How Mama raised me

2 20
Avatar for Soulwriter
2 years ago

As a little child, I thought my Mama didn’t like me. The errands were too much. From buying crates of drinks to buying provisions for her shop and still run errands for the house. After high school I thought I could get a job to run from the errands, which I did. It wasn’t just as easy as I thought. My dad had just retired that year with no pension and we all needed to survive on something. My two older siblings were in service that year and my other brother was in his last year in college.

Don’t forget I thought mama didn’t like me at all till I entered college. I didn’t know it was fear she instilled in me. Fear of not going astray. No matter what the circumstance is, no matter how interesting the party will be once I use few hours, I’m going home. My mom is not there but it wasn’t just my thing to stay out late at night. It has never been something I liked. Another one is I’m never present whenever there is trouble somewhere, you will never find me there. It is either I left before the scene started or I wasn’t there at all. I don’t know how it happens, it’s just like that.

The other one is, I don’t feel intimidated. No matter what you have, it will never freak me to go wayward. I was taught that everything is a matter of time. If it is your time, you will get it. You don’t have to beat yourself or hate yourself because of the things you don’t have now. I know how beautiful it is to own very expensive stuffs, but are you going to steal If you can’t afford it at the moment? No. You can always get something similar and affordable and be happy with the little you have. There are times we cry ourselves to bed because we are not like our mates and you are scared about falling into the category of not having at all, but it’s fine. You just know it can’t be that way for long. Just stay optimistic.

She taught me patience. If you are not patient enough you will run past your time. That’s what is affecting youths of nowadays. I was talking to my school mother from high school days. I told her I needed to get a wig, and she said her vendors are on Instagram. Scrolling through the handles she gave me, the hairs I saw were above my league. How can I afford to buy a hair of two hundred and forty thousand? I asked her how she’s able to afford it and she said she waited for her time. Then, she said ask your man to get it for you, I smiled. There was no problem in asking my man to get it for me but I just didn’t have one.I had to go for a better and lesser ones. Then the thought of asking a man for it came to my mind. Is this how most girls attain what they have, by asking men? That’s cool.

Another thing I learnt from my Mom is kindness. No matter the little you have try and share some with friends. Yes, I have heard people say they don’t get back the kindness but reward is with God not with man. No matter how good you are to a friend he or she will still backstab you. But have you ever imagined traveling to an unknown city and the people there are just extremely nice to you, or traveling by bus and a complete stranger just offer to pay for your trip. There are several ways I have received help from strangers and I end up thinking what have I done to deserve it? Always stretch out your hands to people. It helps a lot. Even far the way you imagined. Try and put a smile on someone else’s face every time you go out. We have the needy all around us. No matter how small it is just a smile on their faces goes a long way in your heart.

Another thing is respect. Everyone deserves respect from you. You don’t have to be mean to people because you have more than they have or because you think they are useless to you. Humble yourself. Talk to people with respect. You don’t have to call them Auntie or Uncle to respect them but talk to them with regard. Don’t make anyone feel like they are nothing. Everyone deserves some respect. I pray that God strengthen us to make our Mothers or guardians proud. No matter where you are today, always remember that you were brought us by someone either in a good or bad way, they did that to train you. As a kid, you will think nobody love you or there’s no place you belong but trust me, it’s because of the stage you are. Once, you get to a certain age you get to realize they were lessons. Stay optimistic. You’ve got a great future ahead of you. Don’t give up.

3
$ 1.56
$ 1.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @HerBAE
Sponsors of Soulwriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Soulwriter
2 years ago

Comments

You know what I think ? Seeing what is going on now with the younger generation I must say our parents did a marvelous job with us for real because right now things I am seeing .. well let’s thank God for how we were raised

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen may our parents never do it in vain ,smile your mum and my mum need to be friends because that is the exact way my mummy behave and I believe that is just the best training one can ever get from there parents. But you know some children are well trained but when u see them you ask a lot of questions and you wonder if the children are not trained at all. May God us

$ 0.00
2 years ago