Heartbreaks and Breakups

3 38
Avatar for Shivaz
Written by
1 year ago

I have come to realize that so many things on our social medias, and even the real world triggers depression. Loss of property, life, job, heartbreak, and many others causes one to find themselves being depressed.

I was a victim of some of those things I mentioned above, and as far as life is concerned every other person must have tasted it at some point in their live. We can't shy away from these things, the only thing that makes the difference is how we react to it when it comes. Like me I was able to deal with it fast and later move on with my life. There are people who have been in situations like this but they refuse to deal with it because of fear of the unknown. They give excuses and hide behind it.

A lot of people will relate to what I will say in today's article. It's something that have been sang about by a very popular musician in my country by name 'Burna Boy'.. The title of the song is 'Breakfast'. Whatsoever inspired him to sing that song was so strong.

A verse from the song goes thus.....

"E don cast

Last, last

Na everybody go chop breakfast (na everybody go chop breakfast)

Have to say bye-bye, oh

Bye-bye, oh

To the love of my life."

This is the best platform to relate this very topic 'Heartbreaks and Breakups'. Majority of the people on this platform have in one way experienced heartbreak and breakups in their relationship.

Being in a relationship and being loved by your partner is the best feeling in the world. Recently, my best friend was on a voice call with her friend. I overheard their conversation since the phone was on loudspeaker. It was not as if I was interested in their discussion but it just happened that way. I heard the other girl said something that really touched me, she said that she can never settle with one guy that she has had enough breakfast (heartbreaks) in her previous relationships. She prefers to go into hookups and other casual stuffs. But I think she gets it all wrong. At some point in her life, she will want to settle down with just one partner, but it will be difficult for her since she has already made some indecent acts a habit. Constant hookups can grow into a habit.

I was in a relationship with my partner now my ex. We were together for about 8 months, everything went pretty well not until the day my partner got a new job that pays him better than the previous one. All of a sudden, the love he had for me started fading away, we fight over very little things often times. For awhile things kept on like this, it got to the point where he blocks my number from calling him. I will become so restless if I don't hear his voice or see him......gosh!! I was so much addicted to him. I checked myself and found no fault, then why has he changed so fast? That was the question I kept asking myself. I even went as far as apologizing, saying sorry for the mistakes I have done and the one I will do in the future. But all of this didn't work.

We continued like this for about a month. Gave him some time if he will change back to the person I use to know. Or maybe it's the stress from the new job... My partner was actually cheating on me with his new colleague from the new company he is working. I got the shock of my life when i visited him during the weekend unannounced. I was so broken when I saw my partner n^ked with this new girl from his workplace. That same moment I ended it finally. I left his place with teary eyes and right from that day I set a rule for myself that I will never trust someone who breaks my heart. The visual of what I saw that day affected me so badly, it kept coming up whenever a guy approaches me. I didn't let it stay with me for a long time, I dealt with it and now I am doing pretty well.

Ending Thoughts

Know this and know peace....... One of the best feelings in the world is being in love and being loved by another person. Love they say is blind, I think that was then and not now anymore. Don't go into a relationship blindly and spend all the rest of your life just to save the relationship. Relationship is not a one person thing, it's a union that should be managed by both parties. From today, know your worth, don't lose your self-respect for anything relationship that you are not happy about. There's no gain suffering in a relationship that will one day end in a bad note. I am not against being in a relationship, but be careful when choosing a partner. Go for someone that you trust, someone that loves you truly. Wish you all the best in your relationships.

All images are from unsplash 

5
$ 0.12
$ 0.05 from @pejudear
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
Sponsors of Shivaz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shivaz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Breakups hurt more than even heart attack, but when the other person don't value you its better to break up with him/her

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Relationships shouldn't be taken with a slight hand but one has to be careful out there. Though, there are times we would go through heartbreaks, that isn't the end of the world but a way to learn and be more extra careful not to be blinded by love not to see the red flags in it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahmm maybe I am one of those few ppl who don't have major breakup or heartbreaks, just mild split up, maybe I haven't fall in love that deep

$ 0.00
1 year ago