Marriage pressures

25 43
Avatar for Stella
Written by
3 years ago

Good day friends. I want to speak my view on marriage pressures faced by young women of our time. First of all i will define what i think marriage pressures are.

What is marriage pressures:

Marriage pressures is a situation where by a young adult lady or young woman is being pressured to get married as soon as possible either by parents, age, friends, colleagues, boyfriends and so on.

If you notice what is going on around us this days, you will find out that women at ages of 21 to 30years old are being pressured hotly on marriage. Most of the time its the parents of the girl forcing her to get married or she is getting too old to not have a husband, or all her friends around her are married except her and so on. This is not the way things should be. In Universities/colleges, girls even get married before graduation. I have so many friends who are eager to climb an alter and say yes to any man that comes their way as long as they are seen as married women. This is very very bad. Women of this ages no longer focus on achieving their set out goals and objectives but rather they put out their focus on the man that would come and marry them.

If you go on social media like Facebook and Instagram and even Twitter, you will find girls who are even begging men to come and marry them, most of them go as far as paying these men to act as husbands to them just so they can post their marriage pictures on social media and show their friends. Girls of these ages has even taken marriage to be a competition. They compete with their friends on who will get married first, can you just imagine how far this marriage issue has gone.

I was in an argument with a friend of mine, the topic of this argument was, "if a wealthy man comes to marry you and ask you to drop out of college, will you marry him and drop out?" She actually chose to get married immediately and i went against that. I told her that is it not better you achieve your goal first before you get married? I asked her a very stricking question that got her thinking twice. I asked her that, "what if that wealthy man becomes poor tomorrow, don't you think your education will help you feed your family??" To be sincere, any man that comes to marry me and refuses me to finish school first i wont marry him. I will chase him away from me as far as possible. This is how young ladies should act. Achieve your goals first before you get married because marriage stops a woman from achieving alot the moment you go into it. I hope I am speaking the mind of ladies in this platform and teaching those who are ignorant of this to chose the path of their lives wisely. Thank you all.

12
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @feebie
$ 0.01 from @zenthereum
Avatar for Stella
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nice article.. I am almost 23 years old and doing my MBBS course complete... I also want to marry after graduation. It is a blessing from the Almighty that i dont have family pressure to get marry.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Men face marriage pressure too to find some one to spend a beautiful life with and have some wonderful children.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post Dear.My sister was getting married after completed her graduation at the age of 28.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great!today you have brought an amazing article of societies common problem.though its has now decreasing day by day compared than before.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When its comes to marriage and relationship alot of factors comes to play especially in africa. But i believe every individual makes choices based on personal prefference. Thanks for this post. Cheers

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will never be pressured for marrying 😌.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can't be so sure. Sometimes it happens out of our control

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is why I’ll have my boundaries with my family. Whether my mom or dad pressures me to it 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read your article now. You wrote a great article. I like your article. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In india there is still girl chikd merriage system i think. Mainky in low cast people. Even in africa i have heard of it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Another nice article about marriage, you know in our country most of the Bangladeshi women have to sacrifice their career, happiness everything under the pressure of family,children.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Marriage pressure should be resisted from family, friends and so on. Everyone knows the right time to get married, it is better to avoid marriage when you can not take care of the proposed family to be set up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The highest amount of unmarried women in the group high educated one. My grandfather had only two daughters. He wanted them to study and not depend on a man/husband. To be honest I hope my children will never get married. It is a life long burden if it wants wrong plus a fight for years if you want a divorce. With us no one cares or forces you to get married. I hope more girls/women can chose their own life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You wrote about the main problem of young women! I was living in a village and I had to face it in a very young age.But I fight it and brought success to my life!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow that is good. Congrats my dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A huge bravo for you. 👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I liked your publication, I think that at present you don't see much of this about marriage pressures, with this, I'm not telling you that there are not, my grandfather used to say that families married women to people who were Rich, who were in the same social circle, among other things, I advise women to study so as not to depend on anyone, since if they get married and it doesn't go well, they can get ahead without him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly. That is the best step to take. Marriage should be after school

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lovely article. Marriage pressure have. Destroy many homes. It deprives real love. Keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes you are right. i think the pressure at first comes from society. It occurs daily in villages.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great!today you have brought an amazing article of societies common problem.though its has now decreasing day by day compared than before.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This have become a very big plague in our society. The men know this and are taking advantage of the girls in this regards. That's why you see lots of heartbreak. Men cheating on their wives. If women realizes they are worth more than sex and baby making machines. Pressure will reduce, men will respect women and the purpose of marriage will be served

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello Stella, your name sounds very Stellar-a-like ;) ;) I agree with you in some arguments written down up there.. like, for example the fact that a woman has the Right and freedom to choose to get married or not. That's a must-accept fact. Not because it is 100% happening right now, instead for being constructed as a reality by the way of language and written /spoken/shared messages and, for sure, by pure and conscientious actions.

I have some questions for you and the other readers:

  • What is the meaning - in your mind - of a 'young lady'?
  • and, around that answer, what other things should be done by young ladies?
$ 0.00
3 years ago