Are you still afraid of the dark?

10 39
Avatar for Shivaz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Fear, Dark, Blogging

I believe everyone reading this now had this experience of being afraid of the dark when they were still kids. If you didn't, I did. When I was a kid, I wouldn't accept the idea of spending a night in a room alone. Everyone knew me for this, and this habit eventually earned me the name "fear fear". Some days, when the jokes and laughing is to much to bear, out of anger I will want to sleep alone. But some minutes after, I will find myself outside where other family members are. Back then, no one will dare send me on an errand to get something from a dark room and I will agree to go. No!!!

I use to feel terrified each time I find myself in a dark room. When it's the night hour, my head will be filled with the thoughts of a ghost staring at me or some creepy stuffs like that. This part of my childhood was so difficult to deal with. Even when I shared the room with my siblings, I still had the fear of the dark. Sometimes I will beg them to leave the lights on just so that I can get a good sleep.

All this happened when I was still very young, not now anymore. I have grown above the stage in life where I will be afraid to sleep in a dark room alone. But some adults still fear the dark today, I'm not just saying, it's still happening. One of my relatives can't sleep alone in a room, she will put all the lights on, not because she likes the lights to be on, but because she wants to be sure that something creepy has not crawled under her bed. Spending a night at her place is always a tough decision to make, I personally can't sleep with the lights on. Although I behaved the same way when I was a kid, but not now that I am an adult.

Hope you that is reading this does not behave like that my relative who is still afraid of the dark @ 32. But if you do, you shouldn't hate yourself because of it because I know what it feels like to be in such a situation. It's never too late to fight this fear and send it back to where it came from. One of the most important thing you need to do is changing your mindset. There are other things I feel you should do to fight this fear. I will give a few of them that worked for me. I didn't just stopped being afraid of the dark, I followed a process and I gave me the result I had always wanted. I believe if you follow same process, you will be glad you did. The results will not come even the first week, but constant practice of it will get you what you want.

First thing you need to do is changing your mindset. Change the way you see the dark. One of the reasons the dark appears fearful to you is because you see it as a dreadful moment, mysterious, and other creepy stuffs you might think of. There's no way you can deal with this fear if you don't correct your mind from the negative to the positive. If you can do this first, then you are halfway closer to winning over the fear of the dark.

Don't stress yourself before bedtime. Make sure you give yourself enough time to relax, listen to a cool soft music, fill your mind with the right thoughts. This will help you lessen the anxiety you get when in a dark room. Avoid watching horror movies or TV shows before bedtime. Avoid doing thing that will bring fear upon you at night.

Make your bedroom look more comforting. Use colorful bedspreads, especially the ones with beautiful roses, put things in their right places, use bright painting on the wall. Try to create more space in your bedroom so you can have your eyes on every corner of the room. By doing this you will have less fear even when the lights are put off.

If you are used to sleeping with all the lights on in the room, try to shut off some. Gradually try to put all the lights off some nights. You might not want to put off all the light at once, but dimming the lights in your room and maybe putting all of them off is a great step to overcoming the fear of the dark. It will help you get a better and more deeper sleep than when the lights where all on.

Lastly, if you want to get over the fear of the dark, try to sleep alone in a room. This one seems like the hardest, but try to encourage yourself to at least spend a night alone. If you follow all this processes, you will definitely get over the fear in a short time.

Bye for now .. See you around.

All images are from unsplash. 

6
$ 0.74
$ 0.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.01 from @MaritessNgBuhayMo
Sponsors of Shivaz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Shivaz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Fear, Dark, Blogging

Comments

I still get scared of dark places, especially when am stressed, I think my fear heightens at that point. Its not really a nice stuff, I still remember visiting my bf for the first time, and I slept off he put off the light, when I woke up and the whole place was dark, I screamed so loud.. He got scared too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. Next time you visit, tell him to allow some of the lights to be on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Till today, I still get afraid of the dark 🤣🤣 I remembered when I was so young, if mom send me home from shop at night to go and prepare food before she closes, I would have prepared the meal and keep in the kitchen because we lived in a compound where we all share kitchen with other tenants. I will not enter inside alone but go out to play till my mom returns back. Then we would both go inside 😂😂😂 it wasn't funny and easy then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every child had this experience, I did too. But you should deal with that fear, cos there's nothing inside the dark to be afraid of.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still have fear for the dark. This only happens when I visit a place for the first time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You really need to work on how to get over the fear. Just a few tweak on your mind will help

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. I will initiate your idea, I hope it works for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All the best..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I was young Iam afraid to sleep without a light but as I growing I preferred lights off because its makes me relax ang enjoy my sleep moments..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sleeping with the lights off is the best option. There's nothing to fear except If your house is been hunted.

$ 0.00
1 year ago