose the access you have to Twitter one more time? I can't dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course not loosing it again.......nooo noo noo i cant

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The same way that I want to cherish things but i have been so carefree

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all know that the reason for lifting it is for political purpose, not for the good will of the citizens, I also haven't used Twitter for a long time, so many information wasn't seen.. Now crypto was ban, they should lift it also so people can live a normal life, life has been so hard since the end of the #endsars protest

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think many will realise this polítical secret behind this ban lift. Crypto ban should also be lifted soon as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope they do that too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was so happy when I realized twitter was already unbanned in my country nigeria it cost me alot of thoughts to think why the government ban it at first I don't know why but am glad it unbanned

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was wondering if it was true or not at the initial point as well but after all I am happy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also read @abhay's article and it was an interesting one since we have all been accessing Twitter with VPNs that have been suffering our battery Life, this is a real breakthrough

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is good to know about the reason and be wise ahead of coming election

$ 0.00
2 years ago