The big cleanup!

4 77
Avatar for SolarPhasing
2 years ago

Day 15 (Day 14).

There comes a time when you have to sort out the contents of your hard drives. Files tend to accumulate quickly. If for some time I try to be much more organized in this classification, it was not always the case. Obviously, after a while, it's a total mess! For the music I produce, there are tons of folders and files that accumulate. The ideal would be to keep a real database up to date. A sort of hierarchy by name to catalog each folder in each directory. It is possible to do this with a simple spreadsheet for example, with annotations. This would greatly simplify things later on. Catalog all the tracks under development. Try to put a name or a label on them to remember them. In any case, to archive them meticulously. Last night I almost accidentally started digging in old unclassified archives from 2018 to 2020. On my various hard drives, I have archives from 2006 onwards, whether it be recordings of Solar Phasing or the rock band I created called Alchemic Journey.

Tomorrow I will share the updated version of "Welcome To The Core" From my incoming Album called: "Electronic Patterns". I'm finalizing the track today to export a mix. With drums, etc.. Give this preview a listen before the new version! I would also take the opportunity to make a quick assessment of the evolution of the work. I'm still optimistic for a release for a late March/early April 2022 release. Finally! :0)

Okay, but let's go back from 2018 to 2020. When I say "unclassified", that means they are loose in a master folder. With just a date for a folder name, it's hard to know what they are! Sometimes, even a name does not evoke much. To my great surprise I found a good twenty ideas in the process of development that had completely left my memory. Forgotten! If you hadn't exported a demo of the title, you should obviously start by relaunching the project to listen to each of the compositions. Even though, one idea can hide another one! From a basic idea two different directions. And finally when you listen to it, you say to yourself: "Oh yes, ok, it's this idea! Hey that's cool! I'll come back to it".. or not! In this case, trash! Otherwise, you rename, move the file if necessary. Next. For a tiny percentage of this sorting, it takes hours. But it must be done. In any case, I want to proceed this way from now on. But you know, for images it's the same thing. Maybe even worse! We accumulate tons and tons of them every day. Hello sorting, the day you want to do it.

Let's organize, let's classify! Let's be methodical!

Don't miss my article about "Backing up your crypto datas: seed, private key, etc..". This is also all about organization and methods.

Sponsors of SolarPhasing
empty
empty
empty

I realized, really surprised, that I was very prolific these last years. While searching through these repertoires, I realized that the next album "Missing Time" (after "Electronic Patterns" is almost finished, too. Well advanced in its evolution. That's good. The hindsight is good too. Necessary! Also.. I'm going to upload a lot of sounds and other soundtracks for indie games developers and other multimedia projects creators in the coming days. Some things completely free, others at affordable prices. I also need to refocus on this aspect of my work. For all the sounds I offer for free, I'll have to do the math on the various sites: Freesound, Itchio, GameDev Market, etc.. , there have been thousands and thousands of downloads. It's rewarding! And even if I don't make a dime off of it, I'll keep doing it. This is my way of helping this community. :0)

One very important thing!

Archive your work in various media and places. External hard drives, SD cards, USB Flash Drive, or on the Cloud. Remember to do this regularly! Two copies are better than one! Because the day a hard drive fails you, it will hurt to lose everything. Remember to make regular backups! Once a week, if not once a month at least. There are now cloud services that are not very expensive. It's worth thinking about it.

The big Cleanup, as a title of the article, could have been about the legendary spring cleaning. In my music corner, things accumulate quickly too. Haha ha. The good times will be here soon. Spring is coming soon. The sun is warming up. We need that warmth more than ever!

Are you methodical or messy? Leave a comment.

If you love Gaming and/or Retro Gaming, check this community here on ReadCash: https://read.cash/c/retro-gaming-1ce4

I leave you with Dust by Anthox. A really nice song.

I'll see you soon, friends! Much #Love.

Thank you very much for reading me, commenting, and supporting me in my music journey! :0)

You can listen to my music on Soundcloud or Audius. For streaming platforms: Check this one!

#carnetderoute

7
$ 8.44
$ 8.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Unity
Avatar for SolarPhasing
2 years ago

Comments

you are very right

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hey, nice to see you there, from Noisecash! :0) Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right,one has to be methodical and well ordered, especially in the digital era. That's also why I made an index over my articles here, it's the same principle. I don't want my old articles disappear in a chaos where neither others nor myself can find the right ones anymore. https://read.cash/@Mictorrani/index-over-my-articles-at-read-cash-5f7c1e34

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Useful, yep! :0) Thanks to share it. Recaps are always good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago