Do you swap or you still keep them?

4 32
Avatar for Shivaz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Books, Knowledge

Books aren’t eggs, you know. Simply because a book has aged a bit doesn’t mean it’s gone bad.” There was now an edge to Monsieur Perdu’s voice too. “What is wrong with old? Age isn’t a disease. We all grow old, even books. But are you, is anyone, worth less, or less important, because they’ve been around for longer?

- Nina George

Do you swap books you have finished reading or you still keep them? That's what I will be talking about in today's article. There are people who can't do without books, it has become a huge part of their lives. Someone asked me yesterday if I can still go back to read books I bought 7 - 10 years ago. To be very frank, I don't buy much books, I only borrow from friends, then after reading it, I return it back. I didn't give her the answer she was looking for. I love reading books, but not every book will interest me to read a second time. There are books that will always look new to your eyes even when you have read it maybe twice. There are books that have a certain period of time they are relevant to us, but as we grow, they are no longer useful again. What happens to the is books.. Do you keep them, destroy them or you swap them for new ones?

The lady who asked me the question said she values every book she has read. Every book has something important in it to always learn from she said. She went ahead to say that new books meets old ones in her wooden bookshelf. I can't even imagine what her wooden bookshelf will look like. It will be filled with all kinds of books. I asked her if she doesn't gets tired of reading the old books, she said no.

Now such a person is so connected to books because she sees them as a very engaging tool. Personally, if I have a collection of old books I no longer see the need to keep anymore, I will rather give it out to someone who might need it rather than allowing keeping it for no reason. You might have a different view to what you will do to old books that you have finished reading. Maybe why you are still keeping it is because of the genre, the lessons given by the books, the scent of the pages of the book, the alluring cover of the book.

I have seen people throw some of their old books in garbage. It's obvious that some of these people are so stingy that giving out their old to books to some other person is a problem to them. These books might not be useful to you anymore, but there are people out there whose lives can be changed by it. There so many good things you can do with your old books if you don't intend keeping them.

Giving them to your siblings won't be a bad idea. Some time those books may contain information that will be useful to them in the future. There are other places you can send those old books to, like government schools, charity organizations etc. You can swap them for new ones, that sounds good right. Don't just keep this knowledge with you, make such you pass it on to other needy people.

All images are from unsplash 

5
$ 3.66
$ 3.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Shivaz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shivaz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Books, Knowledge

Comments

I don't limit myself to new books alone. If I do that, then I will be missing out on some great ideas written in old books.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like your own opinion on this. People no longer take more time to write good books unlike before.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Books, no matter how old they have become, their usefulness still remains intact. I don't rush over books, I take my time to read every line of word in it. That's why I still find it interesting to read old books. Most of my the old books I condemned were because of the damage done by rats. I keep my books.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rats are enemies of books. Always keep your books away from their reach, or else they will damage more of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago