A Day Without My Cellphone

3 17
Avatar for SimplyMe
2 years ago

Yeeessss.....I finally have my phone working again. My gosh, I really thought I'm gonna loose my phone. It has happened before so I thought maybe this time, it would be the last.

It was early in the afternoon of Sunday that I noticed, my phone's battery charging is going backwards. From 50% it went down to 47%, I thought it's because of the charger I am using. So I borrowed my mom's. At first it was going well, it went up to 60%. But after a few minutes, when I checked on it again, it went down again to 50%.

It went on like that until night, I fell asleep then woke up and poof.....my phone has shutdown. So I just let it charge, maybe it was drained, it won't turn on. After a few minutes, my daughter said she saw the battery display came out, which means it has finally started charging. And a few more minutes, my daughter tried turning it on, and it did but it was at only 4%. So i just let it charge and look for something else to do.

So, without having my phone to work on. I started cleaning whatever I see that needs to be cleaned. I saw our electric fan in the living room which I last cleaned, I think two weeks ago. It barely gives out wind because of dust built up on the propeller and the protective grills. So thick that wind barely passes through them. And after I'm finished with the standfan, it's the deskfan's turn to be cleaned.

When my mom and kids saw me cleaning the 2nd electric fan, they started making fun of me. They began teasing me that maybe somebody is coming over to visit me, maybe my boyfriend is finally going to show up. My goodness, what a bunch of brats hahaha

After cleaning up the fans, I cleared the cieling from cobwebs and dust. My kids said, why did I remove the cobwebs, I should've not removed the webs because Halloween is already near. I told them to stop teasing me or I'll sew their lips shut and have their pictures taken and have them as a Halloween decor hahahahaha

This is my mini-garden and you can see a very small part of my neighbor's mini-garden

I'm done inside the house and I don't want to hear more banters from my kids and mom. I went out and checked on my mini-garded. As I stepped outside our gate, my neighbor is outside to tending his mini garden too. That's all what we can have here in our place, a mini garden, we have to make do with what little space we have. It's a good thing I went out, he gave me another plant. A mother dwarf snake plant which I immediately placed in a white pot that I have. I'm going to give him an aglaonema in return when I get to separate the offsets from the mother plant, I told him to get a pot ready. We spent quite a long time outside, just having a chat and joking around, which was actually fun. Because we seldom have a time to have a talk because he goes to work and comes home late at night. I like talking to him, we both are plant lovers, he always gives me plants. Sometimes I suspect that he has a secret crush on me hahaha or maybe I only misinterpret the way he looks at me or smile at me whenever he sees me. Sometimes he'd pinch me in my arm when nobody is looking. Well anyway, maybe I'm just imagining things hahaha

Anyway, after the chit-chat.....I just did some quick sweeping the front of our house, checked on my succulents if they already need watering or if there are any mealybugs infesting them. Thank goodness there are no mealybugs except my trumpets, so I picked some oregano leaves, crushed them and mixed them with water and poured the mixture into a spraybottle. This is what I use as a pesticide and it really works.

After lunch, at around 2 pm, I told my daughters that we ought to watch the last 2 episodes of "Hometown Chachacha" a korean drama series. These were the most dramatic episodes of this series. I can't hold back my tears and keep on wiping my eyes til it hurts. My throat hurts too from stopping myself from crying. Chief Hong's secret past truly made me cry, the hurt he has been keeping to himself for 5 years. Not letting anyone know what he has been through before he went back to Gong-jin. That was really hard and so painful, hurting inside all by yourself. It's a good thing he's Ms. Dentist and the people of his town, who all love him so dearly. And he shouldn't blame his self for what had happened to his friends, it was really not his fault, no one is to blame actually.

Done watching the kdrama series, I started cooking so we can have dinner at 7 pm. By the way, while watching the kdrama we're having some chips and coke for snacks.

After having dinner, I checked on my phone again before going to sleep, and yes it's already 40%. My phone charges really slow when it shuts down. Maybe because the battery was drained. I can't afford to loose my phone, this is what I use for my online captcha encoding, what I earn from these sites is what I save for my kids' tablet, this is for their online class. And they also use this phone whenever they have a same time same day schedule of class. So no one would miss their classes.

And this morning when I woke up, it's on 100% fully charged. Thank you Lord, I can do my work again. I hope and pray that my phone would hold out much longer. I can't afford to loose my phone yet, I can't buy even a 2nd hand phone at this time.

One can do lots of things even without a cellphone, I came from an era where we can only communicate with someone from a distant place through telephone and snail mail. Spend our free time playing outside with friends, going out for a walk while feasting on street foods. Watching movies in movie houses and eating in a nearby fastfood resto afterwards. But now we can send a message in just one click, take pictures, listen to music and watch movies in our cellphones.

Well anyway.....that's how I spent my day without my cellphone. How about you guys, what are you going to do for a day without your cellphone?

Sponsors of SimplyMe
empty
empty
empty

Writer's note:

lead image from Unsplash

garden photo is mine 😊

2
$ 0.67
$ 0.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Giddyboy
$ 0.02 from @Khing14
Sponsors of SimplyMe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SimplyMe
2 years ago

Comments

Buti at hindi nasira sis ,kilangan talaga natin ng phone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis, naalala ko nung bumili ako ng phone, ang reminder sa akin nung nag assist, dapat daw huwag hayaan na madrain ang battery ng phones natin para hindi agad masira. Pag nasa 20% nalang ang charge, kailangan na daw icharge tapos wag dapat paabutin ng 100 %. Pwede na natin i-unplug kapag nasa 98% na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you like to post in the community Diaries your article needs to look like a diary. Please, read the rules and add at least a date!

If it comes to the battery of your phone:

  • Better clean up your phone. Sounds as if something is draining it!
  • If you charge your phone shut off the internet connection
  • The slower it charges the longer the battery will last
  • Use Ccleaner or something to clean up your phone
  • Go to settings - apps and close down every app running in the background. Do not let apps send you notifications. Check which apps use most of your memory.
  • Close your phone if you go to bed. There's no need to let it run.
  • Chose (settings) the save battery option to save the battery of your phone. It will last longer.
  • A battery can not endure high temperatures.
  • Instead of a new phone you could try to find a new battery
$ 0.00
2 years ago