Sleepless Nights

6 21
Avatar for SimplyMe
2 years ago

Hi everybody! I hope all is doing good today, unlike me.

I'm really not feeling so well. Not because I am sick, it's because these past few days, or shall I say nights, I just have a 2 to 3 hours of sleep to none. Yes, sleep is so elusive from me this week.

No matter how I try to fall asleep, I can't. My eyes and body are tired and sleepy but my mind is wide awake. I tossed and turned in my bed, our bed that is, because I'm sharing bed with one of my daughters. And she's already complaining about my tossing and turning thing.

A friend once said to me that maybe I have an insomnia. Defined by Merriam-Webster as a prolonged and usually abnormal inability to get enough sleep especially due to trouble falling asleep or staying asleep.

Well, upon reading that definition of insomnia, I came into the conclusion that I do have insomnia. But I think I should consider having a visit to a doctor before I diagnose myself as an insomniac.

Based on what I've read, there are 2 types of insomnia, acute and chronic. It is said to be acute or short term insomnia wherein it could last for days or weeks as a result of stress or trauma. While the chronic or long term insomnia which could last for a month or even more than a month, which may be associated with a person's medical conditions and/or medications.

I fall in the first type, the acute or short term type. Because my sleeping condition returns to normal after 2 to 3 days. But still, it saps out energy from my body which is what I badly needed to get through the day and function normally. Not like this, I mean feeling so sleepy all day long, less appetite which I truly hate when delicious food is in front of me but I can't eat properly. I can't focus on my captcha encoding, I always make an error so I have to stop working before my account gets banned because of making so much mistakes in typing. And I don't feel like doing anything but just to sit and stare outside, wishing I fall asleep right then and there.

I looked up on the internet on what to do to prevent insomnia from taking over my nights. I have read that I need to avoid taking naps, limit my intake of caffeine, which really made me sad because I'm a coffee lover. Avoid eating or drinking too much before bed is also advised. I think I can do that. A warm bath, reading or listening to relaxing music could help too. I would try all of these to fight off insomnia and I hope that I would win the battle hahaha

And of course, as they always say at the end of an ad for a medicine, if symptoms persist, consult a doctor.

Sponsors of SimplyMe
empty
empty
empty

That's all for today guys, wish I could sleep well tonight. Thanks for having the time to read this one. Keep safe everyone.

2
$ 0.59
$ 0.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Khing14
$ 0.02 from @Adrielle1214
Sponsors of SimplyMe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SimplyMe
2 years ago

Comments

This is also one of my problems sometimes. When I cannot help myself to take naps, I am having trouble finding sleep at night.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

at least you get to have some naps. ako kasi hirap din umidlip sa tanghali.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa hapon ako nakakaidlip usually sis.. Pagkatapos ng work ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tsaka sis kapag naramdaman mo na ung antok sa gabi itulog muna din kasi nga minsan kapag pinalipas mo, nawawala pa sya taz hirap na hirap na tayong ibalik ung antok natin

Annie Marie of noisecash here:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi sis, yun din minsan ang problema hehe kapag kasi naghahabol ako sa captcha encoding ko kahit antok na ako, tinutuloy ko pa din paggawa ko. Kaya ayun na nga, lipas na yung antok ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kya ganyan sus, dapat baguhin mo na kasi ikaw din naman nagsuffer diba

$ 0.00
2 years ago