Funny encounter: Electric shock

6 14
Avatar for Sley
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Caution, Shock, Fear

Happy weekend guys!

How is that part of the earth? It has been raining here and the weather is so cold, my people refers to this kind of weather as "weather for two"( weather for people in relationship) Lol. May God have mercy.

I had a funny experience earlier today's morning and I would like to share.

First of all, have you been shocked once by electricity? If yes, how did you feel? It's always a funny but serious experience.

Okay, yesterday night we had a power outage in my workplace. We don't use a public light, so the generator is always on standby. Also, we have an alternative plant installed in a branch of our company, that when ever there's need, we quickly call the people in charge to turn it on. Meanwhile, the distance between the two branches is not much.

The power outage occured around 8:00pm yesterday, we tried to switch on the generator yesterday but it refused and it was late already, so we couldn't call a mechanic to check and resolve the issue.

We were left with one option; to switch on the one at the other branch so we could use it to utilize for the remaining period left before closure. Our manager called through, the Generator was turned on and it was all good yesterday.

This morning, our manager fell sick, so I had to occupy for him. Normally I resume work by 7:30am but he called me to help to stand for him, that his body is heavy. Not that he'd be questioned if he doesn't come, he just want to make sure everything is smoothly handled. So I got to work by 6:15am to open the office for other staffs to work.

Due to I was in charge, I went to switch on the generator to see if miracle will happen but miracle wasn't ready, miracle was still sleeping. LOL.

So I took two kegs of 25litres of diesel and conveyed to the other branch. Hey! I drove(should be rode?) motorcycle this morning. I got there and I poured just one of the kegs. The manager of the branch was with me there, I tried to switch it on and the battery refused to alternate. "What's Happening today" I asked myself. So manager offered to help in checking the battery, he checked and confirmed that the battery is weak already. "It will work just calm down" he assured me. Meanwhile, time has gone already, it was about 9:00am already.

He proffered a simple but skeptical solution, that I need to put the wire to the batter head while he start it. I got scared at the that moment. To me, I thought he said I should use my hand to handle the coated part of the wire and place it on the head of the battery, not knowing that he meant me to use my hand to touch the naked wire and press it down to the battery head. When he explained again, I shouted.

Downloaded from freepik.com and designed by me using canva

Image source

He shouted too "young man put your hand as I said it doesn't shock"!

Are you really getting it? I am to use my hand to handle the cap(the naked part) of the wire (where current is supplied) and press it hard at the battery head. Check the photo;

An example of the part I'm supposed to touch with my hand while he start the engine

Source here

Check the above photo very well, I'm to use my hand, without hand glove to press the red circle portion.

I've been shocked by electricity several times and I know how it feels, ordinary current from small home appliances can make someone enter another realm, how much more a big generator plant. I studied a little bit of physics in school too and I know that one end of a current don't shock unless touched with the opposite side.

I gave a deep thought and a part of me said I should try it, while the other part said I shouldn't. Mehn, I followed the part that's favourable to me, I obliged and told him to allow me to be on the Switch side while he handles the battery side. He laughed me to the core but I wasn't moved.

He finally agreed, we switched positions, I turned on the switch while he held the wire to the battery head, I was observing to see if he would run when it happens, Lol. We did the first and there was electric sparklings and I got scared, he wasn't moved at all. What kind of human is this ? I asked my self. The first attempt did worked, so we tried again the second time and power came out. Hurray!

That was it, I drove down to our office around 9:45am.

Closing thought

Being afraid to some extent is natural.

Even when you are sure there's no danger, there are some events that you wouldn't want to try. Do you know that some People won't go for skydiving because of fear?

Such is life.

Thanks for taking your time to read.

22nd October 2021.

Someone said it's good I put my sponsorship link
Sponsors of Sley
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.07
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.02 from @Kushyzee
Sponsors of Sley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sley
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Caution, Shock, Fear

Comments

Thank God you didn't touch that stuff o, isn't that the spark plugs? The day that thing shocked me eh, I saw my future children πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I believe precaution is better than cured, there some things that are not worth risking, even if everyone does it, just remember that you are not everyone. Thank you πŸšΆπŸΎβ€β™‚οΈπŸ–€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly my bro, I'm not "everyone". Also, they said another's food is another man's poison, that's why I left it, maybe the could be my Poison as it was his food. Lol. Thanks bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, very true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your manager is so brave Please don’t put your hand in any electricity Once it shocks, only God knows what will happen Your boss was only lucky

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah. That's why I left him to do his brave work by himself. To him, they're used to the operation and he's not even a mechanic. Thanks bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago