Memories from childhood..

4 96
Avatar for SolarPhasing
2 years ago
Topics: Art, Culture, Music, Blog, Memories, ...

Hey friends, I hope you are having a beautiful sunday! In peace. :0)

Day 4. (Day 3).

As far back as I can remember, which is quite a long time ago since I'm already well into my fifties, the first memory with music goes back to when I was a very young child. I realize now that it is not so easy to remember these things so far back. But there are events that mark you. For life!

At the end of the school year, we used to prepare a dance show for a party that lasted two days, Saturday and Sunday. In June, at the end of school. In France, this is called "La fête des écoles". Maybe in other countries, yours, this event also exists. I remember that we used to practice assiduously throughout the year for this show. Expected as much by the children as by the parents! And all the townspeople for that matter. The big square of the city was full of people, with animations and rides, games, pancakes... and "Barbapapas"! I have this particular memory of one year when we all had to dance dressed in beautiful red traditional Mexican costumes, accompanied by beautiful, lively Mexican music. The girls as well as the boys. Each boy had a girl as a partner for some specific moves. Obviously in the limit of the possible pairs. Too bad for the others.. hihi. This Mexican song is a very known air. I am trying to remember this melody right now, but I can't. Maybe it will come back to me one day. :0) I remember we were dancing and jumping around in a crazy farandolle, all holding hands and with an elaborate choreography. I think this is my first great memory that is surrounded by music. The party, the joy, the laughter, and that music that carries us along!

Probably my fav electronic artist, Lisa Bella Donna. Ascension. So talented! BerlinSchool..

Then there is this Christmas morning, when I unwrap my present at the foot of the Christmas tree, I discover with surprise a small brown electric organ. A Bontempi organ for children. Just some basic sounds, but it was fun and very intriguing. Monophonic, maybe even. I don't remember it. I just tried to play known melodies: "Au clair de la lune", "Frère Jacques". The musical ear already. I wasn't allowed to play it very often. Alway ask before. I played it in the living room, where this organ sat like a trophy on a large piece of furniture. It was a very frustrating thing. Haha ha. To not do what I wanted, when I wanted. I quickly abandoned it. Maybe for this reason. The prohibition to touch it without permission. And not having it in my bedroom. It's mostly that frustration that I remember about this first instrument. But. Don't worry, nothing traumatic, haha.

I have a brother and a sister. We have all 7 years between. A strange coincidence, or a funny fact! My sister have a Vinyl Player. And when she was not working, she was listening music all the day. Sometimes very loud. I remember being fascinated by Abba voices. I really loved that. Waterloo was playing on a loop. I felt something special in these voices harmonies. For sure. It's a strong memory too, in relation to the music. The arrangement of the voices. How they were blending together, to form one. So when she was leaving and I knew she wouldn't be back right away, I would turn on the Vinyl Player and I would also listen to Abba on repeat. My dad listened things like Motown music and stuff like that, Flamenco, Spanish gypsy music. Some french singer, etc. I used to play those LPs too. But these Abba voices is a great memory! It is a very important one on the fact that I finally became a musician. Then composer. And song writer. That's for sure!

From "Relics", my first Solar Phasing EP. The track is called: Ancient World.

In fact, maybe I should have started there, but my mother sang from morning to night, very beautiful songs that she knew by heart and her voice was magnificent, with a perfect pitch! So right! She was a seamstress and sewed all the time, for us and for others. A true artist! She would draw a pattern, cut the pieces, and have the garment ready for you in no time. It was always beautiful. There were always people at home who came for her sewing. On her old Elna sewing machine. All the while singing! No need for a radio. All those melodies put you in a good mood. She sang so well. :0)

And then... that moment that changed my life forever!

Every time I visited this old lady with my mother, we drank tea, good tea, with little butters, and there was this piano in the living room. This piece of wood that fascinated me. With the cover of the keys always closed. They were chatting, about everything and nothing. A friendly weekly ritual to spend some quality and cool time together. And I always turned around the piano. And one day, finally, she told me: "You want to play it? Go.". With a big smile. I go. I opened it and pressed a key of this real big and beautiful piano. The sound spread in the room with a natural reverberation. An harmonic wave surounded me. In a long decay. And.. A Brand New World! Opened! I'm talking a little about this magical moment in this publication. It is that day I knew I wanted to make music. I knew I wanted to discover and learn what was this magical portal that opened. Once back at home, I said "Mum.. I want to make music! I want to play piano". And I started learning music at the music school town very quickly after that. It's a lifetime, until now. Learning and experimenting.

The continuation a next time.. These memories are all linked about why I became musician/composer.

Sponsors of SolarPhasing
empty
empty
empty

I decided to give myself this Sunday quietly. To do nothing. With my family. Not to saturate on my music. I'll start again on Monday, early in the morning. Fresh. I worked well this Saturday, I think. Concretely. After two days of re-listening to the whole project. I moved some equipment, set up some other things I'll need, I'm well set up for the rest.

I hope you enjoy reading me as much as I enjoy writing these blogs. Friends, see you soon. Much love. ! :0)

Plug on Spotifyhttps://open.spotify.com/artist/0FarK4tJsP9D043gqpMCzN

Or Apple Musichttps://music.apple.com/fr/artist/solar-phasing/1414238216

And a lot of stuff on: on Soundcloud or Audius.

#carnetderoute

5
$ 14.32
$ 14.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.03 from @Itsfarah
+ 1
Avatar for SolarPhasing
2 years ago
Topics: Art, Culture, Music, Blog, Memories, ...

Comments

I feel internally happiness after reading your this amazing article dear ...wish you good luck.. happy earning time

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello, Thank you so much for your comment. Glad you appreciate it, feeling good! Have a peaceful Sunday! :0)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to hear these lovely memories, so you were captivated by the piano at old lady's house.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello there, Thank you to visit me and read my blog. & For your support! These memories are all linked about why I became musician/composer. But yes, this is this piano. :0) Happy Sunday!

$ 0.00
2 years ago