Songs, Memories, Feelings and People

3 30
Avatar for SimplyMe
2 years ago

It's funny how some of us, if not all, can relate to a particular song. Sometimes just hearing the opening notes of the song brings back flashes of memories from way way back.

Sometimes when I hear a familiar music being played on the radio, it brings back some memories. Some are happy moments.....some are sad moments and some are kilig moments hahaha

I was born in the 70's so I grew up with the music of the 80's. It was the era of new wave and beautiful and meaningful lovesongs. With Madonna and Cyndi Lauper dominating the airwaves. The Cure, Tears for Fears, Spandau Ballet and Duran Duran were the famous boybands at that time.

Hearing and playing their songs takes me back to my highschool days, days where we always have parties during the weekends held at the school.

Somebody by Depeche Mode

The song Somebody by Depeche Mode was played in a dance party held in our school for Valentine's day. I remember being asked for a dance by my crush, I was so happy and nervous at that moment, I can't think of anything to say and I can't look at him straight into his eyes though I know he was staring at me. He was from another section but same year as mine. When the music stopped all I remember was that he said thanks and I said you're welcome. I thought that that was the end, but nooooo.....the following school day, I was surprised to see him at the school gates as if waiting for someone. I thought he was waiting for his friend but as I got near him, he broke into a dazzling smile so I smiled back nervously thinking was it really me to whom he smiled at.

And yes, it was me hahaha so that was the start of our short-lived lovestory. Because after two weeks of being a couple, I caught him with another girl. So from then, I just focused on ny studies thinking I could meet someone better than him.

You Are The Reason by Calum Scott

The song "You are the Reason" by Calum Scott is one memorable song. Sent to me through messenger by my current love ❤️ He said that I'me the reason why he is happy and contented now ( and I wonder how long he would stay this way hahaha ). I was surprised when I opened his message and saw the mv that he sent, I really didn't expect that he would do that. That was a first time in our 1 year and 7 months of being bf/gf. And now, he always send me music videos when he misses me or when he just suddenly thought about me when he hears a song the sends me a video of that song.

A Thousand Years by Christina Perri

And in return, I sent to him this song by Christina Perri. I secretly laughed when he said what he felt while watching the video. He said that he didn't know that he will feel that way, his heart beating fast and he feels like crying at the same time. I couldn't believe it either but I know he's telling the truth. He said if he could only make a marriage proposal right then and there, he would. But we both know that it's not yet the right time, so we'll just both enjoy and cherish the moments of us being in love.

Dance With My Father by Celine Dion

Now this song always brings tears to my eyes. It always reminds me of my Dad. As the song says....I'd play a song that would never end to dance with my father again. I didn't even had the chance to speak with him before he left us. He was already gone when I reached home. He was lying lifeless on the bed, looking so peaceful, and I know he felt no pain when he had his last breath. All I could do at that moment was to cry and give him my last hug and kiss and whispered to his ear how much I love him, and said my last goodbye.

Christmas In Our Hearts by Jose Mari Chan

And of course.....since we are now in the Ber months, meaning Christmas is just around the corner. Just hearing this song from Jose Mari Chan lets us feel the special feeling during this season. It makes us want to unbox all our Christmas decors and put up our Christmas trees. And set up the Crhristmas lights outside our houses and inside too, giving our home a festive mood. It also reminds us to think of something special to give to our love ones, no matter how much it costs, because always remember, it's the thought that counts.

These are my thoughts for today. How about you fellas, what songs brings back memories to you?

Writer's note: all photos are mine and edited using picsart.....lyrics I copied from google ( of course wherelse 😁 )

I hope you enjoyed reading. Til my next article, keep safe everyone.

Sponsors of SimplyMe
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.24
$ 0.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Khing14
Sponsors of SimplyMe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SimplyMe
2 years ago

Comments

Song played an important part in my journey while growing up. I must say it's very influential to me during my high-school days. Nung nagstart sumikat ang mga boybands like A1, Westlife, and marami pang iba.

By the way, LDR kayo ni jowa mo sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, pero hindi naman siya ganun kalayo. In fact andito lang din naman siya sa Metro Manila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahhh kayang kaya pala marating anytime :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago