My Son Is Now A Student But I Am Not Sure If He Is Ready

9 35
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

Classes in all levels started this September due to pandemic here in the Philippines. Before, it usually started June. But still, online classes is being implemented. Face to face is still prohibited due to ongoing cases of Corona virus or the COVID-19.

Being a parent, we always want what would be best for our childrens future. We wanted to give them not even the best but a better education. Right now, students can only choose online or modular class.

Online class wherein classes happened by means of computer, tablet or mobile phones. We can see our teachers and classmates online. Everything is done online.

Modular class wherein studies is done by answering and studying in worksheets and will be submitted in a given time. Another set of modules or worksheets will be given once you have submitted the previous ones.

My Son As A Student

My son grew.up playing with gadgets at an early age. I admitted that I spoiled him. So when I told him that he will be going to school, he looked like he was not ready though he has no idea what school and studies is all about.

Last year, I enrolled him in a daycare center here inside the village as nursery. It was very near to us but since there is pandemic, I just got the modules from the teacher and have it answered by my son.

I expected that he will be excited upon seeing the modules or answering sheets that I brought. But instead, he ignored it. I told him that he will be studying but he said that he doesn't want to.

I tried convincing him to answer the modules. He answered some and I noticed that he was good in tracing letters and numbers but in a limited time. He will only answer it if he wanted to. Even my nieces told him to do his activities but he still insisted. I cannot force him to study because he will just cry.

I decided not to continue with the module. Maybe he was not ready yet. I told myself that I will just wait for him to reaced 5 years old to study. It seemed he is not ready yet.

Kindergarten

A neighbor asked me if I already enrolled my son. She enrolled his grandson to an elementary school who was just the same age with my son. So I asked for the instructions until I registered my son to the school.

It was modular class that I chose so I will be getting the modules or activity sheets in the school and my son will answer it at home. It was also the same process when I tried to enroll him in nursery. I knew it will still be hard for him to answer it because he has no interest with it.

The module that I got is good for 2 weeks. He needs to answer it for 2 weeks and I will come back to school for new sets of modules.

I need to have a plan to make my son answered the module. I told him that I will buy him the foods he want if he answered it. My niece is more patient in teaching my child so she was the one who can guide my son.

At first, everything was good. He used his pencil to trace the letters and numbers. But he doesn't know how to read and write yet while other kids at his age were already familiar with writing their names and singing the alphabet song. I knew that modular class is not effective to his studies. I prefer the face to face system but since it is not allowed and there is an increase with people infected with COVID-19 , it cannot be implemented.

My partner was the other one who taught him in answering the modules. What he did is by teaching him first on how to handle the pencil while writing. His reason is that once our son became comfortable wih writing, everything else follows. He will then learn how to handle colors. I noticed that coloring was his weakness because he only stays in one position when coloring a certain item.

My son is scared with his father so we knew that he is the one who can make my son study. Well, he answered some but still he told us that he was tired in answering so it was stopped. I am not sure when he can answer it again because his father only visited once a week. He is more patient than mine.

I also noticed the difference of my sons action when playing and studying. When we forced him to study, he seemed lame and not in the mood always He looked sleepy when answering his modules and his mind is out of what he is doing. I always want to laugh when I saw him but I don't want to show it to him that I was laughing whenever he looked tired when studying. He might think that it's just ok.

But when he is playing, you can see how happy and actiive he was. He is talkative and when playing gadgets, he will talk while playing. It seemed he was talking to his playmates using the mobile phone. He is easy to learn when it comes to games. His memory is also good. I will ask him something in the picture if he knows it. If he did not know it, I will give him the answer. The next day, I will ask him again with that same old pictures and he can remember it already.

But with studying, it seemed he is not ready yet. But when can he be ready? But if he encountered face to face studies prior to online, it won't be difficult for him because I know for sure that he already knew how to write, read and count. He knew how to count from 1-10, he is good with identifying the colors but when it comes to writing, he is lazy to learn.

I imagined if students can have face to face studies so that my son will enjoy it. He loves meeting and playing with friends. He will be active because there is live interaction between teacher and students. But I know that he might get scared with his teacher at first but if he is already comfortable with his teacher, I know he will enjoy his studies and he will learn a lot.

I am also worried because time is wasted because of online and modular studies. I can say that there are also other students who have difficulty with online studies. But we need to be safe feom virus esoecially children so parents need to take a lot of effort.l to teach our kids.

I am patient but because of daily chores at home and work and the fact that my son is not yet ready to study, I skipped teaching him. I will just ask my niece to teach my son for the meantime and my son is listening to him.

I remember a friend who told me that I should not force my child to study. If he does not wamt to study, I should let him be. But how will he learn reading and writing if I will just let him play?

I want my kids to learn a lot from school. Not just in academics but also wih other curricular sctivities like joining a club which will develop his camaraderie and talents as well. My son is good in dancing and I wamt him to excel in what he does but studies should be his priority.

Hope you enjoy reading my article for today Happy reading!!

5
$ 5.15
$ 4.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.53 from @Cocogrey
$ 0.05 from @ZehraSky
+ 2
Sponsors of Shyness
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

Comments

Ma'am, mukhang aksendinte mo po ma pindot ang pag ano sa aking comment. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon ko lang abasa comment mo. Ok lang po. Aksidente nga pero worth it naman pag bigay ko sayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At present we put a little more pressure on children to study. Which we should not do. Since you are his mother, you have to understand that. Is your son ready to study now? Or do you still have to give him time at home.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks Mazekin for the concern. I believe I have to give him some time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, young kids should not be forced to attend classes unless they are ready. Unfortunately, getting him hooked on gadgets at such an early age did not help him want to learn the traditional way. That's why it is best to limit the use of gadgets while young, and instead read to them or teach them the basics - alphabet, numbers, colors, shapes - through play. It is best to get into a ritual of reading to him, or telling stories. I don't know if modular learning is the problem, or if he will appreciate school more when it's face-to-face, but he will need to learn the basics to be more confident once he starts school.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks zolabundance2 for the concern. I knew I made mistakes for letting him into gadgets that early. I just hope that he will have passion for school in a few months time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wag mo lang pilitin ma'am, may mga batang natututo kahit late na. Ako din naman nong bata ayaw ko mag aral tapos yung tatay ko di ako pinilit haha I started enter a school at the age of 6. Di sa nag mamayabang, mas magaling pako mag basa sa mga pinsan ko nong araw haha mas diritsu basa ko kesa sa kanila. Believe me ma'am, sa tamang pag aalaga, matututo yang anak mo wag molang ulit ma spoiled sa gadget para di siya mag fucos don ma'am. 😇 Godbless po

$ 0.52
2 years ago

Wag mo muna siyang pilitin sis. Or you can find ways na maging fun ang learning niya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napaaga kasi sya sa gadgets kaya wala talaga syang hilig mag aral ngayon. Gusto pa laro. Thanks sa concern.

$ 0.00
2 years ago