Beware! Technology may be harmful in some ways

10 39
Avatar for Shivaz
Written by
1 year ago

In my previous article, I talked about how technology has really brought enormous change into workplaces. I gave it all the credits forgetting that it has the other side which is not too pleasing. Most of the things we are doing now existed long time ago, technology has only enhanced it, making it look more beautiful and easier. Todays article is based on what I experienced last night. I have been having similar experiences before now, but the worst happened last night. The technology I have been singing about has succeeded in making me look unserious before my group members. I am not happy with what happened this morning. More of the fault is from me cos I never took my time to check what I was doing before hitting the send button.

Just last night after I made a post here, I spent a in extra forty-five minutes before retiring to do another thing. I opened my WhatsApp to check if I have messages to reply, fortunately I did. My cousin asked me to drop some pictures of how I spent my day with her before I go to bed. I didn't want to disappoint her cos I don't know her intentions concerning the pictures, she's trying to help me on something no doubt. I guess she's doing a kind of followup. I made a very big mistake, I should have accessed my gallery from the WhatsApp app, but instead I minimized it and went direct to my gallery.

After the selection, I hit the share button and it gave me options to choose from. I clicked on the WhatsApp icon and it took me to the page where I would select the people I want to share the pictures with. I marked my cousin as the receiver, but unknowingly I selected another recipients, the WhatsApp group for youth coordinators in my church. Immediately I got a private message from our youth pastor who was one of the admins in the group asking me to delete those pictures or I risked been kicked out of the group. It was then I realized that I had done a very great mistake. I was very lucky cos I still had the opportunity to delete the pictures for everyone. This morning, my actions last night became the subject topic. The youth pastor warned every member of the group to desist from posting unrelated things in the group. I learned my lessons to be careful next time when I am using tech gadgets for anything.

Now here is what I have to say, every form of technology is so good, I can make one happy and smart also. But at the same we should not forget that this same technology has the tendency of making us look like a st*pid person. Like I said earlier that I will be very careful with it, same with everyone else. Especially when it has to do with sending important files, emails to big firms or personalities. We should take our time to go through the files pages by pages, ensure that they are the right files to be sent to the right authorities.

There are times we need to express how we feel to someone in a text message. The auto correct in our phones would not understand what you want that moment. You type a word, and it will autocorrect it to what it feels that is correct whereas it's wrong. I have had instances where I needed to resend messages because of autocorrect. The one I could remember, I was chatting with a male friend on WhatsApp, my intentions was to send him this, "I don't like public places", but autocorrect changed it for me and I got this instead, "I don't like pubic places". It was too late as I have already sent the message, I corrected it over a voice note to avoid another mistake.

Technology is good, and sometimes it can be dangerous. Like if I didn't have an understanding person on the other side, I would have looked like a fool, he would have been offended or even confused. This is my own personal opinion, I don't hate technology or AI in anyway, its really making life more easier for we humans. And I love the way it is penetrating almost all the sectors. But we need to be extremely careful when using it, especially the messaging tools to avoid the damages that it's capable of causing.

Thank you for your time. Hope to have you around some other time. Bye..

All images are from unsplash 

7
$ 0.77
$ 0.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Lixten
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
+ 3
Sponsors of Shivaz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shivaz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Good article. Anything in excess can be harmful. That is why you have to know how to maintain a balance in the use of technology and avoid any addiction.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Having that consciousness to stop when necessary will really help save us from so many problems.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think that too much of anything even the good ones can have a detrimental effect.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure it does happen. That's why it's important we have some limit on the things we do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess you could have explained to your youth pastor that it was a mistake. You never know though but in another hand, we need to be careful not to be carried away when we are handling technology.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I told him, but he seemed not to understand with me. I'm just happy I was able to delete the pictures.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whatsoever that has an advantage must be accompanied by disadvantages. Oh yes, technology has blessed mankind in this era but at the other end, it's busy causing damages. The major sector it's causing harm is our health. The radiations and emissions circulated on the atmosphere are life threatening. The light from our phones is not good for our eyes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is advisable the we maintain the right distance between our smartphones and our. We should make sure we ideally position it few inches from the eyes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The technology of course has its own negative side and I can it's much also as it advantage. It's the way we use it that matters and we have to be very calm when using it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. Thank you for your honest contribution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago