Aaron Rogers is Giving $1M BTC to Fans

1 47
Avatar for Shounenbat
2 years ago

Admitting this is probably not in my best interest, but I’m not a fan of professional sports. As a kid, I liked playing pretend baseball (the version of the game where I toss the ball into the air and try to hit it with a bat on the way down), and I enjoyed jogging as a teenager, but I was never interested in playing competitively, and I find watching others play sporting games to be boring. Not all the time, of course, but nine times out of ten I’d rather be playing a video game.

That said, this bit of news caught my eye: Aaron Rogers, the NFL quarterback who takes his pay in Bitcoin, is giving away $1,000,000 BTC to his fans on Twitter.

His tweet reads, “I believe Bitcoin & the future is bright. That’s why I’m teaming up with CashApp to take a portion of my salary in Bitcoin today. To make Bitcoin more accessible to my fans, I’m giving out a total of $1M in BTC now too.”

The rules, for anyone who follows sports stars closer than I do, is that you must tweet with the #PaidinBitcoin hashtag, follow CashApp, and provide your Cashtag name.

Definitely a bold move, in my opinion, but one that I wholeheartedly support. My only problem is that it really should be BCH. Experts have been warning about trading with the volatile cryptocurrency, but BCH is meant to be used as cash. Bitcoin has, largely, failed as a virtual currency, instead of becoming more of a virtual asset.

Now, there are plenty of people who have paid for goods and services via Bitcoin, but most BTC holders treat it like an asset – a digital precious metal. BitcoinCash is meant to be used as a currency. While its value waxes and wanes, the same as most crypto, those of us who accumulate BCH don’t typically hold it all.

In my case, I try to save up some of it, the same way I do fiat currency, but I’ve actually spent a lot of what I’ve earned here and on noise.cash as well. It comes in handy during an emergency! I just wish that my crypto.com card didn’t force me to trade it for something else first.

What do you guys think of this promotional move?

3
$ 2.73
$ 2.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Ayane-chan
Sponsors of Shounenbat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shounenbat
2 years ago

Comments

I'm not a sports lover, but what he did is something very bold and generous. I hope the fans would use it properly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago