Shedding Off Old Skin

4 15
Avatar for SilverBack
2 years ago

This would be a little from the books of Reminiscing, once upon a time in my High School days- being the little and shy boy I was, I wasn't very outspoken. Taking it way back from the Primary School days, I was shy all round and a stammerer ( i stutter when I speak and I don't speak fluently ) , a rumour I heard about stammerers was that their mouth can't catch up with the pace at which their brain thinks and therefore the mouth has difficulty in relating everything the brain processes at once and hence lag and breaks leading to stammering in speech. That being said, on getting in to the first class of High School after some time, I stopped my stammer maybe because we are being taught to think more stepwisely and pacefully with our brain and construct ordinated speech. I never thought I would grow up to become the man i am today as my future regarding my personality was blurry then but now it is clearer; as for now, the distant future is also blurry as I can only decipher so much of my next moves. The old skins I shed were much and insecurities were attached to most of them if not all, from the fact that I was short, shy and afraid. A spectacular trait of then that I wouldn't forget was my inability to speak to girls and look them in the face while talking, I do most of my talking with girls while looking away from them or looking at their shoulders lol. 

Some habits are to be picked up and dropped later off, some stick with us to the end while some fall off as we progress in life. Hobbies are things or activities we love and have joy in while doing them, we shed off old skins of habits in a bid to evolve to a better life and mindset. We drop all insecurities and unwanted hinges attached to our lives. Old skins can be that odd/bad friend, that nasty job, that illegal job -as far as we are doing better and great without them.

Back to me, i would be that odd and timid guy. I never really loved my personality back then and worked towards improving myself by engaging in extra curricular activities and chatting with people in my class via social media. As at the writing of this article, I am 6"1 tall as compared to 4"9 of before....lol, I think i had a growth spurt and I have my confidence boosted as I now present projects for my class and defend them while facing large crowd of people. All thanks to God , hard work and consistency.

I shed off my old skin and now living a better life , I would implore us all too , to drop that diminishing and insecure habits that makes us have low self esteem and feel inferior. Have a good and blessed day, y'all.














5
$ 1.46
$ 1.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.03 from @Abhay
+ 3
Sponsors of SilverBack
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SilverBack
2 years ago

Comments

Just like you we all have some extra skin which we need to shed of, my extra skin is fear I badly need to overcome it. I'm glad that you were able to overcome your fears and became the man who you are right now. Continue to be more brave, more strong

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Continue being fearless. It will lead you on a right track

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, I congratulate you, that you have such a strong personality. And you faced your fears and tried to overcome them. You did a great job, keep going.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Ellen, it wasn't an easy task though

$ 0.00
2 years ago