I listened

4 23
Avatar for Sheyarnn
2 years ago

In this part of the world that I am here it's a very difficult situation to get a good job after Schooling and serving. All they want is 10years of work experience and you're just in your early 20s. I don't know how you'd possibly have work experience when you're schooling and that is so disheartening and depressing.

After Schooling and serving I relocated from my parents vicinity to my Aunt's place where it is said to have greater and better opportunities to get a good job. I eventually moved there with all bitterness in my heart I never wanted to leave my family even tho I don't have friends but for sure I was going to miss my family.

By the way all thanks to my Mum for bringing an idea to my while I was serving, while in service after returning from work, the only thing we do is to sleep, eat, outing, bored, play and do all sort of things. So this day my Mum called me to ask about my welfare, she was like what do I do after work so I told her most times we sleep. She told me instead of sleeping and wasting time I should enroll in a handwork activity. I didn't buy the idea because I felt it is a stressful and strenuous thing to do. I also told her how can a graduate like me start learning handwork at this stage of my life.

Thank God I listened

I told my friends and roommate what my mum told me they really loved the idea and they all gave in. We all started in one handwork or the other. I enrolled in a bag making activity, my roommate went into Make-up, my friends went into fashion designing. My first day at work was a little bit fun and a little bit embarrassing because I never knew anything about sewing machine. I didn't know how to use it or clean it. My boss started training me on how to peddle, my leg aches ooo. I was perfect on the third day of peddling, I'm a fast learner lol. I started sewing materials and things without being supervised and now I am a professional to some extent. This work keeps me out of boredom, lack, depression and sadness till date.

The Journey

My Aunt has a husband with 3kids. My aim of going to my Aunt's place was to get a good job. After some months I got there there was nothing to show forth. All I do all day was to stay at home, clean the house, wash the children's cloth, cook, pick the children from school and lots more which was so disheartening and kept me thinking all day. Later I got this job that was so bad to the extent of carrying heavy loads on your head from one location to the other with little pay. I had no option at least now I would have somewhere to go, somewhere to wear my clothes and shoes to. The job was a terrible suicide mission but after some months my Aunt said I should leave the job due to some bad effects it was causing to my health. They didn't do anything to get me a Job they were only promising and keeping me at home for their use. I submitted thousands of applications and went for all sort of interviews which I almost got kidnapped for one interview I went because I was so desperate and I wanted to work.

Continuation of depression

I left the job and I continued staying at home all alone, was so idle, I had nothing doing, I had no friends even there and no money. All I do was to think so hard, cry and pray. I continued for a year there was nothing useful I was doing. I wasn't useful for myself or family. I was only useful to my Aunt and family by taking care of them, running errands and lots more. I had no time to make use of my handwork skills because there was no time for me.

My sister told me to come back home immediately after I told her everything I was passing through. I was already thinking of hurting myself. Depression negatively affected how I feel, the way I think and how I act, feelings of sadness and loss of interest in activities I once enjoyed. I listened to my sister's advice and I told my Aunt I would be leaving they didn't want me to go cuz I was so much useful for them but useless for myself.

Some people are just so self centered and selfish just for there own self interest. I had no benefit of being there, no exposure, no job, no income, no happiness, experiencing low self-esteem and I was just so tired of life.

I returned home with so much peace, Joy and happiness that was running through my veins. I got my machine, got lots of materials and working tools. I started making bag and people started buying, started going outing, having the fun of my life, had appetite, saw my family and being useful for myself and family.

Handwork teaches an ability to do complex things with our hands. It means to be creative and innovative .It keeps idleness away. We engage the will and the feeling as we choose colors and patterns, decide whom to make a project for, determine its use, understand its beauty. All of this contributes to the building of self-esteem.  It really helped me a lot.

Thank you for reading!!!

Stay Useful!!!

Take decisions!!!

Byeee!!!🤗

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Queen001
Avatar for Sheyarnn
2 years ago

Comments

I'm happy your Aunty gave that advise and you yielded. Unemployment is so rampant now that unless one's family has a company to work after school, because there's no Job out there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good to be engaged

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stay useful... To yourself especially, nice write-up 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago