All Things Are Possible

6 30
Avatar for Soulwriter
1 year ago

On Friday evening, I received a call from Mom. She said there was going to be a family dinner on Sunday evening, and she want everyone present. At first, I didn’t like the idea, but then my Mom has never called us for any urgent situation before. I was anxious. I needed to get someone who would spill what had happened to me, but no one knew. Everyone was just as curious as I was.

I called my Dad to explain to him that traveling from Oyo to Lagos is not an easy task for me, not when Oyo road is extremely bad. I persuaded him to tell me what was going on, because in years there has never been a complete family dinner. One or two persons were never available, and it goes on like that till we finally stopped trying to bring everyone together.

I decided to travel on Saturday morning. At first, the trip was going well till we got to an accident scene. They said a trailer carrying petroleum had fallen, and it burnt an entire car, running towards it. I could only bow my head to pray for the family of the victim. Bad things happens everyday even to good people. I pray we never experience such (Amen).

I finally got home. I studied the atmosphere of the house, it seemed everyone was okay, but then what could Mom have arranged a family dinner for?

It was nice seeing my married siblings. They brought my nieces and nephews. These kids grow really fast was what I said in my mind, while smiling. Who would believe those kids they gave birth to in your presence would have started speaking big grammar to you? I could see why Awesome College as been taking my brother’s salary. The knowledge they pass into his children was worth his money. My brother is always fighting his wife for taking his kids to such expensive school. The day was really fast and we all retired to bed.

Sunday was here. We woke up quite early, because Mom had been going from one room to the other to bang the doors. She told us to come down for morning devotion. As an African child, you should know when you have visitors, prayers are usually long. She would pray over each and everyone of us. The morning devotion was extremely long this morning.

After the devotion, I decided to sweep the house. On getting to the veranda, one of my brother’s wife already picked the broom up. Trust me, I love it when someone does my chores for me. I immediately went into my room to pick my phone. I haven’t even viewed one WhatsApp status before my mom barged in. She instructed I drop the phone and help her in the kitchen. Three women were in the kitchen with my mom. She just didn’t want me to sit idle while others work.

It was exactly 6:00 in the evening. We all gathered at the shed. There was a shed in the compound. Dad wanted to make it a football house, but he changed his mind. He was too fragile to handle a football house where different set of guys would come in to watch.

We ate in silence. My mom made pounded yam with vegetables, filled with Orisirisi inside. It was so delicious that we totally forgot ourselves. My dad cleared his throat, and we were all back to normal. There was silence. I could see my dad hold my mom’s hand. It was more like giving her an approval to go ahead. My Mom stood up and said, “He finally did it.” She noticed we were all waiting for her to continue. She then said, “God, finally did it...Tayo is pregnant.” We confirmed it 3 weeks ago.

Tayo is Mom’s little sister. I call her my sister and not Aunt, cause she watched me grow. She was there all through my childhood and it took time before anyone knew it wasn’t Mom who had given birth to her. Tayo had been waiting on God for a good husband. Right after she got married, she had trouble taking in. She and mom had prayed severally for the fruit of the womb and I’m finally happy God said YES to that. There’s nothing impossible. Keep believing.

6
$ 2.17
$ 2.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
+ 2
Sponsors of Soulwriter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Soulwriter
1 year ago

Comments

Wow, I am very happyyyy for her after waiting for years, God can do anything and will do anything for those who wait patiently for him. Congrats to your Aunt dear, God will allow her to deliver safely when the time comes.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen. Thanks dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A very big congratulations to your aunt. She shall have double blessings of whatever shame she might have experienced IJN.

It's the vegetables and the "orisirisi' for me ... Going home isn't such a bad idea at the end. You get to reconnect with your family.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah. I had time to reconnect with me.

Amen. Thanks dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mom could have shared the news with you on phone instead of traveling all the way from Oyo to Lagos 😂😂 Perhaps she wants to see everyone present again and that is fine. Congratulations to your Aunt and may it be a safe delivery on that day

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen. Thanks so much🥰🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago