It Was A Boring Sunday

1 22
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

February 20, 2022

It was a nice Sunday morning when I woke up. My brother went home from night shift work. I saw my sister early at morning at home. I thought she was there to cook for our lunch but she just bought something from the market and gave it to us.

I found out that they have a visitor. It was the brother of my brother-in-law, my sisters husband. He was with his daughter. That means my sister or her daughter will be busy at their house.

Then suddenly, my other niece and nephew, the children of my elder brother and his wife, will visit their relatives in Manila. They took a bath early and ate before leaving. My elder brother has afternoon work also so he left for work.

My brothers children are sleeping in our house and they usually spend their time in our house so it was unusual that they will be going out, too.

So when I woke up, it was just my son, my father and my younger brother who was playing computer games at that time.

Suddenly, my brother was called by his friend. He found out that he was one of the godfather of his friends daughter. He knew that his friends daughter wil be baptized that day but he only found out that day that he was a godfather. There was a big celebration.

So he stopped playing and headed to the celebration. Baptismal was already finished and he was called for the reception only. This is because only one representative for a godmother and godfather were allowed to enter the church during baptismal. This is also for social distancing and to avoid the spread of virus.

He left the house too and went to his friend. Only me, my son and my father were left at home. The house seemed so silent and I don't like that feeling.

Sunday Should Be A Happy Day

Sunday used to be a family day. It should be a happy day. We usually spent the weekends with my nieces and nephews and my son and my younger brother.

If the weekend falls for my brothers rest day, we will order food online and usually, it was me and my brothers treat. We will divide the amount into 2 or if one of my nephew or niece will share, they will be included in the sharing in the bill.

Most of the time, we order pizzas or bucket of chicken. They wil also use karaoke to sing. It means that the house is noisy but still enjoyable day. This is the day we bonded because most of us are spending the rest days during Sundays.

A Quiet Day

But since the only 3 of us were left home, it was a boring day. I tried watching Netflix but I cannot concentrate with what I was watching. I want to use my cellphone but it was used by my son. He was playing games or watching videos in YouTube.

My father was in our store so he was just there and busy using his cellphone. I don't know what to do. It was an unusual feeling because I am not happy with such set up. I mentioned that I am not that close to my father. I do not talk to him unlike how I talk to my siblings or other relatives. But I change the way I treated him unlike before.

My mother is no longer here and my father is now our only parent so I talk to him in terms of household needs.

It was hard to move and to feel comfortable. I know my father also felt uncomfortable that day.

It was also good that my son did not planned on going to my sisters house that day. This is because he always go there especially when my niece went to our house and once she went home, my son will also go with her. I don't know what will happen if it is was just me and my father will be left alone. That is also why I allowed my son to use my cellphone so that he will be busy and will just stay at home.

If only I knew that we will be left that day, we should just go to the mall that day with my son instead of the other day. My son was also telling me if we could go to the mall again but I told him that we will go there some other time. He enjoyed the last time we went there.

Even it was already dark, I am still bored. It was 7 or 8 in the evening when my niece and nephew came back. At least, they came and there was a bit noise. It became normal to me.

My brother went home 2am and he was obviously drunk. He went home and just lay down. He has not slept even for a minute that day.

I watched Netflix after doing the chores. I felt tired though I did not do almost anything. My brain got tired d not my body.

My Final Say

I hope that the boring moment won't happen again. I just want a simple weekend with my family.

Thank you for reading my article and always have a nice day.

Images are from Canva App.

4
$ 4.14
$ 4.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @ZehraSky
Sponsors of Shyness
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shyness
2 years ago

Comments

Do you know that it is okay to have a boring day than having a day with full of problems? I have that kind of day too but I am grateful even for a boring day because my mind will take a rest from being stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago